STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr, S,\W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ www.utc.wa.gov

September 3, 2013

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr, SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Ulilities and Transportation Commission v National Moving & Storage, Inc.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-130988

Dear Mr. King:

On August 7, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $750 Penalty
Assessment in Docket TV-130988 against National Moving & Storage, Inc. for 15 violations of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carriers
to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.'

On August 12, 2013, National Moving & Storage, Inc. wrote the commission requesting
mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, National Moving &
Storage, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred.” The company states, “I had been
experiencing some health issues that had taken me away from the office, and thus some
administrative issues were neglected.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee
packets were mailed to all regulated household goods carriers.” The cover letter informed the
regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and

' See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on August 7, 2013 to National Moving & Storage, Inc.
? See attachment B for a copy of National Moving & Storage, Inc.’s Mitigation Request received by the Commission
on August 12, 2013

* See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies, dated February 28, 2013
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return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action. On May 10, 2013, the
Commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying
them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700.* The letter went on to explain that
companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would receive mitigated
penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be assessed for each
instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report, up
to a maximum of $100 per day.

National Moving & Storage, Inc. filed its annual report on May 22, resulting in a penalty of $100
per business day between May 1 and May 24. That date is 15 business days from May 1, when
penalties began to accrue, resulting in a potential penalty assessment of $1,500. National Moving
& Storage, Inc.’s filings were also delinquent in 2011, which increased the penalty by $25 per
day. The Commission exercised its discretion to mitigate the penalty to $50 per day, resulting in
a total penalty of $750. Because the company has presented compelling information, staff
supports further mitigation to a penalty assessment of $375.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lynda Holloway,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1129, or lholloway(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

* See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013



UTC Annual Reports
September 3, 2013
Page 3

ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-130988
PENALTY AMOUNT: $750

National Moving & Storage, Inc.
18862 72" Ave. S
Kent, WA 98032

According to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records,
you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires
household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You
did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2013.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Conunission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-480 beyond May 1 as a continuing
violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its
regulatory fees after that date.

As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $750 on the following basis:

On March 1, 2013, the Commission mailed 2012 annual report forms and 2013
regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers registered in Washington
state. A letter from the Commission’s Acting Executive Director Steven V. King
instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by
May 1, 2013, The letter stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1
would result in penalties, and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to
operate in Washington. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your
annual report was April 24. You did not request an extension.

On May 10, the Commission issued a notice to companies that had not yet filed
their annual report or paid regulatory fees, informing these companies that they
were subject to enforcement action, including penalties that began accruing on
May 2. Companies that filed their annual reports and paid regulatory fees after
May 1, but on or before May 24, 2013, are subject to penalties that the
Commission uses its discretion to mitigate to $25 per day if the company had not
filed late in prior years. Companies that were late in prior years are subject to an
additional $25 per day for each year they were late, up to a total of $100 per day.
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130938 PAGE?

For first-time late filers who filed their report after May 24, the Commission will

mitigate the penalties to 50 percent of the maximum amount. No further mitigation

will be granted unless the company provides new information that is unrelated to

these factors. Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a company was
_unaware that a report must be filed.

On May 22, 2013, National Moving & Storage, Inc., filed its 2012 annual report
and paid its 2013 regulatory fee. That date is 15 business days from May 1, when
penalties began to accrue, resulting in a potential penalty assessment of $1,500.
National Moving & Storage, Inc.’s, filings were also delinquent in 2011, which
increases the penalty by $25 per day for each past delinquency. The Commission,
therefore, exercises its discretion to mitigate the penalty to $50 per day, resulting
in a total penalty of $750.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you believe
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Comunission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 7, 2013.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130988

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

; ayment of penalty. I adnut that the violations occurred. I have:
1 Pay f Ity. I admit that the violati d. I1
[ ] Enclosed $750 in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my p1yment of $750 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation
number is

[S=]

[ ]

Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge fora
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

[ 1 a) Iask for ahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above. .
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
presented directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attaclunents, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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ATTACHMENT B
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION c:owmnwmg CEIVED
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130988 huiu 12 2013

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the WASHAUT & TP COMM
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statemnents under oath is a class B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matiers set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements,

=

Cad

i 11, Payment of penalty. 1 admit that the violations occurred. 1 have: %
[ ]1Enclosed $750 in payment of the penalty i

: i

[} Submitied iy payment of $750 online at www.ule.wa.gov. My confirmation o

number is . o

4
A

Request for n hearing. | believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process

that allows an affected person to present argument 1o an administrative law fudge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

M 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I belicve that the penalty should
T be reduced for the reason(s) set out below, S‘ [7: {?Tm H 6’9

f ] a) lask forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR [ |

I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
presented directly above.

[ declare under pulalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including m/f)rm ion I have presented on any attachments, is true and correet.

Dated: (] /3 ___{montlvday/year], at /Zgﬂ / % ”}‘Y’ [city, state]
Abrar Loiiwer /4

. ¥y M '
\Jame of Respondent (company) - please print Sign@;ﬁé‘iﬁ"ﬁ\pp!icmu
...... Recionad Moving -+ Shereg ¢
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
procceding he makes a materially false statemnent which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



UTC Annual Reports
September 3, 2013
Page 7

g}ly//?

RECEIVED.;
) po 12 2013

( Otawrs ol
») WASH, UT. & TP COMM

[levse  Eousiven A peDuchow (A 1T nl
f};slo«.u . [,U-’- 52 Yo Qn {r:; } §ee f Adar b
+ L]
(3¢ ine,  tapy  Onf Rk Riépeal A By Aveedsze,

1 W Oeen eppen 4;'~<mlf? Coler ¢« (lowie THF
[$5phee  Tphm Hlb Pley e iy #rows Al
CAqcE , AD mas Sdenl A0 apeetit S TpITIGE /SSHES
"Wene “wegi et
»I' wie  Hpreas” 172, e DEApLases W Tt
J O /ey Ask o Your  (lund
g e woen I8 TYIS pTWALT

_,S#(,w\, e C}-

f /M_ ,/% e
Ff ‘5&?’ 'ﬂ PeIr A

D oy - 2507 g5t 7
o e - ST i)



UTC Annual Reports
September 3, 2013
Page 8

ATTACHMENT C

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1360 5. Evergreen Park Dr. 5.W, P.O. Box 47250 « Olympla, Washinglon 98504-7250
(3600 664-1160 » TTY (360} S86-8203

February 28, 2013

Dear Regulated Company:

Reference: Youwr 2012 Annual Report and 2013 Reguiatbryr Fees areiDue'Mﬁy 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (commission).

‘What is required of you?
By May I, you must: .
e Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2012 annual
FEPOFLFONIR = - 1 T T e e
+ Pay your 2013 regulatory fees '

What happens if yon do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report atd pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the commission will assess a financial penalty of $100 for cach business day after
May 1 that the report is not filed and/or the fees are unpaid. You may seek mitigation of the
penalties in response to 1he assessment you receive after you have filed a completed annual
report and paid your regulatory fees, Any potential mitigation of the penalty, if any, will
depend on the reason it is late and whether you have filed late in prior years. Staff may alse
initiate proceedings to request the commission revoke your authority to operate in
Washington.

‘What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If the commission does not receive your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur
a 2 percent penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid
balance. These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business
day after May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable (o file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report; however,
the commission will not extend the deadiine for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request
must be filed with the commission by April 24, 2013, and must state a valid reason for why you
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UTC Amual Reports and Fees
February 28, 2013
Page 2

need an extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual
report, The commission will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied,
Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if
you fail to pay your regulatory fees by May 1.

‘What should you do if your company s no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
the commission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov; however, if your company operated in
Washington at any time during the 2012 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and
file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2012 even if you
cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?

. Only if you satisfy two conditions:

(1} You ace cligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications, or
water company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not
request confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is
found only in RCW 80.04.095, If a Title 81 company files its annual repmt or fee sheet as

-.confidential, the commission will not treat it as confidential.

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-1 60.. You
may find this rule on the commission website, www.utc.wa.gov/annualreports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The commission will not,
however, disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the
commiission website www.ute.wa.gov/annualreports..
e Obfain electronic versions of annual report forms;
¢ Pay regulatory fees;

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250 )
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

The commission must receive your annual repost form and regulatory fee payment on or
before May 1, without regard to when you mail them. The commission will no longer
consider this filing to be timely if i# is postmarked on that date. If you mail the completed
form and payment, therefore, you must do so sufficiently in advance for them to be
delivered fo the commission on or before May 1. Forms and payment the commission
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 28, 2613
Page 3

receives after that date will be considered late and subject to the penalties described in this
notice without regard to when you mailed them,

Is there any additional information you should file? :
+ Ifyou are a gas distribution company, please remember to also file both a paper and
electronic copy of your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
* I'you are an eleciric company, please also file both a paper and clectronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.
» If youare aclass 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transpottation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington.

If you have questions about any aspect of your repott or regulatory fee, please contact the
following staff:

Rae Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or rcarnes(@utc.wa.gov

Kim Anderson at (360) 664-1253 ot kanderso@ute. wa.gov

If you need this letter or an annual repott form in an alternate format, please call (360) 664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289,

S‘iucelrely,‘ o
ol L7 /‘—M—>'
Steven V. King

Acting Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures
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ATTACHMENT D

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 « Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o TTY (360) 586-8203
May 10, 2013
NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION

Attention!

Your 2012 annual report and/or regulatory fees to the Utilities and Transportation Conunission
were due May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on
May 2. As of the date of this letter, you have accrued a penalty of $700. That penalty will

increase by $100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what vou can do to mitigate your penalty.

If the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 24, commission staff will
mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for each
year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov. If you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Kali Wraspir, Consumer Program
Assistant, at (360) 664-1214 or kwraspir@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretary



