STATE OF WASHINGTON

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ www.utc.wa.gov

September 3, 2013

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Ethos Communications Group,
Inc.

Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UT-130808

Dear Mr. King:

On July 31, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,800 Penalty
Assessment in Docket UT-130808 against Ethos Communications Group, Inc. for 18 violations
of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires telecommunications
companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.'

On August 12, 2013, Ethos Communications Group, Inc. wrote the commission requesting
mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Ethos Communications
Group, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred. % The company states, “I am the sole
operator of Ethos Communications Group, Inc. and I was out of town working with a client when
the filing was due.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee
packets were mailed to all regulated telecommunications companies.” The cover letter informed

! See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on July 31, 2013 ‘
* See attachment B for a copy of Ethos Communications Group, Inc.’s Mitigation Request received by the
commission on Aug. 12, 2013. _

? See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies dated Feb. 28, 2013
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the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and
return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action.

On May 10, 2013, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an
annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700.% The letter went
on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would
receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be
assessed for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for
filing a late report, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Ethos Communications Group, Inc. filed its annual report on Aug. 1, 2013. That date is after
May 24, when penalties stopped aceruing, resulting in a penalty assessment of $1,800. Ethos
Communications Group, Inc. previously missed the deadline for filing its annual report and
paying its regulatory fees in 2010, and the penalty was sent to collections. The commission,
therefore, declined to exercise its discretion to grant any mitigation. Because the company has
not presented any new or compelling information, staff does not support mitigation.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lauren McCloy,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1108, or Imccloy@ute.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

g%dé@éﬁ/wa/

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communicaiions

* See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATIONC O@E-HSSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VICLATIONS OF LAWES AWND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-130808
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.800

thos Conmpmmncations Groap, Inc.
728 Cypress Ave.
Heemosa Beach, CA 807254

According o the Washington Thilihes and Transportation Coumrassion (Commrssion) records,
vou have violated Washinefon Adnunisirative Code (WAC) 480-120-387, which requires
telecommuntcations companies to file anmuel reports and pay regulatory fees each vear by May
1. You did not file an apuuad report o pay regudatory fees by May 1, 2013,

Revised Code of Washmeton (RCW) 80.04.405 snthorizes the Commission to assess pemalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Ezch violaton is a separate and distinet offense and, in
the case of & continuing vielation, every day’s conifmusnce is a separate and distinet violation.
The Comeaission interprets noncomphbiance with WAC 480-120-387 beyond Mav las a
coptminng viclation, and assesses penalfies of $106 for each day a company fails o fle ifs report
or pay s regulatory fees afier that date.

As a rasult, the Commssion hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalftes against you m the
amount of §1 800 on the follawing basis:

Om March 1, 2013, the Commission mailed 2012 ammual report forms and 2013
regulatory fee packets to all teleconmmuications cotepanses registered in
Washington state. A letter from the Comnnission’s Acting Execuirve Director
Steven V. King mstrocted these compantes to file annusl reports and pay
regulatory fees by May 1, 2013, The lefter stated that fashwre to fife the anmaat
report by Mav 1 would result w penalties, and possible cancelation of the
contpany’s authority to operals m Washingion. The deadline for reqoesting an
extension to file your annnal report was Apnl 24, You did not request an
extension ' '

On May 10, the Commission issued & nodice to companies that had not yet filed
their anmmal report or paid regulatory fees, mforming these companies that they
were subject to enforcement action, inchiding penalties that began accroing on
May 2. Companies thet fled their annual reporis and paid regulstory fees afler
May 1, but on or before May 24, 2013, are subject to penalfies thai the
Cormnission uses its discrefion to mitigate o 325 per day if the company had a0t
filed st m preor vears. Companzes thal were late m prior vears are sobiect fo an
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sdditional 325 per duy for each vear they were late, up fo 2 total of $100 per day,
For frrsi-time late filars who fled their report affer May 24, the Compsssion will
ttizate the penalties to 50 percent of the nwotinmm amount. No further
mitigation will be granted unless the company provides pew information fhat is
varelated to thess factors. Mitipation will 5ol be granted on the basis that 5
company was unawvare that a report ost be filed.

‘As of June 20, Ethos Commaunications Group, Inc. has ot filed #s 2012 annnal
repart of paad 5 2013 repulatory fee, resulting in a penalty of $100 per business
dey between May 1 and May 24, fiw g total penalty of $1.8300. Because Ethos
Comppications Growp, Inc. did not £ie Bs anmual report or pay ifs regulatory
fee, the Commussion declines fo exercise its discration to grant any nutigation.

Your penalty 15 doe and payable now. I you belisve the vinlstion did not occur, you may request
a hearing o contest the penalty assessment. H there is a reason for the violation that you believe
shonld excusa you from the penaliy, you may ask for mitigation {(reduction) of this penalty. See
ROW 30.04.405, '

You have the nght fo present your request for review or muitgation af a hearing, but you are not
requrred o do so. H vou do, #re Commmission will review the evidence supporting vour request in
an miformal besring, esiled a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an admmisivative law judes.
The admmistrative law judge w2l conssder vour plea and notify vou of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 davs after receiving this notice fo do one of the following:

Pay the amound due.

Request a hearing to confest the occorrence of the viclations,

Requoesi mmtigation 1o contest the ameent of the penalfy.
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to fis Washington Utihities and
Transportation Conumtssion, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 28504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days sfer you recerve Hius notice. '

I vou do nof act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matier to the Office of the
Affomey General for collechion. The Comevassion will then sne yoo to collect the panaliy.

DATED ai Olympia, Washmeton, and effective July 31, 2013,

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Adminisizative Law Fadge
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ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AXD TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Eobm b i ¥ % R,

PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-130808 AU}z fusd
PLEASE NOTE; You must complete and siga this documeni, and send it te the C Gmw
within 15 days afier you receive the permlty assessment. Use additional paper if needed! UL&7P COMM

! have read and understand RCW 9A 72,0240 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is 4 class B felony. [ wm over the sge of 18, am competent 1o testify to the

muatters set forth below and | have persomal knowdedge of those macters. [ hersby make, under
oath, the following statements.

{11 Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violations accurred. 1 have:
[ 1Enclosed 31,800 in paymenﬁ of the penaity

[ ]Subpsted my payment of $1,800 oniine st wwraruig, WRLGY, Ay confirmation
nunber is

pey
e
[

Request for 2 hearimg, I believe thet one or more of the alleged violations did not
ocewr, based on the foliowing information, and request a heering, which is 2 process
that aliows an affected persen o present argument to an administrutive jaw judge for a
decision by an adeyinistrative law judge:

L5%)

EXE . Application for mitigatien. | ademit the violatons, but [ belleve that the ?wg,_uy shmﬂd
be reduced for the reason(s) sef out below.

n-\

R AR

[ 12y 1askfor 2 hearing for a decision by an admimstraiive low judge based on ﬁ}e—
irdorrzation presented above.

OR [ 1B Iwaives hesring and ask for an admemistrative decision on the information [
' presented directiy above,

1 deglare nnder penaity of perjury umder the kews of the State of Washingion that the faregoing,
ineluding information | have presented on any sftachments, is true and corsect,

Dated: %} %’/ l3 [moenth/deyfvear], a8 Lsf:: iﬁ\Mc’;\fza C A [city, state]
(o?:@« Plevde. /—3 e

Name of Respondent (company} — please pring Sig < of Applicant

ROW 94,772,020

“Perjury in the first degree. {1} A person is guikty of periury tn the st degres if in any official
proceeding he makes 2 maseriafly false swement whick be knows to be false under an oaify
reguired or authorized by iaw, (3} Knowledge of the materialisy of the siatement is not an
clement of this orine, and the actor's mistzken behief that his staternen was not material s nat a
defense to g prosecution under this section, {3} Perjury i the first degree is 2 class B flony.?



UTC Annual Reports
September 3, 2013

Page 6

My apologles for the Les filing, 1 am the sole operator of Ethos Communications Groug, . and | was
out of town working with a cient when the filing was due. | admit the violations but respectiuily
request that the penalty be reduced. The business cannet sustalo 2 51800 perafly and the business ng
longar has customers Tn the state of Washington. Pleasze tet me know if the genalty can be reduced and
P will reply In 2 timely manner. For amy guesitions | tan be reached at 310-500-5574,

Thanks,
Josh Ploude

Ethes Conununications Groud, NG,
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ATTACHMENT C

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergreen Park Dr. $.W, R.O. Box 47250 + Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 = TTY {3607 586-8203

February 28, 2013

Dear Regulated Company.

Reference: Your 2012 Anumal Repm‘lt and 2013 Regulatory Fees are‘bl‘ll.e“ﬂgly 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (commission).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must: .
» Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2012 annual
- ’*’report fél'm e eeh eeimiot A ket e 1. 2118 L1801l et e % S e sam e 1 e RV o 5 S e | Sk me 8 18 e 1 e 1020 o 1 . e e e e
¢ Pay your 2013 regulatory fees '

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the commission will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after
May 1 that the report is not filed and/or the fees are unpaid. You may seek mitigation of the
penalties in response to the assessment you receive after you have filed a completed annual
report and paid your regulatory fees. Any potential mitigation of the penalty, if any, will
depend on the reason it is late and whether you have filed Jate in prior years. Staff may also
initiate proceedings to tequest the commission revoke your authority to operate in
Washingtor.,

What happens if you de not pay the reguiatory fees by May 1?
f the commission does not receive your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will ingur
a 2 percent penalty on the amount due and 2 1 percent monthiy interest charge on the unpaid
balance. These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business
day after May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report ¢r pay

your regulatory fees on time? :
You tay file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report; however,
the commission will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request
must be filed with the commission by April 24, 2013, and must state a vaiid reason for why you
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need an extension and identify a specific date by which yon will file your completed annual
reperct. The commission will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied.
Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if
you fail fo pay your regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
the commission’s website at www.utc, wa.gov; however, if yout company operated in
Washington at any time during the 2012 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and
file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2612 even If you
cancel your registration or permit,

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
. Only if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated mmder
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an eleciric, natural gas, telecormunications, or
wate: company. Trausportation companies, regulated under Title §1 RCW, may not
request confidenilal treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is

found only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files its annual wpmt or fee sheet ag

- confidential, the cominission will nottreat it-as confidential,..

(2) You must follovw the steps for filing corfidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
_may find this rule on the commission website, www.utc.wa. gov/annualreports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet postion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The cormmission will not,
however, disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the anmuzl reports page at the
comumission website www.itc.wa.gov/annualreports..
e Obtain electronic versions of annual 1ep0rt forms;
+ Pay regulatory fees;

Where do you mail the completed annmnal veport form and regulatery fee payment? -
Washington Utilities and Transpm tation Commission
PO Box 47250 .
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

The commission must recefve your annmual report form and regulatory fee pavment on or
bedore May 1, without regard to when you mail them. The commission will no longer
consider this filing fo be timely 1f it is postmarked on that date. Tfyou mail the completed
form and payment, therefore, you must do so sufficiently in advance for them to be
delivered to the commission on or before May 1. Forms and payment the commission
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees

Februaty 28, 2013
Page 3

receives after that date will be considered late and subject to the penalties described n this
notice without regard to when you mailed them.

Is there any additienal infermation you should file? .
¢ Ifyou are a gas distribuiion company, please remember to also file both a paper and
electronic copy of your Federal Energy Repulatory Commission Form 2.
» Ifyow are an electric company, please also file both a paper and elestronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.
¢ If you are a class { Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transpostation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washingion.

If you have questions about any aspect of your repoft or regulatory fe, please conmtact the

following staff:

Rae Lynn Carmes at (360} 664-1152 or rearnes@utc. wa.cov
Kim Andersen at (360) 664-1233 or kandersogiutc. wa.gov

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call {360) 664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289,

P 51_"; L/ ;"“’“—:D(
Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures
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ATTACHMENT D

STATE OF WASHINSTON
WASHINGTON UTHITIES AND TRANSFCRTATION COMMISSION

1399 5. Evergreen Favk Dn 5.9, P.O. Box 47250 » Dlympie, Washingion $8304-7150
£360} 884-1162 & TV (I60) 5563203

Tofay- 10, 2013
NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTHON
Afttention!
Your 2012 anmual report andfor regulatory fees to the THiltHey and Trausportation Comupyssion
were due May 1, as required by law. Financial penaities of $1.80 per day began aceryng on

May 2. As of the date of this Ieiter, vou have acamed a penalty of $700. That penalty will
increase by $1G0 per day for each subsequent day you fadl to congply.

This Ietier tells vom what ¥ou can do fo mitizaie vour penalty,

If the comunission receives your report postmarked no ater than May 24, cormnission staff will
mitigare your penaliy to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for each
year you have filed inte in the past five years, up to a maninsun of $100 pey day.

Annnal report forms are gvailable on the copunission’s website at wwrw pte.wa gov, If vou have
guestions or requive addifional information, please contact Kall Wraspir, Conswuner Program
Aszistant, at {3663 664-1214 or kwraspir@oic. wa. zov.

Stucersly,

Steven V. King
Acting Executiye Director and Secretary



