STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 o Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o www.utc.wa.gov

September 3, 2013

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v Irvington Transfer & Storage Co.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-130979

Dear Mr. King:

On August 7, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $325 Penalty
Assessment in Docket TV-130979 against Irvington Transfer & Storage Co. for 13 violations of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carriers
to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.l

On August 21, 2013, Irvington Transfer & Storage Co. wrote the commission requesting
mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Irvington Transfer &
Storage Co. does not dispute that the violation occurred.” The company states, “We mailed our
report on 4/30/13 in good faith of being on time. We did have to correct it, but as we have never
been late before we request that you waive the penalty.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee
packets were mailed to all regulated household goods carriers.” The cover letter informed the
regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and

! See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on August 7, 2013 to Irvington Transfer & Storage Co.
? See attachment B for a copy of Irvington Transfer & Storage Co. Mitigation Request received by the Commission
on August 21, 2013

* See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies, dated February 28, 2013
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return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action. On May 10, 2013, the
Commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying
them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700." The letter went on to explain that
companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would receive mitigated
penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be assessed for each
instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late repott, up
to a maximum of $100 per day.

Irvington Transfer & Storage Co. filed its complete annual report on May 13, which is thirteen
business days past the deadline of May 1, 2013. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to
$25 per day, for a total of $325. Because the company has not presented any new or compelling
information, staff does not support further mitigation.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lynda Holloway,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1129, or lholloway@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

<f52>¢J£L.-€4;(:c/

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

~ “See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-130979
PENALTY AMOUNT: $325

Irvington Transfer & Storage Co.
PO Box 20367
Portland, OR 97294

According to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records,
you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires
household goods carriers to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You
did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2013.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-480 beyond May 1 as a continuing
violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its
regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $325 on the following basis:

On March 1, 2013, the Commission mailed 2012 annual report fonns and 2013
regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers registered in Washington
state. A letter from the Commission’s Acting Executive Director Steven V. King
instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by
May 1, 2013. The letter stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1
would result in penalties, and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to
operate in Washington. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your
annual report was April 24. You did not request an extension.

On May 10, the Commission issued a notice to companies that had not yet filed
their annual report or paid regulatory fees, informing these companies that they
were subject to enforcement action, including penalties that began accruing on
May 2. Companies that filed their annual reports and paid regulatory fees after
May 1, but on or before May 24, 2013, are subject to penalties that the
Commission uses its discretion to mitigate to $25 per day if the company had not
filed late in prior years. Companies that were late in prior years are subject to an
additional $25 per day for each year they were late, up to a total of $100 per day.
For first-time late filers who filed their report after May 24, the Commission will
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130980 PAGE 2

mitigate the penalties to 50 percent of the maximum amount. No further mitigation
will be granted unless the company provides new information that is unrelated to
these factors. Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a company was
unaware that a report must be filed.

On May 8, 2013, Irvington Transfer & Storage Co., filed its 2012 annual report
and paid its 2013 regulatory fee. Staff notified the company that it failed to
include the company’s Schedule 2 form with the filing. On May 13, 2013,
Irvington Transfer & Storage Co., filed its Schedule 2 form to complete the filing.
That date 15 13 business days from May 1, when penalties began to accrue,
resulting in a potential penalty assessment of $1,300. Irvington Transfer & Storage
Co., has not previously missed the deadline for filing its annual report and paying
its regulatory fees. The Comunission, therefore, exercises its discretion to mitigate
the penalty to $25 per day, resulting in a total penalty of $325.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you believe
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Conunission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 7, 2013.

GREGORY I. KOPTA
Adnmunistrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130979

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. T have:
[ ]Enclosed $325 in payment of the penalty

[ 1Submitted my payment of $325 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation
number is )

!J

Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[]

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
b
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

[ 1a) Iask forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR [ ]0) Iwaiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
presented directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at ' [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130979

PLEASE NOTE: You must complele and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penally assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A,72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statemments under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and 1 have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
cath, the following statements.

| 1 L Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred, | have: (("/\ Q?{P
[ 1Enclosed $325 in payment of the penalty Qg? '\:\N Q§
>
{ ] Submitted my payment of $325 online at www.ute.wa.pov. My confimmation ¥ & Q%
number is

e S
[ 12 Reqguest for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alieged violations did not§
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative Jaw Judgc fora
decision by an administrative law judge . 5

.—"‘

('J
l-.)

l)(j 3. Application for mitigation, [ admit the violations, but I belicve that the penaity shotfti

be reduced for the reason(s) set out below, We mailed our report on 4/30/15i~ 9

good faith of being on time, We did 3
have to correct it, but as we have never
been late before we request that you

[ 1 a) Ulask forahearing for a decision b waive the penalty,

information presented above,
OR [X] b) Iwaivea hcaring and ask for an administrative decision on the information 1
presented directly above,

the

1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachiments, is true and correct.

Dated: 3'/ /-‘;// 3 [montvday/year], st __/ a4 (¥ aacd o8 {city, state]
1RVNGTOE TRINSFZE 1 SmphCE -_—)s«-«;7\ //

Name of Respondent (company) ~ please print Shgdture of Applicant

...................................

RCW 9A.72.020;

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows 10 be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the slatement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense 10 a prosecution under this section, (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony,”
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ATTACHMENT C

STATE OF WASHINGYON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1380 5. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., RO. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
{360} 664-1160 * TTY (360) 586-8203

February 28, 2013

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2012 Annual Report and 2013 Reguriatrol'y Fees ave Due Méy 1

State law requires you to file an annwal report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Cornmission (commission).

What is requirved of you?
By May 1, you must: . .
» Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2012 annual
- l‘ci}ol;t fOl'n] S e e e e - . P T R TI e - - — — — . P .
e Pay your 2013 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory feeson

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the commission will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after
May 1 that the report is not filed and/or the fees are unpaid. You may seek mitigation of the
penaliies in response to the assessment you receive after you have filed a completed annual
report and paid your regulatory fees. Any potential mitigation of the penalty, if any, will
depend on the reason it is late and whether you have filed late in prior years. Staff may also
initiate proceedings to request the commission revoke your authority to operate in
Washington,

‘What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If the commission does not receive your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur
a 2 percent penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid
balance. These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business
day after May 1 that the fees ave unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed amnual report; however,
the commission will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request
must be filed with the commission by April 24, 2013, and must state a valid reason for why you
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 28, 2013
Page 2

need an extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual
report. The commission will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied.
Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if
you fail to pay your regulatory fees by May 1.

What sheuld you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?

You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
the commission’s website at www.utc. wa.gov; however, if your company operated in
Washington at any time during the 2012 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and
file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2012 even if you

cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?

. Only if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You ate eligible to request confidential {reatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications, ot
water company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not
request confidential treatment of documents becanse the authority for such treatment is
found only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files its annual 1ep01t or fee sheet as

- —confidential; the-commission will not ireat it as confidential. - :

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule on the commission website, www,utc.wa.gov/annualreports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treaiment under the rule. The commission will not,
however, disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May you perform some of these tasks online?

Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the
comumission website www.ufc.wa.gov/annualrepotts..

e Obtain electronic versions of amnual report forms;

e Pay regulafory fees;

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

The commission must receive your annual repoit form and regulatory fee payment on or
before May 1, without regard to when you mail them. The commission will no fonger
consider this filing to be timely if it is postmarked on that date. If you mail the completed
form and payment, therefore, you must do so sufficiently in advance for them to be
delivered to the commission on or before May 1. Forms and payment the commission
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
Febiuaty 28, 2013
Page 3

receives after that date will be considered late and subject to the penalties described in this
notice without regard to when you mailed them,

Is there any additional information you should file? .
* Ifiyou are a gas distribution company, please remember to also file both a paper and
electronic copy of your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
 Ifyou are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.
¢ Ifyouarea class 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington,

If you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory feg, please contact the
following staff:

Rae Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or rcarpesi@utc.wa.gov

Kim Anderson at (360) 664-1253 or kandersof@ute.wa.gov

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call (360) 664-1243, The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289. '

Sincerely,
/zl.«'::— V / “"“br
Steven V. King

Acting Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures



UTC Annual Reports
September 3, 2013
Page 10

ATTACHMENT D

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o TTY (360) 586-8203
May 10, 2013
NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION

Attention!

Your 2012 annual report and/or regulatory fees to the Utilities and Transportation Commission
were due May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on

May 2. As of the date of this letter, you have accrued a penalty of $700. That penalty will
increase by $100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what you can do to mifigate your penalty.

If the conunission receives your report postmarked no later than May 24, conunission staff will
mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for each
year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the comumission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov. If you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Kali Wraspir, Consumer Program
Assistant, at (360) 664-1214 or kwraspir@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretary



