STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 » www.utc.wa.gov

September 3, 2013

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v Apex Movers, LLC
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-130963

Dear Mr. King:

On August 6, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $50 Penalty
Assessment in Docket TV-130983 against Apex Movers, LLC for two violations of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carriers to furnish
annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.'

On August 9, 2013, Apex Movers, LL.C wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties
(Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Apex Movers, LL.C does not dispute that the
violation occurred.? The company states, “Called in April not sure whom I spoke with, but asked
if check and report just need to be postmarked by May 1*. I was told that it would not be
consideéred late. However, I am no [sic] receiving notification of penalties for receiving on

May 3%.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee
packets were mailed to all regulated household goods carriers.” The cover letter informed the

! see attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on August 6, 2013 to Apex Movers, LLC
? see attachment B for a copy of Apex Movers LLC Mitigation Request received by the Commission on
August 9, 2013

* See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies, dated February 28, 2013
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return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action. On May 10, 2013, the
Commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying
them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700.* The letter went on to explain that
companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would receive mitigated
penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be assessed for each
instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report, up
to a maximum of $100 per day.

Apex Movers, LLC filed its annual report on May 3, which is two business days past the
deadline of May 1, 2013. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day, for a total
of $50. Because the company has not presented any new or compelling information, staff does
not support further mitigation.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lynda Holloway,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1129, or lholloway(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

(%&J&JZ ace)

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

* See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013
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ATTACHMENT A
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-130963
PENALTY AMOUNT: $50

APEX MOVERS, LLC
801 Valley Ave, NW, Suite B
Puyallup, WA 98371

According to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Comumission (Commission) records,
you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires
household goods carriers to file anmmual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You
did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May I, 2013,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) §1.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinet offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuarce is a separate and distinct violation.
The Conunission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-480 beyond May I as a continuing
violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its
regulatory fees after that date,

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $50 on the following basis:

On March 1, 2013, the Conunission mailed 2012 annual report forms and 2013
regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers registered in Washington
state. A letter from the Conunission’s Acting Executive Director Steven V., King
instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by

May I, 2013. The letter stated that failure to file the annual repoit by May 1
would result in penalties, and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to
operate in Washington. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your
annual report was April 24, You did not request an extension.

On May 10, the Conmmission issued a notice to companies that had not yet filed
their annual report or paid regulatory fees, informing these companies that they
were subject to enforcement action, including penalties that began accruing on
May 2. Companies that filed their annual reports and paid regulatory fees after
May I, but on or before May 24, 2013, are subject to penalties that the
Commission uses its discretion to mitigate to $25 per day if the company had not
filed late in prior years. Companies that were late in prior years are subject to an
additional $25 per day for each year they were late, up to a total of $100 per day.



UTC Annual Reports
September 3, 2013
Page 4

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130963 PAGE2

For first-time late filers who filed their report after May 24, the Commission will
nitigate the penalties to 50 percent of the maximum amount. No further mitigation
will be granted untess the company provides new information that is unrelated to
these factors. Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a company was
unaware that a report must be filed.

On May 3, 2013, APEX MOVERS, LLC, filed its 2012 annual repost and paid
its 2013 regulatory fee. That date is two business days from May 1, when
penalties began to accrue, resulting in a potential penalty assessment of $200.
APEX MOVERS, LLC, has not previously missed the deadline for filing its
annual report and paying its regulatory fees, The Commission, therefore,
exercises its discretion to mitigate the penalty to $25 per day, resulting in a total
penalty of $50.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment, If there is a reason for the violation that you believe
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, buf you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Conunission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an infonmal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 davs affer receiving this notice to do one of the following:

* Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
¢ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commissiont, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice,

If you do not act within 15 days, the Conunission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 6, 2013.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130963

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ] % Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:
[ ]Enclosed $50 in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my payment of $50 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number
is .

[ 12 Requestfora hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

[ ] a) Iaskforahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR [ ] b) Iwaivea hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
presented directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSIORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130963

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission .
within 13 days after you receive the penalty assessment, tUse additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A,72.020 (printed below), which states that making falsc
statements under oath is a class B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
matters set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters, 1 hereby make, under
path, the following statements,

[ 1L Payment of penalty, | admit that the violations occurred. | have:

[} Enclosed $30 in payment of the penalty

s - ?_.”3
IP
[ 12 Request fora hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged \fmhlmns dtd nots
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which i$ a procads
that allows an affected person to present argument o an administrative law judge @r a -
decision by an administrative law judge:

B H

|
L

[/{ 3. Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but 1 believe that the penalty should )
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. £«u¢f) N PRy L M o G URE Wit I
F oisr el
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information presented above, W7 LiNDA @ UTC SheE s JU T CIA Wb

OR [v] b) Iwaivea hearing and ask for an administrative dccmon on the information 1 THE Yerc.
presented directly above. IF WE WEFE fVArE WE HAV & MADE GUIE 70 SEND
OUT FHHUER
I declare under penally of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information T have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.
Dated; 3 / 7. / 3 _ {month/day/year}, at L/U A
Aper (overs, (Lo Dol Stinge

Name of Respondent {company) — please print

£ A
Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2} Knowledpe of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. €3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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ATTACHMENT C

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 8. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W,, P.O, Box 47250 * Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1760 » TTY {(360) 586-8203

February 28, 2013

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2012 Annual Report and 2013 Regn'lﬁtorry f‘ees ére Duc Mﬁy 1

State law requires you to file an annual repost and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (commission}. :

What is vequired of you?
By May 1, you must: .
« Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2012 annual

= Pay your 2013 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual repott and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the commission will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after
May 1 that the report is not filed and/or the fees are unpaid. You may seek mitigation of the
penalties in response to the assessment you receive afler you have filed a completed annual
report and paid your regulatory fees. Any potential mitigation of the penalty, if any, will
depend on the reason it is late and whether you have filed late in prior years. Staff may also
initiate proceedings to request the commission revoke your authority to operate in
Washington.

‘What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 1?7
If the commission does not receive your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur
a 2 percent penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the onpaid
balance. These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business
day after May 1 that the fees ave unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report; however,
the conunission will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request
must be filed with the commission by April 24, 2013, and must state a valid reason for why you

T feport foim T T oo
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 28, 2013
Page 2

need an extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual
report. The commission will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied.
Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penaliies and interest payments if
you fail to pay your regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the canceilation forms available on
the commission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov; however, if your company operated in
Washington at any time during the 2012 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and
file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2012 even if you
cancel your registration or permit,

May you designate any information in yowr annual report as confidential?

. Only if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your compauy is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications, or
water company, Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not
request confidential treatinent of documents because the authority for such treatment is
found only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files its annual 1ep01t or fee sheet as

- -—confidential; the commission will not treat it as confidential.- N -

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule on the commission website, www.utc.wa.gov/annualreports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The commission will not,
however, disclose oredit card information you list on the fee sheet.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the
commission website www.utc.wa.gov/annualreports..
* Obfain electronic versions of annval report forms;
* Pay regulatory fees;

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

The commission must receive your annual repost form and regulatory fee payment on or
before May 1, without regard to when you mail them. The commission will no longer
consider this filing to be timely if it is postmarked on that date. If you mail the completed
form and payment, therefore, you must do so sufficiently in advance for them to be
delivered to the commission on or before May 1. Forins and payment the commission



UTC Annual Reports
September 3, 2013
Page 9
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receives after that date will be considered late and subject to the penalties described in this
notice without regard to when you mailed them.

Is there any additional information you should file? .
¢ Ifyou are a gas distribution company, please remember to also file both a paper and
electronic copy of your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
¢ If'you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.
» If'youare aclass I Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transpottation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington.

If you have questions about any aspect of your teport or tegulatory fee, please contact the
following staff:

Rae Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or rcarnes@utc, wa,gov

Kim Anderson at (360) 664-1253 or kanderso@ute.wa.gov

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call (360) 664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289.

Simcetely, ..
Ay — [’//‘“""“.‘)‘
Steven V, King

Acting Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures
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ATTACHMENT D

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 s Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o TTY (360) 586-8203
May 10, 2013
NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION

Attention!

Your 2012 annual report and/or regulatory fees to the Utilities and Transportation Conunission
were due May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on

May 2. As of the date of this letter, you have accrued a penalty of $700. That penalty will
increase by $100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what vou can do to mitigate vour penalty.

If the conunission receives your report postmarked no later than May 24, commission staff will
mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for each
year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the comuission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov. If you have
quesftions or require additional information, please contact Kali Wraspir, Consuner Program
Assistant, at (360) 664-1214 or kwraspir@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretary



