STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ www.uic.wa.gov

September 3, 2013

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Skamania County Sanitary
Service, Inc.

Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TG-130879

Dear Mr. King:

On Aug. 5, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $25 Penalty Assessment
in Docket TG-130879 against Skamania County Sanitary Service, Inc. for one violation of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-70-071, which requires solid waste companies to
furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.'

On August 16, 2013, Skamania County Sanitary Service, Inc. wrote the commission requesting
mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Skamania County
Sanitary Service, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred. * The company states, “we
have always mailed out the annual reports postmarked with May 1* and have never been issued a
penalty.” The company enclosed a copy of their certified mail receipt, dated April 30, 2013.

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee
packets were mailed to all regulated solid waste companies.” The cover letter informed the

' See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on Aug. 5, 2013

* See attachment B for a copy of Skamania County Sanitary Service’s Mitigation Request received by the
commission on Aug. 16, 2013.

¥ See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies dated Feb. 28, 2013
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regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and
return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action.

On May 10, 2013, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an
annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700." The letter went
on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would
receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be
assessed for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for
filing a late report, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Skamania County Sanitary Service, Inc. filed its annual report on May 2, 2013, which is one
business day past the deadline of May 1, 2013. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to
$25 per day, for a total of $25. Because the company has not presented any new or compelling
information, staff does not support farther mitigation.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lauren McCloy,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1108, or Imecloy@ute.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

g%fdo}éﬂzﬁ e

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

* See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCUREED AND DUE
FORVIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENATTY ASSESSMENT: TG-13087%
PENALTY AMIOUNT: §25

Skamama County Samtary Service, Tnc.
P.0.Box 6
Bmgen, WA 98603

Accordmng to Hie Washinpton Utihties and Transportafion Commussion (Commission) records,
you have violated Washmoton Adnunistrative Code (WAC) 480-70-017, which requires solid
waste companies fo file annual reports and pay regulatory fees each vesr by May 1. You did not
file ans annmal report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2013,

Revised Code of Weashington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalfies of
$100 for violstions of Conmaission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinet offense and, in
the case of a contmurmyg violation, every day’s continuance 15 a separate and distinet vinlabion.
The Conundssion mterprets noncomphiance with WAC 430-70-017 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day 2 company fails to file ifs report
or pay its regulatory fees afier that date.

As aresulf, fhe Commussion hereby notifies you that ot has assessed penalires against you in the
amount of $25 on the foflowing basis:

O March ¥, 2013, the Conumntssion mailed 2017 sumwal report forms and 2013
regulatory fee packets fo all solid waste companies repisiered i Washington siate.
A lefer from the Comwmission’s Acting Execuniive Director Steven V. King
msiructed these compandes to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May
i, 2013 The letter stated that fattare to file the annoal report by May 1 would
result @ penalties. The deadhne for requesting an extension to file your annnal
report was April 24, You dud not request an exfension.

On May 10, the Commission issued & rotice o companies that had not yet filed
therr armnal report or pad reguiatory fees, informing these companies that they
were subject to enforcement action, melndmg penalbies that began sconung o
May 2. Compardes that Bled et anvwal reports and paid regulatory fees after
May 1, bat op or betore May 24, 2013, are subject fo penalties that the
Commission uses #s diseretion to mitigate fo $25 per day if the company had not
filed lote m prior vears. Compantes that were Iafe i prioy years are subject to an
additional $25 per day for each year they were late, up fo 3 total of 5100 par day.
For firsi-hime late fisrs whe filed thewr report after May 24, the Commission will
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PEMATTY ASRSESSMEFNT TC-136879 PAGE 2

putigate the penaities to 50 percent of the maximum amount. No forther

- rmitizston will be granted wnless the company provides new mdormation that s
unrelated to these factors. Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that 4
company was unaware Thal a report menst be flad.

Cm May 2, 2613, Skamania Connty Sanstary Serviee, Inc., filed its 2012 anaual
report and pand #s 2013 repulatory fee. That date 1s one business day from May 1,
when penaliies began fo accrue, resulting in a pofential penalty assessment of
5100, Skamania County Sautary Service, Inc., Bas not previousty missed the
deadiine for filing 1ts annual regmrt and paying ﬁi repulatory fees. The
Commusson, theremre exercises its discrefion to mutigate the penaliy to $25 per
day, resulting in 2 toial penatty of 825

Your penalty 13 due and payabie now. If you believe the violation did not oceur, yom may request
a hesring to condest the penalty assessment. I there 15 a reason for the violation that you believe
should sxcuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation {reducticn] of thus penalty. See
ROW 81.04.405.

You have the right 1o present vour guest v review or mm%iwa at a hearing, bui vou are not
reguired to do so. X yon do, the Commussion will review the evxdem:e supporig vour reguest in
an mfvrmal heartng, cafled 2 Brief Adjudicative Procseding, before an administeative law mdpe.
The adnunisivative law judge will consider your ples and notify you of las or her decision.

Youo must act within 15 davs affer receiving this potice to do one of the following:

*  Poyihe amowmnt dus.
& - Request a hearmy to confest the occursence of the violations.
» Request anhigation to confest the amonnt of fhe penalty.

Plesss mdicate your sslechion on fhe enclogsed form and send 1t to the Washington Ulilihes and
Transportation Commussion, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 93504-725G, within
FIFTEEN (15) days afier you recerve this nofice. '

¥f vou do nof act within 15 days, the Canumission may nefer this matéer to the Office of fire
Attorney General for collection. The Commission will fien sue you to coilect the penalty.

DA—LTED at Olyoepia, Washington, pnd effective Angust §, 2013,

GREGORY § XKOPTA
Admanisirative Law Fodge
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ATTACHMENT B
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TU-130874

PLEASE NOTE: You pmst compiete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 davs affer you receive the penalty assessment. Use additionsl paper it needad

I bave read and wnderstand RCW 94, 72,020 (printed below), which states that making false
stalements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent 1o tesitly to the

matlers set forth below and T have personal knowledge of those matrers, | hereby make, mder
ogth, the fellowing statements,

‘,::3

2k
Payment of penalty. ] admit that the violations occurred. | have; -

F..H

1L

[ 1Eoclosed $25 in payment of the penalty _ :

{ ] Submitted my payment of $25 online ar www g wa.gov, My confirmation nunter
is .

E_E;
Request {or a kearing. | bolieve thal one or more of the alieped violations did not
geewr, based on the f‘mimmna iformanion, and regoest s heartng, which is a process

that aliows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge fora
decision by an administrative law jodge:

P13

[ Applmatmn for mitigation, | admit the violatons, b ) behevﬂ that the penalty showld
be redueed for the reason(s) set out %:selow e

s f z.mu.g% Mditd o
P dnuad repords post naiide uifiek LS mf
Mol Pver bees i3 lid a penalby, fgmuw il 1 Ha
¥ @uu.

I 1a) Taskforahearing for 3 decision by an adnnmstranveh%jﬂd% baged on the
information presented above.

OR  [vI'b) 1waive a hearing and ask for an adminicragve decizgion on the information T
presented directly above. '

I declars under penalty of perjury under the laws of the Siate of Washington that the foregring,
including information T have presented on any attachments, i3 true and correct

Dﬁted:p} '!'Lﬁ"‘} 5 [menth/dayivear], at (’[Li'":“,ﬁ} L—Ug‘ﬁ‘}

sepmdnia 0 Sandeu Sud (ne
Name of Respondent {companiy)

[otey, statel

"x;ﬁurdg gt b

Signature o Apnlicant

- pleass print

RCW 9A 72.020;

FPerjury in the fret degree. (1) A person is guilty of periwy In the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false stxternent which he knows 1o be false under an cath
reguired or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materizlity of the statement is not an
element of this orime, and the aclor’s mistaken belisf that his st=iement wes not materisl s not a
defense o & prosecuton under this section. (3% Periury in the St deaves is a class B felony
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ATTACHMENT C

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1360 5. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W, PO. Box 47250 » Ofympia, Washington 98504-7250
(3600 664-176Q « TTY (360} 586-8203

February 28, 2013

Dear Regulated Company:

Reference: Yeur 2012 Annual Report and 2013 Regulatory 'ﬁr‘eés”ére DueMay 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Waghington Utilities
and Transportation Cormmission (commission).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must: -
= Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2012 anrual
e RRBOLLEE e e - R
e Pay vour 2013 regulatory fees ‘ '

What happens if yoa do ot file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the reguiatory fees by
May 1, the commission will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after
May 1 that the report is not filed and/or the fees are unpaid. You may seek mitigation of the
penalties in response to the assessment you receive after you have filed a completed annual
report and paid your regulatory fees. Any potential mitigation of the penalty, if any, will
depend on the reason it is late and whether you have filed late in prior years. Staff may also
initiate procesdings to request the commission revoke your authority to operaie in
Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 1?
If the commission does not Teceive yoar company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur
a 2 percent penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid
balance. These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business
day after May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an exfension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your compieted annual report; however,
the commission will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request
must be filed with the commission by April 24, 2013, and must state a valid reason for why you
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YTC Aanual Reparts and Fees
February 28, 2013
Page 2 .

need an extension and identify a specific date by which you wilt file your completed annual
report. The cornmission will notify vou by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied..
Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and fterest payments if

vou fail to pay your regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is 1o lenger operating in Washingtokn?
You may cancel your 1egisnation or pem:lit by using the Lanceﬂation forms 'availabie on
Washington at any time during ’&:65512 calencial year, you must pay wgulatmy tees and
file a clesing annual report based on the months of operation during 2012 even if you
cancel your registration or permit,

May you designate any infermation in your annual report as confidential?
- Oaly if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operaie an electrie, natural gag, telecommunications, or
water company. Transportation companies, reglated under Title §1 RCW, may not
request confidential treatiment of documents because the authovity for such treatment is
found only in RCW 80.04.093, If a Tiile 81 company files its annual Iepor’t or fee sheet as

—confidentfal, the commission will not treat it as confidential. - -

(2 You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-1 60. You
miay find this rule on the commission website, www.ute.wa,gov/annualreports. .

Please note: The reguiatory fee sheet portion of your report 1s not a confidential document
and will net be accorded confidential freatment under the rule. The commission will not,
however, disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet.

Mfiy you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual 1ep0ri.s page at the
commission website www,utc.wa.gov/annualreports..
' s Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms;
+ Pay regulatory fees;

Where do yon mail the completed annnal report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transpor tation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

The comeission must receive your ammual report form and regulatory fee payment on or
before May 1, without regard to when you mail then1. The commission will no fonger
congider this filing to be timely if it is postmarked on that date. I you mail the completed
form and payment, therefore, you must do so sufficiently in advance for them to bhe
delivered to the commission on or before May 1. Forms and payment the commission
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
Febroary 28, 2013
Page 3

receives after that date will be considered late and subject to the penalties described in this
notice without regard to when you mailed them.

Is there any additional infermation you should file? .
¢ Ifyouare a gas distribution company, please remember to afso file both a paper and
electronic copy of your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
e Ifyou are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electrenic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.
e [fyou are a class 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington,

If yeu have questions about any aspect of your repoit or regulatary fee, pledse coritact the
foliowing staff'

Rae Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or rearnes@ute. wa gov

Kim Anderson at (360) 564-1253 or kanderso@ute.wa.gov

If you need this letter or an annmual report form in an alternate format, please call (360) 664-1243, The
TTY Toll-Free phone rumber is 1-§00-416-5289, ‘

Sincerely,

o [P feen
Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director atid Secretary

Enclosures
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ATTACHMENT D

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIEDS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
300 5. Evergreen Fark Dv. 8.0, PO, Box 47250 » Olympiz, Wasidngton $8504-7250
[5G} 684-1130 = T7 Y {380) 588-8203
Mmy 10, 2013
NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION
Adtention!

Your 2012 anvyal report and/or regulatory fees fo the THilities snvd Transportation Cormmission
were due May 1, ag required by law, Flnancial penalties of $100 per dity began aceruing on
Miax 2. As of the date of tus lettey, vou have accrued a penalty of $700. That penaliy wiil
increase by $10¢ per day for each subsequent day you fafl to comply.

This letter tells von what vou can de to mitigate your penaity,

If the commission recefves vour report postmarked o later than May 24, commission staff will
mitigate vour penalty to $25 per dav. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for each
verr vou bave filed late in the past five years, up to a maxmns of $190 per dav.

Armwal veport formns re available on e comenission’s website af wwrwnie wa. gov. If you have
questions or require additiona! information, please contaet Kali Wraspir, Consumer Program
Assistant, at [360) 664-1214 er kwraspinf@nte wa.gov.

Sincersiy,

Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director anid Seeretary



