STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ www.utc.wa.gov

April 21, 2014 e

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

25 :1IHY €244V HIlL

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Master Call Communications

Staff’s Request to Rescind Penalty Assessment
Docket UT-140395

Dear Mr. King:

On March 18, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1800 Penalty
Assessment in Docket UT-140395 against Master Call Communications for 18 violations of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires telecommunications
companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.!

On April 9, 2014 Master Call Communications wrote the commission notifying the company
ceased doing business in Washington state on September 30, 2011. The company provided
documentation of the closed UBI registration with the Department of Revenue on September 30,
2011 and inactive UBI with the Secretary of State effective October 3, 2011.2

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee
packets were mailed to all regulated non-profit bus companies.® The cover letter informed the
regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and
return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action. The letter also provided

1 See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on March 18, 2014 to Master Call Communications
2See attachment B for a copy of the April 9, 2014 letter submitted by Master Call Communications
3See attachment C for a copy of the 2012 Annual Report cover letter mailed to all active regulated companies
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instructions for canceling the registration of a regulated company no longer operating in
Washington.

On April 15, 2014 commission staff requested Docket UT-140622 to acknowledge the Master
Call Communications notice of cessation of service in Washington. As Master Call
Communications was no longer in operation prior to the 2012 Annual Report year, staff
recommends that the assessed penalty be withdrawn and the docket closed.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews,
Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

/4 orichta MWL

Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-140395
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.800

Master Call Communications
39 Broadway, Suite 1850
New York, NY 10004

According to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records,
you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
telecommunications companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May
1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2013.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-120-382 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
of pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penaities against you in the
amount of $1,800 on the following basis:

On March 1, 2013, the Commission mailed 2012 annual report forms and 2013
regulatory fee packets to all telecommunications companies registered in
Washington state. A letter from the Commission’s Acting Executive Director
Steven V. King instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay
regulatory fees by May 1, 2013. The letter stated that failure to file the annual
report by May 1 would result in penalties, and possible cancellation of the
company’s authority to operate in Washington. The deadline for requesting an
extension to file your annual seport was April 24. You did not request an
extension.

Telecommunications companies that did not file their annual reports and pay regulatory
fees by May 24, 2013, were assessed penalties of $100 per business day for violating
WAC 480-120-382. As of March 11, 2014, Master Call Communications has not filed its
2012 annual report or paid its 2013 regulatory fee. resulting in a penalty of $100 per
business day between May 1 and May 24, for a total penalty of $1,800.
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140395 PAGE2

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you belicve the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you believe
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penslty. See
RCW 80.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law Judg
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

- You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty. -

Please indicate your sclection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Wasbmgton 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia; Washington, and effective March 18, 2014.

ALY

‘“GREGORY J.KOPTA -
- Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-130906

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this docunient, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below). which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make. under
oath. the following statements.

IT1L Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:
[ 1Enclosed $225 in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of $225 online at www.utc. wa.gov. My confinnation -
number is .

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information. and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

[ 1 a) Iask forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
presented directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year]. at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pejury in the first degree is a class B felony.™
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ATTACHMENT B
* MASTER CALL COMMUNICATIONS, INC.

MASTER CALL COMMUNICATIONS, INC.

View Additionat Information »
Purchase Documents for this Corporation »

UB! Number 602306514
Category REG
Profit/Nonprofit Profit
Active/Inactive inactive

State of Incorporation | NJ

WA Filing Date 06/20/2003
{ad g o
ey = i
Expiration Date 06/30/2011 ;3 [ R §
Inactive Date 10/03/2011 i r
‘ A - 3
Duration Perpetual S
BRI~
o
Registered Agent information
Agent Name
Address
City
State
P
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Page 2 of 2

Special Address information

Address

City

State

Zip
* MASTER CALL CORPORATION

If the results of your Nonprofit Corporation search was unsuccessful, try searching the name using the Charities
database search.

« Start New Search

Neither the State of Washington nor any agency, officer, or employee of the State of Washington warrants the
accuracy, reliability, or timeliness of any information in the Public Access System and shali not be liable for any
losses caused by such refiance on the accuracy, reliability, or timeliness of such information. While every effort is
made 1o ensure the accuracy of this information, portions may be incorrect or not current. Any person or entity
who relies on information obtained from the System does so at his or her own risk.

All documents filed with the Corporations Division are considered public record.

Search Apps on Mobile Devices

S market

All Corporations Data Download

Download the whole Corporations search database in XML and text formats.
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Lookup business information Page 1 of 1

ABOUT US | CONTACT US lesen
Espanol register
d N n)mam)mmmmu)cmmuumm
File & poy taxes Lookup businass information Back to seerch resuts
¥ "Non-revenus™ sppears after Tax Registration Number, nmnmmmnmamml

Dolng business may be registered with other agencies in
Business types .
Register my business ‘Wa State Department of Revenme \
My account State Business Records Datsbase Detall
Audts TAX REGISTRATION ND: SAZO06514 ACCOUNT GPENED : §5/81/200¢ 120000 AM
Find taxes & rates . HZMeS14 ACCOUNT CLOSED 1 99/38/2011 120000 MM

INTITY MAME | MASTER CALL COMMUMICATIONS NG

SUSHESS MAME 1
Workshops & scucation

publicat umvm:m aunnwm
Get a fom or fon MW YORE, Y 10808-3912 NEW YORK, WY 10008-3012
Find  law or e SVIITY TYPE: CORPORATION AESELLER PERMIT ND:  ASS 251213
. - PERMITIFFICTIVE: 81/81/2010
MAKCS CODE: S17981 PORMITISPRES: 09/30/2811
x mm:mm
FOR lON—mMMERClM. USEONLY
S4/00/2014 BITAM

¥ you are unable 1o find the reseller permit you are looking for, ¥y searching
by Inx registration/UB! number.

CONTACT US | ABOUT US | QUESTIONS & ANSWEAS | PRINTER FRIENDLY | CARERRS

“ . m | Enpans ] Arccadt | 837 Tepwg | Tikog vt | 2 ' Y CoR———
2\

I Your Privecy § e Mi WGNTS REISAVED. & Volw TARY O STALE)
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ATTACHMENT C

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.,, P.O. Box 47250 * Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 * TTY (360) 586-8203

February 28, 2013

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2012 Annual Report md 2013 Reguhtory Feuare DueMay 1
State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the ‘Washington Utilities

and Transportation Commission (commission).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:

o Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2012 annual

e Pay your 2013 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the commission will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after
May 1 that the report is not filed and/or the fees are unpaid. You may seek mitigation of the
penalties in response to the assessment you receive after you have filed a completed annual
report and paid your regulatory fees. Any potential mitigation of the penalty, if any, will
depend on the reason it is late and whether you have filed late in prior years. Staff may also
initiate proceedings to request the commission revoke your authority to operate in
Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 1?
If the commission does not receive your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur
a 2 percent penalty on the amount due gnd a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid
balance. These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business
day after May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report; however,
the commission will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request
must be filed with the commission by April 24, 2013, and must state a valid reason for why you
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 28, 2013
Page 2

need an extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual
report. The commission will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied.
Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if
you fail to pay your regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
the commission’s website at www.utc, wa.gov; however, if your company operated in
Washington at any time during the 2012 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and -
file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2012 even if you
cancel your registration or permit, N

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
. Only if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications, or
water company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may ot
request confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is
found only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as

--confidential, the commission-will pot treat it as confidential. - - o

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480—07—1 60.' You
may find this rule on the commission website, www.utc.wa.gov/annualreports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The commission will not,
however, disclose credit card information you list on the fec shect.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the
commission website www.utc.wa.gov/annualreports..
e Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms;
e Pay regulatory fees;

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment? -
‘Washington Utilities and Transportatlom Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

The commission must receive your annual report form and regulatory fee payment on or
before May 1, without regard to when you mail them. The commission will no longer
consider this filing to be timely if it is postmarked on that date. If you mail the completed
form and payment, therefore, you must do so sufficiently in advance for them to
delivered to the commission on or before May 1. Forms and payment the commission
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees

February 28, 2013
Page 3

receives after that date will be considered late and subject to the penalties described in this
notice without regard to when you mailed them.

Is there any additional information you should file?
¢ Ifyou are a gas distribution company, please remember to also file both a paper and
electronic copy of your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
*» Ifyou are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1,
¢ Ifyouare a class 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington.

- 1f you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please coritact the

following staff:

Rae Lynn Cames at (360) 664-1152 or rcames@utc.wa.gov
Kim Anderson at (360) 664-1253 or kanderso@utc.wa.gov

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call (360) 664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289,

Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures




