STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e www.utc.wa.gov

September 3, 2013

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. William D. Hearn. d/b/a Bingen
Garbage Service

Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TG-130873

Dear Mr. King:

On Aug. 5, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $25 Penalty Assessment
in Docket TG-130873 against William D. Hearn d/b/a Bingen Garbage Service (Bingen Garbage
Servie) for one violation of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-70-071, which
requires sc;lid waste companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1
each year.

On August 16, 2013, Bingen Garbage Service wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). In 1ts Mitigation Request, B1ngen Garbage Service does not
dispute that the violation occurred. ? The company states, “we have always mailed our annual
report post marked May 1st and have never been issued a penalty.” The company enclosed a
copy of their certified mail receipt, dated April 30, 2013.

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee

! See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on Aug, 5, 2013
* See attachment B for a copy of Bingen Garbage Serv1ce s Mitigation Request received by the commission on Aug.
16, 2013.
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packets were mailed to all regulated solid waste companies.” The cover letter informed the
regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and
return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action.

On May 10, 2013, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an
annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700." The letter went
on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would
receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be
assessed for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for
filing a late report, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Bingen Garbage Service filed its annual report on May 2, 2013, which is one business day past
the deadline of May 1, 2013. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day, for a
total of $25. Because the company has not presented any new or compelling information, staff
does not support further mitigation.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lauren McCloy,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1108, or Imccloy(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Snderesel)

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
‘Consumer Protection and Communications

? See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies dated Feb. 28, 2013
* See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED ANLD DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: T(G-130873
PENALTY AMOUNT: $23

Hearn, William D.
d/b/a Bingen Garbage Serviee
PO Box b

Bingen, WA 98605

According to fie Washington Utitities and Transportation Commussion {Commnission) records,
you have violated Washington Admunistrative Code (WAC) 480-70-017, which requires solid
waste compames to file annual reports end pay regolatory fees each vear by May §. You did not
file an anemat report or pay regulatory fees by May §, 2013,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 asthorizes the Comumission 1 zssess penalties of
$100 for viotafions of Conmmission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinet offense and_ m
the cage of a contiming violation, svery day’s confinuance is & separate and distinet wolation.
The Conmssion mterprets noncomphiance with WAC 480-70-017 bevond May lasa
comtinning violation, and assesses penafties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
or pay 1ts regulatory fees affer that date. '

As aresult, the Commnyssion hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalfies agamst vou in the
amonnt of $25 on the followmg basis:

Qg March 1, 2013, the Conumission matled 2612 annual report forms and 2013
regulatory fee packets fo all sohd waste companies regzstered 1n Washangton state.
A lstter from the Commussion’s Acting Execufive Director Steven V. Kimng,
mstreted these companses fo file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May
1, 2013, The letter stated that fulure to e the annnal report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file vour annual
report was April 24, Yon did nof requesi an extension

O May 10, the Commuission issued a notice to compantes that had not yet filed
thetr annual report or pad regolatory fees, mformmug hese compares thaf they
were subject to enforcement action, ncluding penalives that began accruing on
May 2. Companzes that filed their amal reports and paid reguolatory fees afier
May 1, but on or before May 24 2013, are subyect fo penalbies that the
Comuission uses is discretion to nyitipate to $25 per day if the company had not
filed late in prior years. Compantes that were late m prior vears are subject foan
additional $25 per day for each vear they were late, up fo 2 tofal of 3100 per day.
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-159873 BAGE 2

For first-time late filers who filed thetr report affer May 24, the Compassion wiil
mifigate the penaliies fo 56 percent of the maximum smouss. No frther
mitigation will be granted unless the company provides new mformation fhat is
uorelated to these factors. Mitigation Wil not be granted on the basis that =
company was unsware fhat a report nazst be filed.

On May 2, 2013, Bingen Garbage Service filed its 2012 ansmal report and paid its
2013 regulatory fee. That date is one business day from May 1, when penaliies
becan to accrue, resulting i & potential penally assessment of $100. Bingen
Garbage Service has not previousty missed the desdline for #ling i anmmal report
and paying its repulalory fees. The Commissicn, therefore, exercises its
discretzon to mitigate the peualty to $25 per day, resuliing in 2 fotal penafiy of
325

Your penaliy is due and payable now. I you belisve the viclation did nof occnr, you may request
a hegring to coniest the penalty assessment. If there 1S 2 reason for the viclation that you believe
should excuse you from the penalty, vou may ask for matigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
BOW 83104405, '

You have the rpht to present your request for review or msigation at a beansng, but vou are not
required 1o do so. I vou do, the Commnission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an inforntel bearing, called a Brief Adjndicative Proceeding, before an admimistrative law judge.
The admmistratrve law jadge will consider your plea and notify you of lus or her decision.

You must act within 15 days aftey receiving this notice to do one of the following:

o Py the amonnt dus
+ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the vioistions
» Reguest mifigation fo contest the amouwy of the penalty,
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send i fo the Waslington Utihifies and
Transporfation Congnission, Post Gffice Box 47250, Olympin, Washsngton 38504-7250, within
. FIFTEEN (15) days after you recerve this notwee.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commmmission may refer this matter to the Offics of the
Attorney Geperal for collection. The Commussion wiH then sus you to collect the panaliy.

DATED at Otympia, Washington, aod effective Aogust 5. 2013,

GREGORY 1. EOPTA
Aduunisirative Law Judee



UTC Annual Reports
September 3, 2013

Page 5

ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-130873

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this docurnent, and send it t0:the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. {se additional paper if needed.

[ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed helow), which states that making faise
statemnents under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent fo testify. to the
matiers set forth below and T have personat knowledge of those matters, [ hereby make, under
oath, the following statements,
[ 11 Payment of penalty. 1 admit that the violations cccurred, ] have:

[ ]E=nclosed 525 in payment of the penalty

[ }Submitted my payment of $25 online at www.ute. wa.zov. My confirmation nuxgbr:r
is . 2

anvel

{ } 2. Request for a bearing.I believe that one or more of the aileged violatidns. dld note
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process.
that allows an affécted person to present argument to an administrative law _‘jlldUE f@; a
decision by an administrative faw judge:

i T 3. Application for mitigation. Iadmﬂ the vioiations, but I believe that the pensity should
be reduced for the reason(s} set out below. u/a iq(l!/ 0 aj L &q 5 mg_ . U{]‘
our anuad reports post g ieed  mpd {
M VE Nswbis been 135 Wd A pu;t;@y By CIOSPC’ s a (tpy
Ha Regipt,
{ 1 &) Task for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based or the
information presented abeve,
OR f\/{ b} I waive 2 hearing and ask for an sdministrative decision on the informaticn ¥
presented directly above,

1 declare under penalty of perjuryunder the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct,

Dated: & 1t~ |5 {month/day/vear], at(_dj'ﬁ{ﬂﬂ _ L{/f""}j | feity, state]
Yo Ouusbaas Sepae %uz/z.’x Hoi it
Name of Respondent (compefny) — please print . Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Ferjury in the first degree. {1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be faise under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this erime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his staiement was not material is not a
defense (o a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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. ATTACHMENT C

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1560 5, Evergreen Park D S.W., RO. Box 47250 « Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
£360) 664-1750 = TTY (364} 586-8203

February 28, 2013

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2012 Annual Report and 2013 Regu}a‘mﬁ Fe;eé ai’é DueMay 1. -

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the ‘Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission {commissiomn).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you musi: .
¢ Complete and file one paper copy o electronic version of the enclosed 2012 anmmal
= Pay vour 2013 regulatory fees

‘What happens if you do not file 2 completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do net file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the commission will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after
May 1 that the repost is not filed and/or the fees are unpaid. You may seck mitigagion of the
penalties in response to the assessiment you receive after you have filed a completed annual
report and paid your regulatory fees. Any potential mitigation of the penalty, if any, will
depend on the reason it is late and whether you have filed late in prior years. Staff may also
initiate procesdings to request the cominission revoke your authority to operate n
Washington. ’

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 1?
I£ the commission does nof receive your company’s regulatory fess by May 1, you will incur
a2 percent penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the umpaid
balance. These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per buginess
day after May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annuad report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report; however,
the cominission will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request
st be filed with the commission by April 24, 2013, and must state a valid veason for why you
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 2§, 2013
Page 2

need an extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual
report. The commission will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied.
Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and inderest payments it
you fail to pay your regulatory fees by May 1.

What should yeu do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
the conunission’s website at www,.0tc, wa.gov; however, if your company operated in
Washington at any time during the 2012 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and
file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2012 even if you
cancei yourre glstratlon or permit, ' :

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
) Only if vou satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecomnmnications, or
water company. Transportation compardes, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not
request confidential freatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is

found only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files its anmual 1ap01t or fee sheet as

- confidential, the commission-will-pet-irsat it-as confidential. -

{2) You must follow the steps far filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule on the commission website, www.uic.wa.gov/anmualreports.

Please note: The regulaiory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The commission will not,
however, disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Wes. You may cormapiete the following tasks from the annuel reports page at the
commissicn webaite www,utc.wa. gov/anmualreports.
= Obtain clectronic versions of annnal report forms;
+ Pay regulatory fess;

Where do you mail the completed annual repert form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

The commission must receive your amual report form and regulatory fee payment on or
before May 1, without regard to when you mail them. The commission wili no longer
consider this filing to be timely if it is postmarked on that date. [f you mail the compleied
form and payment, therefore, you must de so sufficiently in advance for them to be
deliverad to the commission on or before May 1. Formg and payment the commission
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees

Febroary 28, 2613
Page 3

receives after that date will be considered late and subject to the penalties described in this
notice without regard to when you mailed them.

Is there any additional information you should file?
¢ Ifyouare a gas distibution company, please rerember to also file both a paper and
electronic copy of your Federal Energy Regulalory Conmmission Form 2.
» If'you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.
e If'youarea class I Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington.

If you have questiong about any aspect of your repoit or regulatory fee, please contact the
following staff:

Rae Lynn Cames at (360} 664-1132 or rearnes@uic, wa.oov

Kim Andesson at (360) 564-1253 or kanderso@niie. wa, pov

1f you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call (360} 664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone numbm 18 1-800-416-5289.

Simcerely,

- ?f‘.:__w.e f;/) f‘—-‘
Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures




UTC Annﬁal Reports
September 3, 2013

Page 10

ATTACHMENT D

BTATE OF WASKINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
13380 3. Evergress Park O, 5.5, PO Box 47254 » Qfympdfe, Washingion $E504-7150
(35G] BB4-THE0 & TTY {350} 5288203
Mgy 10, 2013
NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION

Aftention!

Your 2012 aonual report end/or regudatory fees o the Uillities ard Transportaiion Commission
were doe May 1, as reguired by law, Financial penalties of $160 per day began accruing on
May 2. Ax of the date of this letter, vou kave acorued a penalty of $700. 'That penalty will

inereaze by $100 per day for each subseguent day you fail to conmiy.

This letfer tells vou what vou can do to mitigate vour penaity.

Tf the commission recelbves your report postmarked no later than May 24, commission staff will
mitigate your pepalty to $23 per dav. Additional penaities of $23 per day will be added for sach
yagr you have filed late in the past five years, up fo g maximum of $100 per day,

Ayl report forms are available on the conmnission’s websiie al wwwiate wa gov, ¥ you have
questicas or reqaire additional information, please contact Kali Wiasyir, Conswmer Program
Agzistant, af (3607 6564-1214 or Kwraspind@adc. wa. gov,

Sincerely.

Steven V. King
Acting Fxacutive Director and Secretary



