STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Fvergreen Park Dr. S.W,, P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160  TTY (360) 586-8203

September 28, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Ultilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Pulse Telecom, LLC
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-121002

Dear Mr. Danner:

On August 1, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100
Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-121002 against Pulse Telecom, LLC, for 21 violations of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires permitted
telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1
each year.

On August 10, 2012", Pulse Telecom, LLC wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Pulse Telecom, LL.C does not dispute
that the violation occurred. The company states, “We were in transition between compliance
companies and our previous company. Thompson Reuters, dropped the ball on us. We no longer
do business with them.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 20 12%, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated telecommunications companies. In addition to other information, the .
cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay any
regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012 to avoid enforcement action. On May 14,
20127, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report
notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $800. The letter went on to explain

that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive

mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day for each instance in the
previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report.

Pulse Telecom, LLC filed its annual report on June 4, 2012, Pulse Telecom, LLC did not file its
annual report by May 31, 2012, which is 21 business days past the deadline of May 1, 2012. The

1 See attachment A for a copy of Pulse Telecom, LLC’s Mitigation Request.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012.
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penalty is $100 per day for a total of $2,100. Pulse Telecom, LLC has never received a penalty
for filing a delinquent annual report in the past. Pulse Telecom LLC, has been authorized to
provide telecommunications service in the state of Washington since 2007.

Staff supports mitigating the assessed penalty from $2,100 to $1,050, which represents a 50
percent reduction because this is Pulse Telecom, LLC’s first late filing.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or at mperkinson(@utc. wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sawdillae

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-121002

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and sead it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use edditional paper if needed

{ have read and understand RCW 9A.72,020 (printed below), which states that making false
stateynients under oath is a class B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent to testify lo the

matters set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters, { hereby make, under
ocath, the following statements.

(P

Payment of penatty. { admit that the violations occurred. | have:

[ ] Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitied my payment of $2,100 ontine at www,ute,wa.gov, My confi,gmauonw
number is

...- k] ¥
25 % ;E_’ :
[ ]2 Reguest for a hearing, | believe that one or more of the alieged vielatiohs cild,nol -
occuy, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which ISTB':EI‘DCCSS
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law ;mh,c forg
decision by an administrative law judge:

N

[==)

p(] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but { betieve that the penalty should
o md\‘jcae(fdzfome{?as o e oty sen aamplrdne Compries,
a 98 PrAVIcUs ac*m,p%tm/ Timm\‘%ﬂt?euwi( B CMOPREK
L*n!! e’y\ s - WQ ric lﬁ‘“y—f' GO Bisiness bUlW\\i it .

(12
OR [ ]1)

T ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.

I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
present direetly above,

I declare under penalty of perjury under the Jaws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information { have presented on any atlachmcms, is truc and cortect.

Dated: §;/ &? 20/2_ {monti/day/year), at _,_-:_Oul' SV ”—@, )"C/ {city, state}

Rulse. Televam AL, VR Ml dre

Name of Respondent {(company) ~ please print Signature of Apphcant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or avthorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this ¢rime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material isnot a
defense to a prosecution under this section, (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony
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Attachment B

STATE OF WASHINGTON :
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1100 S. Fvergreen Park Dr, S.W., P.O. Box 47250 + Olymply, Washington 98504-7250
(260) 664-1160 « TTY (360) 3856-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory Fees to the Washinglon Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What Is required of you?
By May I, vou must;
s Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 201 | annual
report form
*  Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed aonunl report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
1f you do not file your company's completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after May 1
that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day afier May 1 the fees are unpaid.
You may seck mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, afler you
have filed a completed anpual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penahies the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years. If you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Stafl will initiate proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington,

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a | percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance,
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $109 per business day afier
May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are anable to file the annuzl report or puy

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by Aprit 24, 2012, and mus! state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report, The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

& nf5ie {5
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UTC Anntal Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, youn will still be liable for penalties and interest payments iff you fail to pay your
repulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washiogton at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatinent only if your company is regolated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an clectric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095, If a Title 8F company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

(2) You musl follow the steps for filing conlidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You

may find this rule at the UTC website, www,ute,wa, gov/annual_reports.

Please nate: “The regutatory fee sheet portion ot your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded eonfidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website www,ute Wa.goviannualreports:

Obtain electronie versions of annual report fonms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cancel your regisiration (telecommunicalions companies) or permit (franspontation
companies) if your company ceased operations in 2011,

. & & &

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilitics and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Qlympia, WA 983504-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
s [ you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
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« If you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronis copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

o Ifyouare aclass | Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-i - including statistics specific o the state of Washington,

if you have questions about any aspect of your report o regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Cames at (360) 664-1152 or reanes@iute. wa.gov.

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call 360-664-1243, The
TTY Toll-Free phone numbee is 1-800-416-5289.

Sineerely,

vy e

David W, Danner
Fxecutive Director and Sceretary

Enclosures
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Attachment C

STATE OF WASHINGION
WASLHINGTOMN UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTAFION COMMISSION

L300 8, Fyergreen Park D S, RO Box 47250« Olpmpla, Washington iia4-7 230
£3608 BRI/ = FTY (3605 SHE-H203

May 14, 2012
NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

Yaur 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission {commission) was due

: on May 1, ag required by taw, Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on May 2,

As of the date of this letter, you have acerued a penalty of $800. That penaky will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail 1o coniply.

‘This letter tetls vou what you can do to mitignte youy penalty,

It the commission reccives your report pestmarked no tater than May 25, commission staff
will mitigate your penally 10 523 per day, Additional penalties of $25 per day will ke added for
each year you have fHed lale in the pasl five years, up lo a muximum of 3100 per day,

Amnual report forms are available on the commission’s website af www.nle.wagov. 1F you have
queslions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, al {360) 664-1105 or mperkinsonf@utc, wa, gov.

Sincerely,

4%&5’ Ee (et

David V. Danuer
Execulive Director and Secretary
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