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STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 8. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ° Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160  TTY (360) 586-8203

October 22, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr, SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. United American Technology,
Inc. ;
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UT-121018

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 31, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100
Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-121018 against United American Technology, Inc. for 21
violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
competitively classified telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the
commission no later than May 1 each year.

On August 13, 2012, United American Technology, Inc. wrote the commission requesting
mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, United American
Technology, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “Annual
report mailed 6-22-12 see attached copy.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed .
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 20122, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated competitively classified telecommunications companies. In addition
to other information, the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the
annual report form, pay any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid
enforcement action. On May 14, 20123, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that
had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of
$800. The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than
May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day
for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late
report.

1 See attachment A for a copy of United American Technology, Inc.’s Mitigation Request.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012,
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United American Technology, Inc. did not file its annual report by May 31, 2012, which is 21
business days past the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty is $100 per day, for a maximum
penalty of $2,100. United American Technology, Inc. became regulated in June 2004 and
received a penalty of $100, in 2011 for filing a delinquent annual report.

Based on the company’s delinquent annual report filing in the past, staff does not support
mitigating the assessed penalty and recommends the request be denied. '

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or at mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

/ vy,

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications



Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-121018

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Comumission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

1 have read and understand RCW 94.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
staternents under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
mafters set forth below and 1 have personal knowledge of those matters. [ hereby make, under

oath, the following statements. RECEIVED
{ ] 1.  Payment of penalty, [ admit that the violations occurred, | have; AU 132012 !
Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penaly
{1 pay penalty WASH, UT & TP COMM
{ ]Submitted my paymen! of $2,100 online at www.utc,wa.gov. My conlirmation
number is <. = B
N .-( i : ~)
Ib'

[ 12 Request for a hearing. [ believe that one or ntore of the alleged wolauoﬁ?, d;chwt s
ocenr, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which i 18::{ ymces _
that allows an affected person to present arpument to an administrative hw 3udgc for a
decision by an administrative law judge: :

54:6 HY

f |3 Application for mitigation. { admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.,

Aaoval R wailed 2213~ see - odfachect
Copu:
[ 14a) ¥askforahearing for a decision by an administrative law judye based on the
information presented above.

OR [ 1% [ waiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information |
: present dircetly above,

LA B TSRS S Rt

[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of' Washington that the foregoing,
including information [ have presented on any attachinents, is e and correct,

Dated: g" L(‘ - /72‘ {month/day/year], al m fcity, state]

el

L@ Teen e e A
Name of Respondent {company} - please print Signature of Applicant
Thopae Arele /D01

RCW 9A.,72.020:

“Pergury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilly of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially faise statement which he knows to be false under an cath
required or authorized by taw. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actos's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense 1o a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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Attachment B

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr, 5.3V, PO, Box 47250 v Olympia, Washington 38504-7250
(360} 664-1160 « TTY (360} 586-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you lo file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
s  Complete and file ong paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 201 | annual
report form
»  Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file 2 completed annaal repori and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day afler May |
that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day afler May | the fees are unpaid,
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years. It you have not fited your completed annual report or paid
yaur regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Stafl will initiute proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fecs by May 17
If vou do not pay your conpany's regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day after
May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to fite the annual report or pay

your regulatory. fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filedt with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied, Even if your request
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UTC Annval Reports and Fees
Febnuaary 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be liable for penaities and interest payments if you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May L,

What should you do i your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar yeur, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on (he months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration of pemuit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you swtisiy two conditions:

{1} You arc eligible to request confidential treatiment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or watcr
company. Transpottation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is Tound
only in RCW 80.0:1.095. I a Title 81 company files its annual report or fec sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

(2) You must follow the steps for {iling confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.nte, wa.goviannual repos.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website www tite, wa.gov/annualreports:

Qbtain clectronie versions of annual report forms
Pay regulatory fecs

s File your report clectronically

s Cancel your registration (telecommunications companies) or permit (iransporiation
companies) if your company ceased operations in 2011,

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utitities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Qlympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additiona! information you should file?
» If you are a gas distribution comypany, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
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« If you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1,

+ If you are a class | Raiiroad, please also file & copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington,

}f you have questions aboul arty aspect of vour report or regulatory fee, please contact Rag
Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or reames@ulc. wo. gov,

If you need this letter or an annual repert form in an alternate format, please cal} 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289.

Sincerely,

e

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures
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Attachment C

STALE OF WASTHINGION
WASTHIMNGTOM UTHATIES AMD TRANMSPORIATION COMMISSION
L3I0 8, Fverproen Pack D SW, 1M, Bay 472510« Olympda, Wasdington 305042250
{360} BEL-LIRG = TTY (360) SRG- 3203

May 14, 2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Altention;

Your 2011 annual report to the Utlities and Transportation Commission {commission) was due
on May 1, as required by law, Financial penalties of $100 per day began aceruing on May 2,

As of the date of this etter, you have acerned a penalty of $800, That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

Fhis leiter tells vou whnt vou can do to mitigate your penalty,

If the commission receives your report postmardked no Inter than May 23, commission staft
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day, Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for

each year you have filed lale in lhe past five years, up lo 8 maxinunm of 3100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission's website al www.ute,wagov, I you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Complinnce
Investipator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinsonfuic.wa.pov.

Sincerely,

4%\."'»@? FL C/Z‘-—*-*—M"“"

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary




