STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ TTY (360) 586-8203

October 23, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Quality Telephone, Inc.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UT-121003

Dear Mr. Danner:

On August 1, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,050
Mitigated Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-121003 against Quality Telephone, Inc., for 14
violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires permitted
telecommunication companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1
each year.

On August 10, 2012, Quality Telephone, Inc., wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Quality Telephone, Inc., does not
dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “Quality Telephone, Inc. received a
notice on August 6™, 2012 from the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
assessing a penalty in the amount of $1,050 for untimely filings of annual reports dated August
1%, 2102. We were given 15 days to respond to the notice. We would like to request that the
penalty be mitigated. Currently Quality Telephone, Inc. has no customers in the State of
Washington and is planning on having our license surrendered prior to the end of this year. Our
last customer line was disconnected in October of 2011. Over the past four years Quality
Telephone, Inc. has had no obligation to pay after completing the Regulatory Fee Calculation
Schedule due to a very small customer base in the Washington market. This being said a $1,050
fine on a zero dollar obligation seems a bit unjust.”

1 See attachment A for a copy of Quality Telephone, Inc.’s Mitigation Request.
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In accordance with chapter 80.24.010 RCW "Regulatory Fees," the commission requires
Telecommunication companies to file reports of gross infrastate operating revenue and pay fees
on that revenue. Every company subject to regulation shall file with the commission a statement
under oath showing its gross intrastate operating revenue for the preceding year and pay to the
commission a fee as instructed. If the telecommunications company’s intrastate revenue is below
$20,000, the company will not be required to pay a regulatory fee.

Quality Telephone, Inc.’s Intrastate Revenue:

Report Year Intrastate Revenue
2011 $3,627.26

2010 $9,632

2009 $12,941

2008 ‘ $1,973

Based on this Intrastate Revenue information for Quality Telephone, Inc., the company is correct
that it was not required to pay regulatory fees in the past four years. Quality Telephone, Inc., is
however, required to file an annual report.

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May ! deadline. On February 29, 20127, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated telecommunications companies. In addition to other information, the
cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay any

~ regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement action. On May 14,
2012°, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report
notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $800. The letter went on to explain
that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive
mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day for each instance in the
previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report.

Quality Telephone, Inc., filed its annual report on May 21, 2012, which is 14 business days past
the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day for a
total of $350. Quality Telephone, Inc., has been regulated since January 2003 and received a
penalty for filing a delinquent annual report in 2006, 2008 and 2009. The 2008 and 2009
penalties increased the current penalty by an additional $50 per day, for an additional amount of
$700.

Based on the company’s delinquent annual report filing in the past, staff does not support
mitigating the assessed penalty further and recommends the request be denied.

2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012,
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If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or at mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Jldatince

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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To Whom It May Concern,

B:2 Hd 0190V

Quality Telephone, [nc. received a notice on August 6%, 2012 from the Washington
Utilities and Transportation Commission assessing a penalty in the amount of $1,050 fof
untimely filings of annual reports dated August 1, 2012,

We were given 15 days 10 respond to the notice, We wounld like to request that the
penally be mitigated. Currently Quality Telephone, Inc. has no customers in the State of
Washington and is planning on having our license surrendered prior 1o the end of this
vear, Our last customer line was disconnected in Getober of 201 1.

Over the past four years Quality Telephone, Inc. has had no obligation to pay afler
completing the Regulatory Fee Caleulation Schedule due to a very small customer base in
the Washington market. This being said a $1,050 fine on a zero dollar obligation seems a
bit unjust,

Respectfully Submitted,

o) Find

Jeremy Reed

Repulatory Analyst

Quality Telephone, Inc.

O: (241) 884-1725

F: (972) 546-9991
reguiatoryqqtelephane.com

PO, Box 130659 » Dallas, TX 75313 + 214-884-1750 » 877-329-0031 fax » §38-33:4-0750
& gletregulatory@ytelephone.com
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-121003

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed,

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a ¢lass B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent 10 testify to the
matters set forth below and 1 have personal knowledge of those matters. 1 hereby make, under
oath, the following statements,

{1 Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred, | have:
{f ] Enclosed $1,050 in payment of the penalty

{ ] Submitted my payrncnt of $1,050 online at www.ute.wa gov. My confirmation
number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing, { believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
gecur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative faw mclge foid
decision by an administrative law judge: : :

Bt 3. Application for mitigation. | admil the violations, but | belicve that the mna!ty shey
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

No OBLIGATION Dug TN THE LAST FouR FrirNe YEARS,

00 aua 0! 9yl

B &) 1ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR [ 15} 1waiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information |
present directly above.

{ declare under penalily of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ,Q&}_QQL’)QIA {month/day/year], at _DA;J._AS TX [city, state]

Tewe Tuc, FEQL___
Name of Respondent {company) — please print Signatur: pplicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1} A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an cath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this seetion, (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360} 663-1160 v TTY {360) 586-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State Jaw requires you to File an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC),

What is required of you?
By May |, you must:
+ Complete and il one paper copy or ¢lectronic version of the enclosed 201 1 annual
report form
¢ Pay your 2012 repulatory foes

What happens if you do not file 8 completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for euch business day after May |
that the report is not filed and $100 for cach business day after May | the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, after you
have fited a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed lute in prior years, If you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Stafl will initiate proceedings (o have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington,

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If you do not pay your company’s repulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a | percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day after
May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

Muay you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension o file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reasen for why you need an
extension and identify n specific date by which you will Ble your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

g , o
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is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest paymenis if you fail to pay your
regufatory fees by May 1,

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registriation or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but il your company operated in Washingion at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the mnonths of operation during 2011 even il you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible 10 request confidential treatnent only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, i’ you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents because thie authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files ils annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential,

(2) You must fellow the steps for filing conlidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, wwvw.ute swi.gov/annual reports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet.

May vou perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks fram the annual reports page at the UTC
website www.ute. wa gov/annualreports:

Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fecs

File your report ¢lectronicaily

Cancel your registration (telccommunications companies) or permit (transportalion
companies) if vour company ceased operations in 2011,

- & & 9

Where do you mail the completed anoual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Uhilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98304-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
e if you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Reglatory Commission Form 2.
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« If you arc an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

o i youare aclass 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific (o the state of Washington,

If you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Camnes at (360) 664-1152 or reagnesf@uic. wa.gov,

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phene number is [-800-416-5289,

Sineerely,

oo

David W, Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosunes
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STAEE OF WASHINGEOM
WASHIMGTON UTITIES AMD TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

L300 8, Evergreen Park Ble 30V, PO, oy 47250 & Qlysapia, Washingon 935604-7 230
60 GAA-HIA = TTY (360 SAG-4202

May 14, 2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Atfention:

Your 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission (comimission) was due
on May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $109 per day began aceruing on May 2.

As of the date of this letter, you have accrued a penalty of $800. That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail 1o comply.

This letter tells you what you can do {o mitignte vour pennlty,

If the conmission reccives your report postmarked no later than May 25, commission staff
will mitigate your penalty 1o $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for
each year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of 100 per day.

Ammual report forms are available on the comimission’s website al www utc.wa.gov, If you have
questions or require additiona) information, please conttact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360) 664-1 105 or mperkinsonfdutc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

déd‘v’hjé;\-f C, L AR

David W. Danner
Execcoutive Directar and Secretary




