STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ® Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1760 ° TTY (360) 586-8203

April 18, 2013

Steven V. King, Acting Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Onstar Limousine, LLC
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TE-130475

Dear Mr. King:

On April 8, 2013, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) issued
Penalty Assessment TE-130475 against Onstar Limousine, LLC (Onstar Limousine) in the
amount of $1,000 for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221,
Vehicle and driver safety requirements, which requires passenger transportation companies to
comply with Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), including Part 395 — Hours of service
of drivers, and Part 396 — Inspection, repair and maintenance.

On April 17, 2013, Onstar Limousine filed with the commission its request for mitigation
(Mitigation Request). Onstar Limousine admitted the violations but asked that the penalty
amount be reduced.

The commission’s rules governing safety requirements for passenger transportation are clear and
unambiguous in seeking to ensure the health and safety of the traveling public through specific
limitations and requirements.

During compliance reviews, commission staff conducts an in-depth examination of a motor
carrier's compliance with regulations that the FMCSA has identified as “acute” or “critical.”
Onstar Limousine’s violations of Parts 395.8(a), 396.11(a) and.396.17(a) are considered critical
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violations.! Critical violations are generally indicative of breakdowns in a carrier's management
controls. Patterns of non-compliance with critical regulations are quantitatively linked to
inadequate safety management controls and usually higher than average accident rates.2

As the commission stated in the penalty assessment, ensuring that drivers are in the best physical
condition possible, including documenting that drivers have not worked longer than the legal
number of hours in a given time period, is key to preventing accidents. Failing to require drivers
to make records of duty status as required prevents the company from keeping track of total on-
duty hours for those drivers.

Onstar has received ample technical assistance about safety regulations since the commission
granted the company charter and excursion carrier authority in 2010. The violations relating to
driver vehicle inspection reports are repeat violations from the 2011 compliance review. At that
time, when asked to respond with a plan for correcting the violations related to driver vehicle
inspection reports, Mr. Tekle wrote, “Before starting out the driver must be satisfied that the
motor vehicle is in safe operating condition. If the last driver vehicle inspection report (DVIR)
notes any defects, the driver must review and sign to acknowledge that necessary repairs have
been completed.” The company knows that these requirements exist. :

Staff recommends the Mitigation Request be denied. The commission already mitigated the
penalty when it assessed only $1,000 in penalties instead of the $2,800 it could have assessed for
the 28 violations found in the compliance review. Commission staff does not object to the
commission establishing a payment plan for Onstar Limousine to repay the penalty amount.

If you have any questions, please contact Betty Young, Compliance Investigator, Transportation
Safety, at 360-664-1202, or by e-mail at byoung@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

om0

‘David Pratt
Assistant Director, Transportation Safety

Enclosures

1 Code of Federal Regulations, Appendix B to Part 385—Explanation of safety rating process, enclosed.
2 1d.

3 November 2011 letter from Mr. Tekle, enclosed.
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U.S. Department of Transporiation
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Admlnlstrohon

Regulations current to Apr 12, 2013
Pt. 385, App. B
Appendix B to Part 385—Explanation of Safety Rating Process

(a) Section 215 of the Motor Carrier Safety Act of 1984 (49 U.S.C. 31144) directed the Secretary of Transportation to
establish a procedure to determine the safety fitness of owners and operators of commercial motor vehicles operating in
interstate or foreign commerce. The Secretary, in turn, delegated this responsibility to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration (FMCSA). .

(b) As directed, FMCSA promulgated a safety fitness regulation, entitled “Safety Fitness Procedures,” which established a procedure to determine the
safety fitness of motor carriers through the assignment of safety ratings and established a “safety fitness standard” which a motor carrier must meet tc
obtain a satisfactory safety rating.

(c) Critical regulations are those identified as such where noncompliance relates to management and/or operational controls. These are indicative o
breakdowns in a carrier's management controls. An example of a critical regulation is §395.3()(1), requiring or permitting a property-carrying
commercial motor vehicle driver to drive more than 11 hours.

(d) The safety rating process developed by FMCSA is used to:

1. Evaluate safety fitness and assign one of three safely ratings ( satisfactory, conditional , or unsatisfactory ) to motor carricrs operating in interstate
commerce. This process conforms to 49 CFR 385.5, Safety fitness standard, and §385.7, Factors to be considered in determining a safety rating.

2. Identify motor carriers needing improvement in their compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) and applicable
Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMRs). These are carriers rated Unsatisfactory or Conditional.

(e) The hazardous materials safety permit requirements of part 385. subpart E apply to intrastate motor carriers. Intrastate motor carriers that are subjec
to the hazardous materials safely permit requirements in subpart E will be rated using equivalent State requirements whenever the FMCSRs ar¢
referenced in this appendix.

(f) The safety rating will be determined by applying the SFRM equally to all of a company's motor carrier operations in commerce, including i:
applicable its operations in Canada and/or Mexico.

1L Source of Data for Rating Methodology

(a) The FMCSA's rating process is built upon the operational tool known as the CR. This tool was developed to assist Federal and State safety specialist:
in gathering pertinent motor carrier compliance and accident information.

(b) The CR is an in-depth examination of a motor carrier's operations and is used (1) to rate unrated motor carriers, (2) to conduct a follow-ug
investigation on motor carricrs rated unsatisfactory or conditional as a result of a previous review, (3) to investigate complaints, or (4) in response to ¢
request by a motor carrier to reevaluate its safety rating. Documents such as those contained in driver qualification files, records of duty status, vehicle
maintenance records, and other records are thoroughly examined for compliance with the FMCSRs and HMRs. Violations are cited on the CR document
Performance-based information, when available, is utilized to evaluate the carrier's compliance with the vehicle regulations. Recordable acciden
information is also collected.

II. Converting CR Information Into a Safety Rating

(a) The FMCSA gathers information through an in-depth examination of the motor carrier's compliance with identified “acute” or “critical” regulations o!
the FMCSRs and HIMRs.

(b) Acute regulations are those identified as such where noncompliance is so severe as to require immediate corrective actions by a motor carriel
regardless of the overall safety posture of the motor carrier. An example of an acute regulation is §383.37(b), allowing, requiring, permitting, o1
authorizing an employee with more than one Commercial Driver's License (CDL) to operate a commercial motor vehicle. Noncompliance with § 38337
(b) is usually discovered when the motor carrier's driver qualification file reflects that the motor carrier had knowledge of a driver with more than one
CDL, and still permitted the driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle. If the motor carrier did not have such knowledge or could not reasonably be
expected to have such knoivledge, then a violation would not be cited.

(c) Critical regulations are those identified as such where noncompliance relates to management and/or operational controls. These are indicative o:
breakdowns in a carrier's management controls. An example of a critical regulation is § 393.3(a)(1), requiring or permitting a property-carrying
commercial motor vehicle driver to drive more than 11 hours.

(d) The list of the acute and critical regulations which are used in determining safety ratings is included at the end of this document.

(e) Noncompliance with acute regulations and pattems of non-compliance with critical regulations are quantitatively linked to inadequate safety
management controls and usually higher than average accident rates. The FMCSA has used noncompliance with acute regulations and patterns o:
noncompliance with critical regulations since 1989 to determine motor carriers' adherence to the Safety fitness standard in §385.5.

(f) The regulatory factors, evaluated on the basis of the adequacy of the carrier's safety management controls, are; (1) Parts 172 and 173; (2) Parts 387 anc
390; (3) Parts 382, 383, and 391; (4) Parts 392 and 395; (5) Parts 393 and 396 when there are less than three vehicle inspections in the last 12 months tc
evaluate; and (6) Parts 397, 171, 177 and 180.

(g) For each instance of noncompliance with an acute regulation or each pattern of noncompliance with a critical regulation during the CR, one point wil
be assessed. A pattern is more than one violation. When a number of documents are reviewed, the number of violations required to meet a pattern is equa
to at least 10 percent of those examined.

(h) However, each pattern of noncompliance with a crllxcal regulation relative to Part 395, Hours of Service of Drivers, will be assessed two points.
A. Vehicle Factor

(a) When a total of three or more inspections are recorded in the Motor Carrier Management Information System (MCMIS) during the twelve month:
prior to the CR or performed at the time of the review, the Vehicle Factor (Parts 393 and 396) will be evaluated on the basis of the Out-of-Service
(00S) rates and noncompliance with acute regulations and/or a pattern of noncompliance with critical regulations. The results of the review of the OOS
rate will affect the Vehicle Factor rating as follows:

1. If a motor carrier has three or more roadside vehicle inspections in the twelve months prior to the carrier review, or three vehicles inspected at the time
of the review, or a combination of the two totaling three or more, and the vehicle OOS rate is 34 percent or greater, the initial factor rating will be
conditional. The requirements of Part 396, Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance, will be examined during each review. The results of the examinatior
could lower the factor rating to unsafisfactory if noncompliance with an acute regulation or a pattern of noncompliance with a critical regulation i

https://www.fmcesa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmest/printRegulation.aspx?pr...  4/18/2013
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discovered. If the examination of the Part 396 requirements reveals no such problems with the systems the motor carrier is required to maintain for
compliance, the Vehicle Factor remains conditional.

2. If a carrier's vehicle QOOS rate is less than 34 percent, the initial factor rating will be safisfactory. If noncompliance with an acute regulation or a
pattern of noncompliance with a critical regulation is discovered during the examination of Part 396 requirements, the factor rating will be lowered to
conditional. If the examination of Part 396 requirements discovers no such problems with the systems the motor carrier is required to maintain for
compliance, the Vehicle Factor remains safisfactory.

(b) Nearly two million vehicle inspections occur on the roadside each year. This vehicle inspection information is retained in the MCMIS and is integral
to evaluating motor carriers' ability to successfully maintain their vehicles, thus preventing them from being placed OOS during roadside inspections.
Since many of the roadside inspections are targeted to visibly defective vehicles and since there are a limited number of inspections for many motor
carriers, the use of that data is limited. Each CR will continue to have the requirements of Part 396, Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance, reviewed as
indicated by the above explanation,

B. Accident Factor

(a) In addition to the five regulatory rating factors, a sixth factor is included in the process to address the accident history of the motor carrier. This factor
is the recordable accident rate for the past 12 months, A recordable accident, consistent with the definition for “accident” in 49 CFR 390.5, means an
occurrence involving a commercial motor vehicle on a highway in motor carrier operations in commerce or within Canada or Mexico (if the motor
cartier also operates in the United States) that results in a fatality; in bodily injury to a person who, as a result of the injury, immediate!y receives medical
treatment away from the scene of the accident; or in one or more motor vehicles incurring disabling damage that requires the motor vehlcle to be
transported away from the scene by a tow truck or other motor vehicle.

(b) Recordable accidents per million miles were computed for each CR performed in Fiscal Years 1994,1995 and 1996. The national average for all
carriers rated was 0.747, and .839 for carriers operating entirely within the 100 air mile radius.

(¢) Experience has shown that urban carriers, those motor carriers operating primarily within a radius of less than 100 air miles (normally in urban areas)
have a higher exposure to accident situations because of their environment and normally have higher accident rates.

(d) The recordable accident rate will be used to rate Factor 6, Accident. It will be used only when a motor carrier incurs two or more recordable accidents
occurred within the 12 months prior to the CR. An urban carrier (a carrier operating entirely within a radius of 100 air miles) with a recordable accident
rate greater than 1.7 will receive an unsatisfactory rating for the accident factor. All other carriers with a recordable accident rate greater than 1.5 will
receive an uusafisfactory factor rating, The rates are a result of roughly doubling the national average accident rate for each type of carrier rated in Fiscal
Years 1994, 1995 and 1996.

(e) The FMCSA will continue to consider preventability when a motor carrier contests a rating by presenting compelling evidence that the recordable
rate is not a fair means of evaluating its accident factor. Preventability will be determined according to the following standard: “If a driver, who exercises
normal judgment and foresight could have foreseen the possibility of the accident that in fact occurred, and avoided it by taking steps within his/her
control which would not have risked causing another kind of mishap, the accident was preventable.”

C. Factor Ratings
(a) Parts of the FMCSRs and the HMRs having similar characteristics are combined together into five regulatory areas called “factors.”

(b) The following table shows the five regulatory factors, parls of the FMCSRs and IIMRs associated with each factor, and the accident factor TFactor
Ratings are determined as follows:

Factors
Factor 1 General=Parts 387 and 390
Factor 2 Driver=Parts 382, 383 and 391
Factor 3 Operational=Parts 392 and 395
Factor 4 Vehicle=Parts 393 and 396
Factor 5 Haz. Mat.=Parts 397, 171, 177 and 180
Factor 6 Accident Factor=Recordable Rate
“Satisfactory "—if the acute and/or critical=0 points
“Conditional "—if the acute and/or critical=1 point
“Unsatisfactory"—if the acute and/or critical=2 or more points
111, Safety Rating
A. Rating Table
(a) The ratings for the six factors are then entered into a rating table which establishes the motor carrier's safety rating.
(b) The FMCSA has developed a computerized rating formula for assessing the information obtained from the CR document and is using that formula in
assigning a safety rating.
Motor Carrier Safety Rating Table

Factor ratings OverallSafety rating

Unsatisfactory Conditional

1} 2 or fewer Satisfactory
o more than 2 Conditional
1 2 or fewer Conditional
1 more than 2 Unsatisfaclory
2 ormore 0 or more Unsatisfactory

B. Proposed Safety Rating

(a) The proposed safety rating will appear on the CR. The following appropriate information will appear after the last entry on the CR, MCS-151, part B.
“Your proposed safety rating is SATISFACTORY.”

OR

“Your proposed safety rating is CONDITIONAL.” The proposed safety rating will become the final safety rating 45 days after you receive this notice.
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OR

“Your proposed safety rating is UNSATISFACTORY.” The proposed safety rating will become the final safety rating 45 days after you receive this
notice

(b) Proposed safety ratings of conditional or unsatisfactory will list the deficiencies discovered during the CR for which corrective actions must be taken

(c) Proposed unsatisfuctory safety ratings will indicate that, if the unsatisfactory rating becomes final, the motor carrier will be subject to the provisior
of §385.13, which prohibits motor carriers rated unsatisfactory from transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding or more than 15 passengers
including the driver.

IV. Assignment of Final Rating/Motor Carrier Notification

When the official rating is determined in Washington, D.C., the FMCSA notifies the motor carrier in wriling of its safety rating as prescribed in §385.11
A proposed conditional safety rating (which is an improvement of an existing unsatisfuctory rating) becomes effective as soon as the official safety
rating from Washington, D.C. is issued, and the carrier may also avail itself of relief under the §385.15, Administrative Review and §385.17, Change tc
safety rating based on corrective actions.

Y. Motor Carrier Rights to a Change in the Safety Rating

Under 8§ 385.15 and 385.17, motor carriers have the right to petition for a review of their ratings if there are fuctual or procedural disputes, and tc
request another review after corrective actions have been taken. They are the procedural avenues a motor carrier which believes its safety rating to be ir
error may exercise, and the means to request another review after corrective action has been taken.

VI. Conclusion

(a) The FMCSA believes this “safety fitness rating methodology” is a reasonable approach for assigning a safety rating which best describes the curren
safety fitness posture of a motor carrier as required by the safety fitness regulations (§385.9). This methodology has the capability to incorporate
regulatory changes as they occur.

(b) Improved compliance with the regulations leads to an improved rating, which in turn increases safety. This increased safety is our regulatory goal.
VII. List of Acute and Critical Regulations.

§ 382.115(a) Failing to implement an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing program (domestic mator carrier) (acute).

$382.115(b) Failing to implement an alcohol and/or controlled substances testing program (foreign motor carrier) (acnfe).

£382.201 Using a driver known to have an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or greater (acute).

$382.211 Using a driver who has refised to submit fo an alcohol or controlled substances test required under part 382 (acute).

§382.213(b) Using a driver known to have used a controlled substance (acute).

§382.215 Using a driver known to have tested positive for a controlled substance (acute).

$382.301(a) Using a driver before the motor carrier has received a negative pre-employment controlled substance test result (eritical).

§382,303(a) Failing to conduct post accident testing on driver for alcohol (critical).

§382.303(b) Failing to condct post accident testing on driver for controlled substances (critical).

§382.3035 Failing to implement a random controlled substances and/or an alcohol testing program (acute).

§382.305(b)(1) Failing to conduct random alcohol testing at an annual rate of not less than the applicable annual rate of the average number of
driver positions (critical).

§382.305(b)(2) Failing to conduct random controlled substances testing at an annnal rate af not less than the applicable annual rate of the average
number of driver positions (critical).

§ 382.309¢a) Using a driver who has not undergone a return-to-duty alcolol test with a result indicating an alcohol concentration of less than 0.02
(acute).

§ 382.309(b) Using a driver who has not undergone a return-to-duty controlled substances test with a result indicating a verified negative result for
controlled substances (acute).

§382.503 Allowing a driver to perform safely sensitive fimction, after engaging in conduct prohibited by subpart B, without being evaluated by
substance abuse professional, as required by §382.605 (critical).

§382.505(a) Using a driver within 24 howrs after being found to have an alcohol concentration of 0.02 or greater but less than 0.04 (acute).

§ 382.605(c)(1)Using a driver who has not undergone a return-to-duty alcohol fest with a result indicating an alcohol concentration of less
than .02 or with verified negative test result, after engaging in conduct prohibited by part 382 subpart B (acute).

§ 382.605(c)(2)(ii) Failing to subject a driver who has been identified as needing assistance to at least six unannounced follow-up alcohol and/or
controlled substance tests in the first 12 months following the driver's return to duty (critical).

§383.23(01) Operating a commercial motor vehicle without a valid commercial driver's license (critical).

$383.37(a) Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or anthorizing an employee who does not have a current CLP or CDL, who does not have a
CLP or CDL with the proper class or endorsements, or who operates a CMV in violation of any restriction on the CLP or CDL to operate a CMV
(acute).

§383.37(b) Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an employee with a commercial driver's license which is suspended, revoked,
or canceled by a state or who is disqualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle (acute).

§ 383.37(c)Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an employee with more than one commercial driver's license to operate a
commmercial motor vehicle (acute).

$383.51(a) Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing a driver to drive who is disqualified to drive a conunercial metor vehicle
(acute).

§387.7(a) Operating a motor vehicle without having in effect the required minimum levels of financial responsibility coverage (acute).

$387.7(d) Failing to maintain at principal place of business required progf of financial responsibility (critical).

$387.31(a) Operating a passenger carrying vehicle without having in effect the required minimum levels of financial responsibility (acute).

§387.31¢d) Failing to maintain at principal place of business required proof of financial responsibility for passenger carrying vehicles (critical).

§390.15(b)(2) Failing to maintain copies of all accident reports required by State or other governmental entities or insurers (ériricaD.

§390.35 Making, or causing to make frandulent or intentionally false statements or records and/or reproducing fraudulent records (acule).

$391.11(b)(4) Using a physically umqualified driver (acute).

https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmest/printRegulation.aspx?pr... 4/18/2013
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§391.15(a) Using a disqualified driver (acute).
§391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified (critical).
§391.45(b)(1) Using a driver not medically examined and certified during the preceding 24 months (critical).
§391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed (critical).
$391.51(b)(2) Failing to maintain inquiries into driver's driving record in driver's qualification file (critical).
$391.51(b)(7) Failing to maintain medical examiner's certificate in driver's qualification file (critical).
§392.2 Operating a motor vehicle not in accordaice with the laws, ordinances, and regulations of the jurisdiction in which it is being operated
(critical).
$392.4(b) Requiring or permitting a driver fo drive while under the influence of, or in possession of, a narcotic drug, amphetamine, or any other
substance capable of rendering the driver incapable of safely operating a motor vehicle (acuie).
§392.5(b)(1) Requiring or perniitting a driver to drive a motor velncle while under the influence of, or in possession of, an intoxicating beverage
(acute).
§392.5(b)(2) Requiring or perniitting a driver who shows evidence of having consumed an intoxicating beverage within 4 hours to operate a motor
vehicle (acute).
$392.6 Scheduling a run which would necessitate the vehicle being operated at speeds in excess of those prescribed (critical).
$392.9¢a)(1) Requiring or permitting a driver to drive without the vehicle's cargo being properly distributed and adequately secured (critical).
§395. 1(h)(1)(i) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive more than 15 hours (Driving in Alaska)
(critical).
$395. 1(h)(1)(ii) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty 20 hours (Driving
(in Alaska) (critical).
§395. 1(h)(1)(iii) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive gfter having been on duty more than 70
hours in 7 consecutive days (Driving in Alaska) (eritical).
§ 395.1M)(1)(iv) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive afler having been on dufy more than 80
hours in 8 consecutive days (Driving in Alaska) (critical).
§395.1(h)(2)(i} Requiring or perniitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive more than 15 howrs (Driving in Alaska)
(critical).
§395. 1(h)(2)(ii) Requiring or permitling a passenger-carrying commer cmf motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty 20 hours
(Driving in Alaska) (critical).
& 395. 1(h)(2)(iii} Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty more than 70
hours in 7 consecutive days (Driving in Alaska) (eritical).
§395. 1(M(2)(iv) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying conmercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty more than 80
hours in 8 consecutive days (Driving in Alaska) (critical).
$395.1(0) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty 16 consecutive hours
(eritical).
§ 395.3(a)(1) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive without taking an off>duty period of at least 10
consecutive hours prior fo driving (critical).
§395.3(a)(2) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to ({.' ‘ive afler the end of the 14th hour afler coming on
duty (critical).
§395.3(a)(3)(i) Requiring or permitiing a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive more than 11 howrs (critical).
§395.3(a)(3)(ii) Requiring or permiiting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive if more than 8 hours have passed since the
end of the driver's last off-duty or sleeper-berth period of at least 30 minutes (critical).
§ 395.3(b)(1) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty more than 60 hours
in 7 consecutive days (critical).
§ 395.3(b)(2) Requiring or permitting a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty more than 70 hours
in 8 consecutive days (critical).
$395.5(al(l) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive more than 10 hours (critical).
$395.5¢a)(2) Requiring or permiiting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty 15 howrs (critical).
§395.5(b)(1) Requiring or permitting a passenger-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty more than 60 hours
in 7 consecutive days (critical).
$395.5(b)(2) Requiring or permitting a passenger-cariying commercial motor vehicle driver to drive after having been on duty more than 70 hours
in 8 consecutive days (critical).
. §395.8(a) Failing to require driver to make a record of duty status (c: mca.U
§395.8(e) False reporis of records of duty status (critical). .
§395.8(i) Failing to require driver to forward within 13 days of completion, the original of the record of duty status (critical).
$395.8(k)(1) Failing to preserve driver's record of duty status for 6 months (critical).
$395.8(k)(1) Failing to preserve driver's records of duty status supporting documents for 6 months (critical).
§396.3(b) Failing to keep minimum records of inspection and vehicle maintenance (critical).
$396.9(c)(2) Requiring or permitting the operation of a motor vehicle declared “out-of-service” before repairs were made (acute).
§396.11(a) Failing to require driver to prepare driver vehicle inspection report (critical).
$396.11(c) Failing to correct Out-of-Service defects listed by driver in a driver vehicle inspection report before the vehicle is operated again
(acute).
$396.17(a) Using a conumercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected (critical).
$396.17(g) Failing to prompily repair parts and accessories not nmeeting mininuum periodic inspection standards (acute).
§397.5(a) Failing to ensure a motor vehicle containing Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 (explosive) material is attended at aH times by its driver or a
qualified representative (acute).
§397.7(al(1) Parking a motor vehicle containing Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 materials within 5 feet of traveled portion of highway or street (critical).
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§397.7(b) Parking a motor vehicle containing hazardous material(s) other than Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 materials within 5 feet of traveled portion
of highway or street (critical).

§397.13(a) Permitting a person to smoke or earry a lighted cigarette, cigar or pipe within 25 feet of a motor vehicle containing Class I materials,
Class 5 materials, or flammable materials classified as Division 2.1, Class 3, Divisions 4.1 and 4.2 (critical).

§397.19(a) Failing to furnish driver of motor vehicle transporting Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 (explosive) materials with a copy of the rules of part
397 and/or emergency response instructions (critical).

$397.67(d) Requiring or permitting the operation of a motor vehicle containing explosives in Class 1, Divisions 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 that is not
accompanied by a wrilten route plan (critical).

§397.101(d) Requiring or permitting the operation of a motor vehicle containing highway ronte-controlled quantity, as defined in §173.403, of
radioactive materials that is not accompanied by a written route plan.

§171.15 Carrier failing to give inumediate telephone notice of an incident involving hazardous materials (critical).
$171.16 Carrier failing to make a written report of an incident involving hazardous materials (critical).

§172.313(a) Accepting for transportation or transporting a package containing a poisonous-by-inhalation material that is not marked with the
words “Inhalation Hazard” (acute).

§172.704(a)(4) Failing to provide security awareness training (critical).

§172.704(a)(5) Failing to provide in-depth security awareness training (critical).

§172.800(b} Transporting HM without a security plan (acute).

§172.800(b) Transporting HM without a security plan that conforms to Subpart I requirements (acute).
§172.800(h) Failure to adhere to a required security plan (acute).

§ 172.802(b)Failure to make copies of security plan available to hazmat employees (critical).

§173.24(b)(1) Accepting for transportation or transporting a package that has an identifiable release of a hazardouns material to the enviromnent
(acute).

$173:421(a) Accepting for transportation or transporting a Class 7 (radioactive) material described, marked, mrd packaged as a limited quantity
when the radiation level on the suface of the package exceeds 0.005mSv/hour (0.5 mrenvhonr) (acute).

§173.43 1(a) Accepting for transportation or transporting in a Type A packagmg a greater quantity of Class 7 (radioactive) material than
authorized (acute).

§173.431(b) Accepling for transportation or transporting in a Type B packaging a greater quantity of Class 7 (radioactive) material than
authorized (acute).

§173.441(a) Accepting for transportation or fransporting a package containing Class 7 (vadioactive) material with external radiation exceeding
allowable lintits (acute).

$173.442(b) Accepting for transportation or transporting a package containing Class 7 (radioactive) material when the temperatire of the
accessible external surface of the loaded package exceeds 50 °C (122 °F) in other than an exclusive use shipment, or 85 °C (185 °F} in an exclusive use
shipment (acute).

$173.443(a) Accepting for fransportation or fransporting a package containing Class 7 (radioactive) material with removable contamination on
the external surfaces of the package in excess of permissible limits (acute).

$177.800(c) Failing to instruct a category of employees in hazardous materials regulations (eritical).
§177.801 Accepting for transportation or transporting a forbidden material (acute).
§ 177.835(a) Loading or unloading a Class 1 (explosive) material with the engine running (acute).,

$177.835(c) Accepting for transportation or transporting Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 (explosive) materials in a motor vehicle or combination of
vehicles that is not permitted (acule).

§177.835(j) Transferring Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 (explosive) materials between containers or motor vehicles when not permitted (acute).
§ 177.817(a) Transporting a shipment of hazardous materials not accompanied by a properly prepared shipping paper (critical).
§177.817(e) Failing to maintain proper accessibility of shipping papers (critical).

§177.823(a) Moving a transport vehicle containing hazardous material that is not properly marked or placarded (critical).

§177.841(e)Transporting a package bearing a poison label in the same transport vehicle with material marked or known to be foodstuff; ﬁzea’ or
any edible material intended for conswmption by humans or animals unless an exception in §177.841(e)(i) or (ii) is met (acute).

§180.407(a) Transporting a shipment of hazardous material in cargo tank that has not been inspected or retested in accordunce with § 180.407
(eritical).

§180.407(c) Failing to periodically test and inspect a cargo tank (critical).

$180.415 Failing to mark a cargo tank which passed an inspection or test required by § 180.407 (critical).

§180.417(a)(1) Failing to retain cargo tank manufacturer’s data report certificate and related papers, as required (critical).

§180.417(a)(2) Failing to retain copies of cargo tank manufacturer's certificate and related papers (or alternative report) as required (eritical).

[62 FR 60043, Nov. 6, 1997, as amended at 63 FR 62939, Nov. 10, 1998; 65 FR 11907, Mar. 7, 2000; 68 FR 22513, Apr. 28, 2003; 70 FR 50070, Aug. 25, 2005; 72 FR 3G789, July 5, 2007; 72 FR 71269, Dec. 17, 2007; 75 FR
17244, Apr. 5,2010; 76 FR 26897, May 9, 2011; 76 FR 81186, Dec. 27, 2011; 77 FR 28450, 28434, May 14, 2012; 77 FR 59826, OcL 1, 2012]

https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmesr/printRegulation.aspx?pr... 4/18/2013 .
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Attn: Ray Gardner %K\

Correcting the violations

1. The maintenance files for the carrier were checked for compliance and it was found that the
carrier does not have on file a way to indicate the nature and due date of various operations
and inspections to be performed.

| have prepared cover letter indicate the nature and due date of various operations and
inspections to be performed.

2. Failing to keep a record of test conducted on push out windows, emergency doors, and
emergency door making lights on buses.

| have secheduled to have Pushout windows, emergency doors, and emgergency door

inspected everty 90 days & Keep records.

3.Pre-trip Inspection: Before starting out, the driver must be satisfied that the motor vehicle is
in safe operating condition. If the last driver vehicle inspection report (DVIR) notes any defects,
the driver must review and sign to acknowledge that necessary repairs have been completed.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact us at 206-788-6990.




