STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o www.utc.wa.gov

September 13, 2013

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Inmate Communications
Corporation

Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UT-130816

Dear Mr. King:

On Aug. 1, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $700 Penalty Assessment
in Docket UT-130816 against Inmate Communications Corporation for 14 violations of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires telecommunications
companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.'

On Sept. 9, 2013, Inmate Communications Corporation wrote the commission requesting
mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Inmate Communications
Corporation does not dispute that the violation occurred. % The company states, “We are a very
small company and have lost administrative staff this year. We made a good faith effort and did
file — not trying to avoid regulation requirements. Our WA business is very limited and the
penalty is significant for us. Please mitigate the penalty.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee

! See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on Aug. 1, 2013
? See attachment B for a copy of Inmate Communications Corporation’s Mitigation Request received by the
commission on Sept. 9, 2013.
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packets were mailed to all regulated telecommunications companies.” The cover letter informed
the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and
return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action.

On May 10, 2013, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an
annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700.* The letter went
on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would
receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be
assessed for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for
filing a late report, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Inmate Communications Corporation filed its annual report on May 21, 2013. That date is 14
business days from May 1, when penalties began to accrue, resulting in a potential penalty
assessment of $1,400. The company’s filings were also delinquent in 2012, which increased its
penalty by $25 per day for each past delinquency. The Commission, therefore, exercised its
discretion to mitigate the penalty to $50 per day, resulting in a total penalty of $700. According
to Commission records, a representative for the company signed a certified mail card delivered
with the penalty assessment letter on Aug. 8, 2013. The company was required to submit a
Mitigation Request within 15 days of receiving the penalty assessment. Because the company
has not presented any new or compelling information, and because it submitted its Mitigation
Request after the deadline, staff does not support further mitigation.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lauren McCloy,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1108, or Imccloy@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

%{/ﬁﬁmf/

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

* See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies dated Feb. 28, 2013
* See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-130816
PENALTY AMOUNT: $700

Inmate Communications Corporation
31127 Via Colinas
Westlake Village, CA 91362

According to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Conunission) records,
you have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
telecommunications companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May
1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2013.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commuission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-120-382 beyond May 1 as a
contmuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As aresult, the Commission hereby nofifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $700 on the following basis:

On March 1, 2013, the Commission mailed 2012 annual report forms and 2013
regulatory fee packets to all telecommunications companies registered mn
Washington state. A letter from the Commission’s Acting Executive Director
Steven V. King instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay
regulatory fees by May 1, 2013. The letter stated that failure to file the annual
report by May 1 would result in penalties, and possible cancellation of the
company’s authority to operate in Washington. The deadline for requesting an
extension to file your annual report was April 24. You did not request an
extension.

‘On May 10, the Commission issued a notice to companies that had not yet filed
their annual report or paid regulatory fees, informing these companies that they
were subject to enforcement action, including penalties that began accruing on
May 2. Companies that filed their annual reports and paid regulatory fees after
May 1, but on or before May 24, 2013 are subject fo penalties that the
Commission uses its discretion to mitigate to $25 per day if the company had not
filed late in prior years. Companies that were late in prior years are subject to an
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additional $25 per day for each year they were late, up to a total of $100 per day.
For first-time late filers who filed their report after May 24, the Commission will
mitigate the penalties to 50 percent of the maximum amount. No further
mitigation will be granted unless the company provides new mformation that 1s
unrelated to these factors. Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a
company was unaware that a report must be filed.

On May 21, 2013, Inmate Communications Corporation filed its 2012 annual
report and paid its 2013 regulatory fee. That date 15 14 business days from May 1,
when penalties began to accrue, resulting in a potential penalty assessment of
$1.,400. Your filings were also delinquent in 2012, which increases your penalty
by $25 per day for each past delinquency. The Commission, therefore, exercises
its discretion to mitigate the penalty to $50 per day, resulting in a total penalty of
$700.

Your penalty 1s due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you believe
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 80.04.405.

You have the night to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

® Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
o Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send 1t to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Aftorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 1, 2013.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Admimstrative Law Judge
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ATTACHMENT B

WASIHING TN UTILITIES AND TRAMSPORFATION COMMISSTON
PIMALTY ASSERSMUNTUT-13H416
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ATTACHMENT C

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.,, P.O. Box 47250 * Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
{360) 664-1160 * TTY (360} 586-8203

February 28, 2013

Dear Regulated Company:

Reference: Your 2012 Annual Report and 2013 Regulatory F e.es éi‘e DueMay 1

State law requires you to file an apnual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (commission).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must: .
« Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2012 annual
- peport form e et e e 2 e
s Pay your 2013 regulatory fees

‘What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the comniission will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after
May 1 that the report is not filed and/or the fees are unpaid. You may seek mitigation of the
penalties in response to the assessment you receive after you have filed a completed annual
report and paid your regulatory fees. Any potential mitigation of the penalty, if any, will
depend on the reason it is late and whether you have filed late in prior years. Staff may also
initiate proceedings to request the commission revoke your authority to operate in
Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 1?
If the commission does not seceive your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur
a 2 percent penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid
balance. These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business
day after May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to fils your completed annual report; however,
the comimission will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request
must be filed with the commission by April 24, 2013, and must state a valid reasan for why you
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need zm extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual
report. The commission will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied.
Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if
you fail to pay your regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
the commission’s website at www.utc.wa.pov; however, if your company operated in
Washington at any time during the 2012 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and
file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2012 even if you
cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
. Only if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications, o
water company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not
request confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is
found only in RCW 80.04.093. If a Title 81 company files its annual 1eport or fee sheet as

- confidential, the commission will not ireat it as confidential, - - =

(2} You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480~07—160.I You
may find this rule on the commission website, www.uic.wa.gov/annualreports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The commission will not,
however, disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the
cominission website www utc.wa.gov/annualreports.
¢ Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms;
+ Pay regulatory fees;

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment? -
Washington Utilities and Transpostation Commission
PO Box 47250 ’
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

The commission must receive your annual report form and regulatory fee payment on or
betore May 1, without regard to when you mail them. The commission will no longer
consider this filing to be timely if it is posimarked on that date. If you mail the completed
form and payment, therefore, you must do so sufficiently in advance for them to be
delivered to the commission on or before May 1. Forms and payment the commission



UTC Annual Reports
September 13, 2613

Page 8

UTC Annual Reports and Fees
Febroary 28, 2013

" Page3

receives after that date will be considered late and subject to the penalties described in this
notice without regard to when you mailed them,

Is there any additional information you should file? :
o Ifyou are a gas distribution company, please remember to also file both a paper and
electronic copy of your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
» If youare an ¢Jectric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.
¢ If youare a class | Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - inchuding statistics specific to the state of Washington.

If you have questions about any aspect of your report'or regulatory fee, please coritact the
following staff:

Rae Lynn Carnes at (360} 664-1152 or rcamest@ute, wa.gov

Kint Anderson at (360) 664-1253 or kandersofiuic. wa. zov

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call (360} 664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289. '

_ Sincerely,

/2:?__"‘_,_3 L f ""‘““‘>(
Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretaty

Enclosures
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ATTACHMENT D

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.,, P.O. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 » TTY (360) 586-8203
May 10, 2013
NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION
Aftention!

Your 2012 annual report and/or regulatory fees to the Utilities and Transportation Commission
were due May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on
May 2. As of the date of this letter. you have accrued a penalty of $700. That penalty will
increase by $100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells vou what vou can do to mifigate vour penalty.

If the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 24, commission staff will
mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for each
year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov. If you have

questions or require addifional information. please contact Kali Wraspir. Consumer Program
Assistant, at (360) 664-1214 or kwraspir{@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretary



