

STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 • Olympia, Washington 98504-7250 (360) 664-1160 • www.utc.wa.gov

July 11, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary Utilities and Transportation Commission 1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW P.O. Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE: Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. New Century Telecom, Inc.

Commission Staff's Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties UT-140902

Dear Mr. King:

On June 2, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a \$1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-140902 against New Century Telecom, Inc. for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.¹

On June 23, 2014, New Century Telecom, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).² In its Mitigation Request, New Century Telecom, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, "Our records indicate that we did not file the 2013 annual report due to not having any business in the state of Washington since 2012. Also in my conversation with Virgil Santos, our license had been revoked and we need not to file the 2012 report."

It is the company's responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated telecommunication companies. The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.

As of July 8, 2014, New Century Telecom, Inc. has not filed its 2013 annual report or paid any subsequent regulatory fees due. The company filed a petition on May 20, 2013 to be classified as a competitive telecommunication company under Docket UT-130917. Registration was

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 2, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of New Century's Mitigation Request received on June 23, 2014

UTC Annual Reports July 11, 2014 Page 2

effective as of June 19, 2013. Previously the company's registration was revoked as of September 9, 2004 for failure to file the 2003 annual report and pay subsequent regulatory fees. New Century Telecom filed a Notice of Cessation on June 23, 2014 under Docket UT-141317.

Staff supports the company's request for mitigation as the company has not had regulated telecommunication business within Washington and has requested to voluntarily cancel its registration. Staff recommends a reduced total penalty assessment of \$200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or <u>aandrews@utc.wa.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director Administrative Services

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 2, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of New Century's Mitigation Request received on June 23, 2014

ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-140902 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000

New Century Telecom, Inc. 3050 Royal Blvd, South, Suite 175 Alpharetta, GA 30022

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires telecommunications companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of \$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day's continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-120-382 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses penalties of \$100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of \$1,000 on the following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all telecommunications companies registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, New Century Telecom, Inc. has not filed its 2013 annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1, resulting in a total penalty of \$1,000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 2, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of New Century's Mitigation Request received on June 23, 2014

PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140902

PAGE 2

Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW80.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- · Pay the amount due.
- · Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
- · Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within **FIFTEEN (15)** days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-121-060 to revoke your authority to provide telecommunications services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 2, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA Administrative Law Judge

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 2, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of New Century's Mitigation Request received on June 23, 2014

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140902

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[] Enclosed \$_____ in payment of the penalty

[] Submitted my payment of \$______ online at <u>www.utc.wa.gov</u>. My confirmation number is ______.

- [] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:
- Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
 - OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _____ [month/day/year], at _____ [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) - please print

Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 2, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of New Century's Mitigation Request received on June 23, 2014

ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140902

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

[] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[] Enclosed \$ in payment of the penalty

] Submitted my payment of \$	online at www.utc.wa.gov,
My confirmation number is	

23

- [] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons for a decision by an administrative law judge:
- [X 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below:
 - [] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision
 - OR [X] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

[month/day/year], at Alpharetta, 64 6-9-2014 Dated: [city, state] Kary Bor Signature of Applicant Karyn Name of Respondent (company) - please print

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 2, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of New Century's Mitigation Request received on June 23, 2014



June 16, 2014

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission Attn: Amy Anderson PO Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Re: Penalty Assessment: UT-140902

2014 JUN 23 AM 8: 15

Ms. Anderson,

Per our telephone conversation please find enclosed the forms you requested. Our records indicate that we did not file the 2013 annual report due to not having any business in the state of Washington since 2012. Also in my conversation with Virgil Santos, our license had been revoked and we need not to file the 2012 report.

Thank you for your assistance

Karyn Bortel

Karyn Bartel President

Tel: 866-515-5139 • Fax: 866-515-5143

¹See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 2, 2014

²See attachment B for a copy of New Century's Mitigation Request received on June 23, 2014