STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e www.utc.wa.gov

June 20, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Clancy’s Transfer & Storage
Inc.

Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TV-140950
Dear Mr. King:

On June 4, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $100 Penalty Assessment
in Docket TV-140950 against Clancy’s Transfer & Storage Inc. for 1 violation of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carrier companies to
furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.!

On June 9, 2014, Clancy’s Transfer & Storage Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation
of penalties (Mitigation Request).? In its Mitigation Request, Clancy’s Transfer & Storage Inc.
states, “We mailed the form & made out our payment check on 4/25/14. 1 thought that would be
plenty of time to be received by the due date.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all
regulated household goods companies. The instructions for annual report completion page of the
annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay
the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.

On May 2, 2014, Clancy’s Transfer & Storage Inc. filed the 2013 annual report and paid the
required regulatory fees. The company has been active since April 4, 2003. No previous
violations of WAC 480-15-480 are on commission record. Staff supports the company’s request
for mitigation as this is the company’s first delinquent filing. Staff recommends a reduced
penalty of $25 per day for a total penalty assessment of $25.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 4, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Clancy’s Transfer’s Mitigation Request received on June 9, 2014
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If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews,
Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 4, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Clancy’s Transfer’s Mitigation Request received on June 9, 2014
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-140950
PENALTY AMOUNT: §100

Clancy's Transfer & Storage Inc.
PO Box 1406
Walla Walla, WA 99362

According to Washingfon Utilities and Transportation Commission {Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household
goods carrier companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each vear by Mayv 1.
You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalfies of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’'s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-480 beyond May 1 asa
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
of pay its regulatory fees after that date.

Ag aresult, the Commission has assessed penalties against vou in the amount of $100 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all household goods carner companies
registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form
instructed these companies to file annual reports and pav regulatory fees by May
1. 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by
May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension fo file
vour annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

On May 2, 2014, Clancy’s Transfer & Storage Inc. filed its 2013 annmmal report
and paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 2 is 1 business day from May 1. resulting in
a total penalty of $100.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 4, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Clancy’s Transfer’s Mitigation Request received on June 9, 2014



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-140930 PAGE?

Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty. you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalfy through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure fo
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWE1.04.405.

If yvou properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting vour dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify yvou of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 davs after receiving this notice o do one of the following:

*  Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing to confest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) davs after vou receive this notice.

If vou do not act within 15 days. the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-15-450 to cancel vour permit to
operate as a household goods carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olvmpia, Washington, and effective June 4, 2014.

DENNIS I MOSS
Administrative Law Judge

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 4, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Clancy’s Transfer’s Mitigation Request received on June 9, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-140830

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

T have read and understand RCW 9A 72 020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.
[ 11 Pavment of penalty. I adout that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]1Enclosed $ in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my pavment of § online at Wwww.utc.wa. gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Requestfor a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged viclations did not
occur. for the reasons I describe below. and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]1bt) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information [ provide
above.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregomg,
including information I have presented on any attachments, 1s true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city. state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 0A 72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a matenially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Enowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree 15 a class B felony.”

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 4, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Clancy’s Transfer’s Mitigation Request received on June 9, 2014



ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-140950

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A,72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. 1 hereby make, undg

oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

L
[ ]Enclosed§ in payment of the penalty =
[ 1Submitted my payment of § ~ omline at uww.utc.wa.gov?'

My confirmation numberis . -

[ 12. Requestfor a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[¥] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should

be rtduu‘.d for the n:ﬂsunsa.ctg}lt_ below: e mg;.nﬁrn" Fhe Jorm ¥ mMade feat
Oddr Pfjﬂﬂ.l ct,k il 'a-?f/’ = \,J'J'Iou A ;fﬁ}ld?" }J}f&fdjﬂ f;‘dtjl/\( ﬁm‘: j‘ﬂéfﬁ
Fece eed ’6«5‘ fhe due date. L 4m dﬂf\rj‘ d’dr ./ L aj,.rf :‘a; S e
[ 1a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the mfnrm,atmn I provide above to_ doaaid,
an administrative law judge for a decision T hank JM
OR  [x] b} I askfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
abaove.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information [ have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: é;/ d{/ /4 [month/day/vear], at é)@ﬁg .ﬂftx’ot/s’ra (WA [city, state]

qu,ﬁg ,i_"_r_-mzfgc q"ﬁﬁgﬂg‘?e, =ém:_.
Namé-aT Respondént (company)™ please print Signatuy§ of Applicant

ROCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3} Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 4, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Clancy’s Transfer’s Mitigation Request received on June 9, 2014



