STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e TTY (360) 586-8203

November 8, 2013

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. 2C Captains, Inc. DBA Let’s
Tour Seattle
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TE-131923

Dear Mr. King:

On October 15, 2013, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission)
assessed a $7,900 penalty against 2C Captains, Inc. DBA Let’s Tour Seattle (2C Captains) for 79
violations of WAC 480-30-221, Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires
passenger transportation companies to comply with Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR),
including Part 391 - Qualification of drivers, and Part 396 — Inspection, repair and maintenance.

On October 30, 2013, Charles Russell, owner of 2C Captains; filed an Application for Mitigation
of Penalties (mitigation request), requesting a hearing based on the information provided by the
company.

For the reasons below, staff opposes mitigation of the penalty.

e 47 violations of CFR Part 391.45(b)(1) — Using a driver not medically examined and
certified during the preceding 24 months. Company driver Dick Falkenbury’s medical
certificate expired on April 21, 2013, and was not renewed until September 6, 2013. Mr.
Falkenbury drove on 47 occasions during that time period without medical certification.
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In the mitigation request, Mr. Russell states that Mr. Falkenbury received a letter from
the Department of Motor Vehicles informing him that he could renew his commercial
driver license (CDL) without renewal of his medical certificate if he was only driving
intrastate. Mr. Russell states that he asked Mr. Falkenbury to make a copy of the letter;
however, Mr. Russell did not include a copy of the letter with the mitigation request.

No mitigation is appropriate. The Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) is
the agency responsible for issuing CDLs. The DOL website clearly states that all CDL
holders must meet federal medical certificate requirements. CDL holders operating
commercial vehicles intrastate (only within Washington State) do not have to keep
medical certificates on file with the DOL; however, intrastate drivers must still carry
medical certificates when operating a commercial vehicle.!

As the owner of a regulated passenger transportation company, it is Mr. Russell’s
responsibility to be familiar with and remain educated about all pertinent regulatory
requirements, including those related to driver medical certification.

Two violations of CFR Part 396.3(b) — Failing to keep minimum records of
inspection and vehicle maintenance (Critical Violation). 2C Captains fails to maintain
any written inspection, repair or maintenance records, including due dates and nature of

noted inspections or repairs for either bus.

In the mitigation request, Mr. Russell states that he provided commission staff with a
folder containing a vehicle maintenance log and a printed list of bills for all vehicle
maintenance.

No mitigation is appropriate. CFR Part 396.3(b) — Vehicle inspection and maintenance,
requires motor carriers to maintain the following records for each motor vehicle:

(1) Anidentification of the vehicle including company number, if so marked, make,
serial number, year, and tire size. In addition, if the motor vehicle is not owned
by the motor carrier, the record shall identify the name of the person furnishing
the vehicle;

(2) A means to indicate the nature and due date of the various inspection and
maintenance operations to be performed,;

(3) A record of inspection, repairs, and maintenance indicating their date and
nature; and

1 See Attachment A — Copy of DOL webpage — Medical certificates and self-certification.
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(4) A record of tests conducted on push-out windows, emergency doors, and
emergency door marking lights on buses

This CFR requirement is considered a “critical” regulation by the Federal Motor carrier
Safety Administration (FMCSA). Patterns of non-compliance with critical regulations are
quantitatively linked to inadequate safety management controls and usually higher-than-
average accident rates.?

During the compliance review inspection, Mr. Russell provided commission staff with a
folder containing receipts from an outside vendor who does maintenance on the
company’s buses. These receipts failed to indicate tire size, make of vehicle, serial
number and in some instances, the year of the vehicle. When staff asked Mr. Russell if he
had a written preventative maintenance program and a record of inspections and repairs
for the buses, Mr. Russell responded that he had no other maintenance records and takes
the buses in when he feels they need servicing. The required vehicle maintenance and
inspection records were not present in the folder presented to staff during the inspection;
therefore, staff noted violations of the CFR requirement.

In a subsequent telephone conversation with staff, Mr. Russell stated that he had
maintenance records on his computer. These records were neither discussed nor produced
for staff during the compliance review inspection or after the telephone conversation. Mr.
Russell did not provide any maintenance records with the mitigation request.

29 violations of CFR Part 396.11(a) — Failing to require driver to prepare driver
vehicle inspection reports (DVIR) (Critical Violation). 2C Captains’ drivers fail to
complete written DVIRs at the end of each day or each shift. For the month of August
2013, drivers drove on 29 occasions and should have completed a DVIR for each drive.

In the mitigation request, Mr. Russell states that he inspects his vehicles each time he
gives the keys to a driver. Mr. Russell and the driver walk around the bus and discuss
needed maintenance, sweep out the vehicle and wipe down the seats and windows before
the company vehicle is dispatched to pick up a customer.

No mitigation is appropriate. CFR Part 396.11(a) - Equipment provided by motor
carrier, states that motor carriers must require every driver to prepare a report in writing

2 Appendix B to CFR Part 385—Explanation of safety rating process: http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-

regulations/administration/fmesr/fmcsrruletext.aspx?contentid=1556
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at the completion of each day's work on each vehicle operated. The report must cover at
least the following parts and accessories:

Service brakes including trailer brake connections.
Parking brake.

Steering mechanism.

Lighting devices and reflectors.
Tires.

Horn.

Windshield wipers.

Rear vision mirrors.

. Coupling devices.

10. Wheels and rims.

11. Emergency equipment.

00 SO W i W B

In the mitigation request, Mr. Russell makes no mention of drivers completing the
required DVIRs after each inspection. This CFR requirement is another regulation
considered critical by the FMCSA. This is also a repeat violation. Commission staff
previously noted violations of this CFR during a compliance review inspection in 2010.
2C Captains knew or should have known about this requirement.

e  One violation of CFR Part 396.17(a) — Using a commercial vehicle not periodically
inspected. The commercial motor vehicle E450 had not been inspected since June 2012.

In the mitigation request, Mr. Russell states that he purchased bus E450 in 2012 and was
under the impression that an inspection is good for two years.

No mitigation is appropriate. CFR Part 396.17(a) - Periodic inspection, states that every
commercial motor vehicle must be inspected as required by the CFR. A motor carrier
must not use a commercial motor vehicle unless each component identified in the CFR
has passed an inspection at least once during the preceding 12 months and documentation
of such inspection is on the vehicle.

This is also a repeat violation. Commission staff previously noted violations of this CFR
during a compliance review inspection in 2010. 2C Captains knew or should have known
about this requirement.

Staff recommends no mitigation of the assessed penalty and will testify in support of its
recommendation at hearing.
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If you have any questions, please contact Betty Young, Compliance Investigator, Transporfation
Safety, at 360-664-1202, or by e-mail at byoung@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

David Pratt
Assistant Director, Transportation Safety

Enclosure
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All commercial driver license (CDL) holders must meet federal self-certification and medical certificate
requirements. To learn more, see:

- Self-certification
- Selt P

Self-certification
Requirements

To confirm who has to keep a medical certificate on file with us, all CDL holders must self-certify in
person between January 30, 2012 and January 30, 2014,

You must visit a driver licensing office in person to self-certify. Mailed in forms are not
accepted. When self-certifying, you may choose one of the following categories:

Ty-pe“oi= ce:l_'tification

Non-excepted interstate
commercial driver

Excepted interstate
commercial driver

Intrastate driver

Self-certify as this type of driver ifryou...

« Cross state lines while operating a
commercial vehicle.

« Transport cargo that comes from outside
Washington or is going outside
Washington State.

« Deliver cargo to Washington State ports.

Examples:

« School bus drivers who carry passengers
across state lines to events.

« Truck drivers who deliver goods across
state lines.

« Drivers who deliver goods, including logs,
to ports in Washington.

« Cross state lines with a school bus
transporting studernts to and from
school. !

« Occasionally transport personal property
and not for compensation.

« Operate a government vehicle or
emergency response vehicle,

« Make emergency deliveries of propane or
home heating oil.

Examples:

« Drivers crossing state lines for city,
county, or state-owned and operated
transit organizations.

« Truck drivers employed by federal, state,
or local government to haul or deliver
mail, supplies, or other goods.

» Don't cross state lines while operating a
commercial vehicle.

« Transport cargo that always came from
and stays within Washington State.

Examples:

= School bus drivers who only transport
passengers within Washington.

» Truck drivers who only transport and
deliver goods to and from Washington
addresses.

Note: This is the only type of intrastate

http://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/cdlimedicalcertificates. html#selfeert[11/5/2013 9:29:30 AM]

Current medical

certificate must be...

« Kept on file with us.
and

« Carried by the
driver when
operating a
commercial vehicle.

Carried by the driver
when operating a
commercial vehicle.

Carried by the driver
when operating a
commercial vehicle.
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certification available in Washington. You can't
self-certify as an “excepted intrastate driver.”

How to self-certify

1. Submit a self-certification form
You must submit a completed self-certification form in person at a driver licensing office. Mailed in
forms won’t be accepted.

2. Submit a medical certificate if necessary |
« Non-excepted interstate drivers must submit a valid medical examiner’s certificate with |
the self-certification form. |
o The first time you self-certify, you must submit your medical certificate in person.
o After that, you may submit your new medical certificate to us before the old one
expires:
o At a driver licensing office
o By email: CDLMED@dol.wa.gov
(This email address accepts only CDL medical and self-certification forms.)
o By fax: 360.570.4915
or
o By mail:
CDL Medical Unit
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9030
Olympia, WA 98507-9030 :

« All other CDL holders don’t need to submit a medical certificate with the completed form.

Fees
There is no fee to self certify. However, if you get a new license to add or remove the intrastate “U”
restriction, it will cost $10.

When to self-certify
All CDL holders must submit a self-certification form between January 30, 2012 and January 30,
2014:
« If you'll renew your CDL by January 30, 2014, you can complete the self-certification form when
you renew. You can renew and self-certify your: .
o CDL up to 1 year early. ;
o CDL with a hazmat endorsement, up to 6 months early. |

« If you're applying for your first CDL, you'll certify your status as part of that process. If you
certify as an interstate driver, you must submit your current medical certificate before we can issue
you a CDL.

« If you don't renew by January 30, 2014, you must go to a driver licensing office before the
deadline to self-certify. If your CDL expires in 2014, 2015, or 2016, we'll send you a reminder
notice,

How to change your self-certification

If your certification status changes, submit a new self-certification form in person at a driver licensing

office.

» You must visit a driver licensing office to change your self-certification status. Mailed in forms are
not accepted

= If you change your status to non-excepted interstate driver, submit your current medical
examiner's certificate with the certification form,

= There is no fee to change your self-certification. However, if you get a new license to add or
remove the intrastate "U" restriction, it will cost $10.

Medical certificates

Requirements

» New regulations require all commercial driver license (CDL) holders who operate for interstate
commerce to keep a current medical examiner's certificate on file with us,

« CDL holders who operate a commercial vehicle only within Washington State (intrastate) don’t
have to keep their medical certificate on file with us.

Note: You can (@& check your status online to confirm we have your medical certificate on record. If you
don't see "Medical certification (certified)" in the CDL section when you check online, we don’t have your
certificate on record yet.

How to submit your medical certificate
There are 4 ways to submit your medical certificate:

+ In person: At a driver licensing office
CDLMED@dol.wa.gov

« By email:

« By fax: 360.570.4915
or

+ By mail:

CDL Medical Unit
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9030

http:/Awww.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/cdimedicalcertificates. htm1#selfcert[11/5/2013 9:29:30 AM]
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Olympia, WA 98507-9030

We'll process your medical certificate as quickly as possible, but it may take 7-10 business days for in
to show on your record.

What happens if you miss the deadline

If we don'’t receive your medical certificate, your CDL won’t be valid for operating a commercial
vehicle. If your license is downgraded, we'll automatically make your CDL valid for operating
commercial vehicles again as soon as we receive and process your medical certificate.

Frequently asked questions

What if I don't know what type of commercial driving I’ll be doing?

It's safest to certify yourself as a non-excepted interstate driver and submit a medical certificate to us.
This is the most flexible option, and will allow you to accept jobs that require driving across state lines.

What will happen if I don’t self certify before the deadline?

If you don't self-certify, we'll change your CDL record to show “not certified,” and you won't legally be
allowed to operate a commercial vehicle. You can return your status to normal by submitting a self-
certification form and, if required, a copy of your medical certificate.

I'm not an active commercial driver. Can I maintain my CDL without keeping my medical
certificate current?

Yes, but only if you self-certify as an intrastate driver and don’t operate a commercial vehicle, If you
start driving again, get your medical certificate updated and, if operating in interstate commerce, submit
a new self-certification form and your medical certificate at a driver licensing office.

Is this a federal or a state requirement?

It's both. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration set these licensing standards (CER 383,71 and
CFR 383.73) and they apply to CDL holders nationwide. All states are required to adopt these new
standards, and Washington State adopted these standards as state law in 2011 (RCW 46.25.010 (22)).

Why do we have to do this?

In 2007, federal and state authorities found over 100,000 commercial vehicle drivers were operating
illegally without valid medical certificates, Commercial vehicle crash data also shows that more than
3,000 truck crashes per year result from the driver having a heart attack or other physical impairment.
Requiring self-certification and valid medical certificates will help to prevent medically unqualified drivers
from operating commercial vehicles on our highways.

Questions?
If you have questions about your medical certificate or self-certification, call us at 360.902.3900 or

email drivers@dol.wa.gov.
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