STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o TTY (360) 586-8203

March 20, 2013

Steven V. King, Acting Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Ultilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. John Chi International Corp.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TE-130204

Dear Mr. King:

On March 5, 2013, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $600
Penalty Assessment in Docket TE-130204 against John Chi International Corp. (John Chi) for
six violations of WAC 480-30-071, which requires Charter and Excursion companies to file
annual safety reports with the Commission by December 31 each year; and WAC 480-30-076,
which requires such companies to pay regulatory fees annually on that date. !

On March 12, 2013, John Chi responded to the commission, requesting mitigation of the penalty.
In its mitigation request, John Chi does not dispute that the violations occurred. The company
indicates that it is operated by only Mr. Chi and that he was in Asia for a business fair and some
personal matters during the time the report was required to be filed. Mr. Chi states that he had no
intention of breaking the rules. Mr. Chi also states that the annual report process is new to him.
He requests reconsideration of the penalty.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual repott is
filed by the December 31 deadline. On November 15, 2012, the commission mailed 2012 Annual
Safety Report forms and 2013 regulatory Fee packets to Charter and Excursion companies
registered in Washington state. A letter from the commission’s Assistant Director for
Transportation Safety, David Pratt, instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay
regulatory fees by December 31, 2012. The letter stated failure to file the annual report by
December 31 would result in a penalty and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to

1 See Attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent to John Chi International Corp.
2 See Attachment B for a copy of the letter submitted by the company on March 12, 2013,
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operate in Washington. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual
report were asked to do so prior to December 31, providing a reason for the requested extension.
No extension was requested.’

On January 7, 2013, the commission issued a notice to companies that had not yet filed
their annual report and paid regulatory fees, informing these companies that they were
subject to enforcement action, including the assessment of penalties beginning to accrue
on that date. Companies that filed their annual reports and paid regulatory fees after
January 7, 2013, but on or before January 18, 2013, are subject to penalties that the
commission uses its discretion to mitigate to $25 per day if the company had not made
these filings late in prior years. Companies that were late in prior years are subject to an
additional $25 per day for each year in which they were late up to a total of $100 per day.
For first time late-filers who filed their report after January 18, the commission will
mitigate the penalties to 50 percent of the maximum permissible amount. No further
mitigation will be granted unless the company provides new information that is unrelated
to these factors. Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a company was unaware
a report must be filed.* :

John Chi filed its 2012 annual safety report and paid its 2013 regulatory fee on January
23, 2013. That date is 12 business days past the January 7, 2013, notice date when
penalties began to accrue, resulting in a potential penalty assessment of $1,200 ($100 per
day times 12 days). John Chi has not previously missed the deadline for filing its annual
report and paying its regulatory fees. The commission therefore mitigated the penalty by
50 percent to a total assessed penalty of $600.

Staff does not support mitigating the $600 penalty assessment further. The penalty was
already administratively mitigated by 50 percent, from $1,200 to $600. In addition, the
penalty assessment states mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a company was
unaware a report must be filed. Staff recommends denying the mitigation request.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105, or at mperkinson(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Ailioe)

Shiaron Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

3 See Attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on November 15, 2012.
4 See Attachment D for a copy of the Enforcement letter sent to all delinquent companies on January 7, 2013.
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Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-130204
PENALTY AMOUNT: $600

JOHN CHI

JOIN CII INTERNATIONAL CORP.
10538 NE 24" ST,

BELLEVUE, WA 98004

According to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records,
you have committed violations of two Commission rules: (1) Washington Administrative Code
(WAC) 480-30-071, which requires Charter and Excursion companies to file annual satety
reports with the Commission by December 31 each year; and (2) WAC 480-30-076, which
requires such companics to pay regulatory fees annually on that date. You ave classified as a
Charter and Excursion company, Commission records show that you did not file an annual safety
report or pay annual regulatory fees by December 31, 2012,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) §1.04.405 authorizes the Commission (o assess penaltics of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and
distinet offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance shall be and

be deemed to be a separate and distinet violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-30-071 and WAC 480-30-076 as continuing violations, giving rise to penaltics of
$100 for cach day a company fails to make cach requisite (iling afler the date on which it was,
due.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifics you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $600 on the following basis:

On November 15, 2012, the Commission mailed 2012 Annual Safety Report
forms and 2013 Regulatory Fee packets to Charter and Excursion companies
registered in Washinglon state. A letter from the Commission’s Assistant
Director for Transporiation Safety, David Pratt, instructed these companies to file
annual reports and pay regulatory fees by December 31,2012, The lelter stated
failure to file the annual report by December 31 would result in a penalty and
possible cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in Washington. ‘Those
companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual report were asked to
do so prior to December 31, providing a reason for the requested extension. No
extension was requested.

On January 7, 2013, the Commission issued a notice to companies that had not yet
filed their annual report and paid regulatory fees, informing these companies that
they were subject to enforcement action, including the assessment of penalties
beginning to accrue on that date. Companies that filed their annual reports and
paid segulatory fees alter January 7, 2013, but on or before January 18, 2013, are
subjeet to penaltics that the Commission uses its diseretion to mitigate to $25 per
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day if the company had not made these filings late in prior years. Companies that
were late in prior years are subject to an additional $25 per day for cach year in
which they were late up to a total of $100 per day. For first time late-filers who
filed their report after January 18, the Commission will mitigate the penaltics to
50 pereent of the maximum permissible amount. No further mitigation will be
granted unless the company provides new information that is unrelated to these
factors, Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a company was unaware @
report must be filed,

John Chi International Corp., filed its 2012 Annual Safety Report and paid its
2013 Repulatory Fee on January 23, 2013. That date is 12 business days past the
January 7, 2013, nolice date when penalties began to acerue, resulting ina
potential penalty assessment of $1,200 ($100 per day times 12 days). John Chi
International Corp., has not previously missed the deadline for filing its annual
report and paying its regulatory fees. The Commission, therefore, exercises ils
discretion to mitigate the penalty by 50 pereent to a total assessed penalty of
$600,

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you believe
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. Sce
RCW 81.04.405,

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. IT you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision,

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

o Pay the umount dug;
o Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Conmmission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do nof act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Altorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to colleet the penalty.

DATED at Olympm Washington, and Lﬂccnvc March S, 201

(:RF.(;ORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-130204

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you reccive (he penalty assessment, Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. [am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters sct forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. 1 hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ] 1. Paymentof pennlty. [ admit that the violations occurred. [ have:
[ ] Enclosed $600 as payment of the penalty.

[ ]1Submilted my paymem of $600 online at www.ute.wa.gov. My confirmation
‘numiber is

[ ]2 Request fora hearing T believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an allected person to present argument to an administrative law judge fora
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but 1 hcllcvu that the penalty should
be reduced for the renson(s) set out below.

[ ] a) [Dask forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above,
OR [ ] by Twaiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information |1
present dirveetly above,

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correet,

Dated: — [month/day/year),at __ [eity, state]
Nanc of Respondent (company) — please 'jﬁi:i'iii- :"}“i}g:ﬁu(ufc of Aﬁ;ﬁéunt
RCW 9A.72,020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree ifin any ofticial
proceeding he makes o materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
clement of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not &
defense to a prosecution under this seetion. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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Attachment B

To whom it might Concern: Mar08/2013

This is a letter to clear what was happened to me. Our company
was resisted as a legal company base in Seattle and there is only
one person with business consulting firm and to be regulate my
van as commercial van just start from last Summer and this is
total new to me.

I was in Asia for a business fair and some of my personal matter
during the Safety report returns perate time and | was
responding as soon as | am back from Asia. The penalty with late
payment only around two weeks since | was out of the county
and was unable to do so since | am the only one in the company .

I do not have any intentions to break the rule and | am just a
simple working individual like anyone else. In fact | did call Tina
as soon as | found out the letter she sent to me and completed
the request right way.

As a government agency or industry officials | am highly
appreciated that if your could re-considerate my case and | am
sure that it will not happen again.........

If you have any questions please feel free to contact with me at
my cell: (206)-779-9998.

Yours Truly REC
EIVED

~Pox

T 122013

h f . |
John Chi 612 Hd 21 Y¥HEIL WASH, UT.&TP COMM

PRI
(RIsE
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,\\\

18 \‘“"
STATE QOF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1360 S. Lvergreen Park Dr. S, RO, Rox 47250 ¢ Olympia, Vashington Y8504-7250
(360) 6641160 = TTY (360) 586-8203

Novembor 15, 2012

Subject: Your Charter and Excursion Annual Safety Report and Regulatory Fees are Due
December 31, 2012

You are required to file an annual safety report and pay regulatory fees if you operate as a charter
or gxeursion company. :

What is required?

By December 31, you must:
e Complete and file the enclosed 2012 annual safety report form.
e Pay your2013 regulatory fees.

Il you are using U.8. postal mail to send your'annual safely report and pay your regnlatory fee,
the envelope must be postmarked by Monday, December 31, 2012, If von ate planning on using
another delivery method, the company, IllLIb[ ensure that it mrives al the commission by 5:00 pan.

Mnndny,LDt,ccmlm 32012,

Pailure to file or mail your annual safely report or pay repulatory fees by December 31, 2012 will
resull in a penally and possible cancellation of your permit to opemte in Washington, This is the
only notice you Wll] reeeive from the commission,

What happens if you do not pay your regulatory fees by Decomber 312
If regulatory fees are not paid by December 31, you will incur:

e a2 percent penalty on the amount due; and

e a l percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance,

Can you vequest an extension of time if you are unable to file the anmml safety report by
December 317

Yes, you must provide the request in writing, including a valid reason for the extension by
December 31. We will notify you when your request is approved or denied. You will still be liable
for penalty and interest payments il you fail to pay your regulatory fees by December 31, Tf you are
Jate filing your annual safety report or fail to file, you could incur additional penalties up to $100 a
day.

il L
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November 15, 2012
Page 2

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes, You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC website

www.nte. wa.gov/annualeeports:

Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms
Payregulatory fees
File your report cleetronically 7
Cuneel your permit if your company ceased operations in 2012,

2 @ o

What if you didn’t operate duving the year?

You must indicate this on the report and regulatory fee sheet that you've had no operations,
include the minimum $25 fee ind retin both lorms to the commission, If you are no longer
using your charter or excursion anthority and wish to cancel it, go to our website at
www.ute.wa.goy and locate the, “voluntary permit cancellation torm™ or call us at

(360) 664-1222 and we'll mail you the form.

Where do you mail the completed amual safety report form and vegalatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission

'O Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Where can you obtain an electronic version of the annual safety report?
Forms are available on our website at www.ute.wa.pov. Locate “Quick Links” then select “2012
annual safety report”,

Who do vou contact if you have questions? )

You may call ‘Tom MeVaugh at (360) 664-1237 or c-mail him at imeyaugh@ule wa.gov for
questions related to the annval safety report. If you have questions caleulating your regulatory
lee, penalties or interest, call Rac Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or ¢-mail her at
reamesf@ute.wa.gov, If you need this information in an alternate format, pleasc call

(360) 664-1133.°T°T'Y "Toll Free phone number is (800) 416-5289 or (360) 586-8203.

Sincerely,

Copal) Redo-

David Pratt 7
Assistunt Director, Trunsportation Safety

nclosures
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Attachment D

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Fvecgreen Park D S.W, RO, Box 47250 ¢ Olyapia, Washington 98504-7250
(260) 6O4-T160 « TIY (360) 5806-0203

January 7, 2013

NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION
Attention!

Your 2012 annual safety report and regulatory fees to the Utilities and Transportation
Commission (commission) were due December 31, as required by law. Financial penalties of
$100 per day begin accruing today, January 7. The penalty will increase by $100 per day for
each additional day you fail to comply.

How do you mitigate your penalty?

If the commission receives your report postmarked no later than January 18, commission staff
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for
cach year you have filed a delinquent annual safety report in the past five years, up to a
maxinium of $100 per day.

Where do you mail or fax the completed annual safety report form?
Washington Utilitics and Transportation Commission

'O Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Fax: (360) 664-1289

Annual safety report forms are available on the commission’s website at www.ute.wa.gov. If you
bave questions calculaling your regulatory fee, penalties or interest, contact Rae Lynn Carnes at
(360) 664-1152 or recames(@ute.wa.gov, If you require additional information, please contact
Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360) 6641105 or mperkinson@ute.wa.gov. If
you need (his information in an alternate formal, please call (360) 664-1133.ITY Toll Free

_phone number is (800)+416-5289 or (360) 586-8203.

Sincerely,

David W. Danner
Exccutive Director and Sceretary




