STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e www.utc.wa.gov

June 30, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Crescent Bar, Inc.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties UW-140839
Dear Mr. King:

On May 29, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty
Assessment in Docket UW-140839 against Crescent Bar, Inc. for 10 violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-110-505, which requires water companies to furnish annual
reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.!

On June 16, 2014, Crescent Bar, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties
(Mitigation Request).? In its Mitigation Request, Crescent Bar, Inc. does not dispute that the
violation occurred. The company states, “l would like to apologize for my 2013 annual report
being late. This has never happened in the past and will certainly not happen again. It was just
overlooked. Our water system lost close to 13,000 dollars last year. This penalty will be hard to
absorb.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all
regulated water companies. The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual
report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the
regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.

On May 21, 2014, Crescent Bar, Inc. filed its completed annual report and paid the regulatory
fees and late payment penalty. The company was previously delinquent in filing the 2012 annual

1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 29, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Crescent Bar’s Mitigation Request received on June 16, 2014
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report and received an automatic mitigation of that penalty. Staff does not support the
company’s request for mitigation due to prior violations.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews,
Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 29, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Crescent Bar’s Mitigation Request received on June 16, 2014
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMNMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UW-140839
PENALTY AMOUNT: £1,000

Crescent Bar. Inc.
8894 Crescent Bar Rd. NW Ste. 1
Quincy, WA 98848

According to Washingfon Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-110-505, which requires water
companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by Mav 1. You did not
file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1. 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-110-505 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1,000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 anmual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all water companies registered in Washington.
The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these companies to file
annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1. 2014. The instructions page also
stated that failure to file the annual report by Mav 1 would result in penalties. The
deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You
did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Crescent Bar, Inc. has not filed its 2013 annual report or paid
its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 15 10 business days from May 1, resulting in a
total penalty of $1.000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the viclation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commussion will grant that request only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a heanng. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 29, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Crescent Bar’s Mitigation Request received on June 16, 2014
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Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented af a hearing or in writing. A recquest for
mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWE0.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request. the
Commission will review the evidence supporting vour dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify vou of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 davs after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

* Paythe amount due.
+ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+ FRequest mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission. Post Office Box 47250, Olympia. Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) davs after vou receive this notice.

If vou do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suif in state court to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia. Washington. and effective May 29, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 29, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Crescent Bar’s Mitigation Request received on June 16, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-140830

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

T have read and understand RCW 94 72 020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]Enclosed § in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my payment of § online at www . utc.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ T2 Requestfor ahearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but [ believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1a) Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]0b) Iaskfora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments. is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/vear], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 0A 72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime. and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material 1s not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 29, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Crescent Bar’s Mitigation Request received on June 16, 2014



ATTACHMENT B

Crescent Bar Resort

=
June 12, 2014 j__‘
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission _1_'
Po Box 47250 7
Olympia Wa 98504-7250 =
|
]

RE: Application for mitigation
Dear Commission;

I would like to apologize for my 2013 annual report being late. This has never
happened in the past and will certainly not happen again. It was just overlooked. Our
water system lost close to 13,000 dollars last year. This penalty will be hard to absorb.

Crescent Bar Inc also operates a golf course, campground, marina and a sewer plant.
Having said that, an unforeseen problem has cost us to lose an extreme amount of money
for the 2014 season. There is a crack in the Wanapum Damn. The Grant County PUD
that operates the damn has lowered the river and has closed all access to the shoreline.
All of our campers have cancelled their reservations for the summer and our golf course

revenue has been cut in half.

This penalty couldn’t have come in a worse time. I would like to ask the Commission to
waive the penalty as this is the first and last time this will happen.

Thank you for your attention to this matter

A
Wesley Trammell
Crescent Bar Inc.

CRESCENT BAR
8894 Crescent Bar Road N.W., Suite 1 » Quincy Washington 98848-9685
Phone: (509) 787-1611, Toll Free B00-B24-7090 » Fax: (509) 787-3125

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 29, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Crescent Bar’s Mitigation Request received on June 16, 2014



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-140839

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B félony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, m'ui_éj
oath, the following statements. : .

[ ]1. Payment of penalty. | admit that the viclations oceurred. I have: —

[ ]1Enclosed $ o in payment of the penalty o

m
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at W.utc.w.g@
My confimmation number is . =

[ 12 Requestfora hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

NS. Application for mitigation. [ admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 12 Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information [ provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR Nh] I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
I declare under penalty of petrjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information [ have presented on any attachmenis, is true and correct.

Dated: {21--'9 - “'} [month/day/year], at __{ :&;JA_{ i j'/_U [city, state]
Crescenr B Loz L4, 0 ZraiilV

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of(kprplicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an cath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense o a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 29, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Crescent Bar’s Mitigation Request received on June 16, 2014



