STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washinglon 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ TTY (360) 586-8203

October 22, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. NECC Telecom, Inc.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UT-120987

Dear Mr. Danner;

On July 31, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100
Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-120987 against NECC Telecom, Inc. for 21 violations of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires competitively classified
telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1
each year.

On August 13, 2012!, NECC Telecom, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, NECC Telecom, Inc. does not dispute
that the violation occurred. The company states, “Due to the transition between compliance
companies and our previous company, Thompson Reuter dropping the ball on us. We no longer
due business with them.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are tiled
by the May 1 deadline, On February 29, 2012%, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated competitively classified telecommunications companies. In addition
to other information, the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the
annual report form, pay any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid
enforcement action. On May 14, 2012° , the commission mailed a letter to those companies that
had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of
$800. The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than
May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day
for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late
report.

| See attachment A for a copy of NECC Telecom, Inc.’s Mitigation Request.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012.
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NECC Telecom, Inc. did not file its annual report by May 31, 2012, which is 21 business days
past the deadline of May 1, 2012, The penalty is $100 per day, for a maximum penalty of $2,100.
NECC Telecom, Inc. became regulated in September 2002 and received a penalty of $100, in
2006 for filing a delinguent annual report.

Based on the company’s delinquent annual report filing in the past, staff does not support
mitigating the assessed penalty and recommends the request be denied.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or at mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Jldallie

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications



Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-120987

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Conunission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.620 (printed below), which states that muking false
statements under oath is a class B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and [ have personal knowledge of those matters, I hereby make, under
oath, the {ollowing statements.

(1L Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:
{ ] Enclosed $2,108 in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted miy payment of $2,100 online at www.te.wa gov, My confirmation
numberis

{ ]2 Request forahearing. [ believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oecur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an af¥ected person Lo present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

JX} 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but [ behcu. that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

Diee Jo iz Trangden ketwan Cont m«:b Q
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{ ] a) 1ask fora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above,
OR { } b 1 waiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information 1
present direetly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information [ have presented on any a!!athments 1:; true and correct,

Dated: ﬂi ()l / Wiz [monlh!day)‘year], at
/ / % e //‘, @/, /

Name 6F Réspondent (company) - please print . Signature of Applicant

[city, state]

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any oflicial
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which ke knows to be false under an cath
required or authorized by law. {2) Knowledge of the materiafity of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken beliel that his statement was not malterial is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




UTC Annual Reports

October 22, 20612

Page 4
Attachment B
STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1308 §. £vergreen Park Dr. $.W, P.O. Box 47250 » Qlympis, Washington 94504-7250
(360) 664-1160 + TTY (360) 586-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you lo file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission {UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
«  Complete and (il one paper copy or clectronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
report fonn
o Pay your 2012 repulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If youi do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regutatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of 3100 for each business day after May |
that the report is not filed and 3100 for cach business day after May | the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed anmel report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years. 1f you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate procecdings 10 have the UTC revoke
your authority 1o operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 1?2
If vou do not pay your company's regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
petally on the amownt due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day after
May | that the fees are unpaid.

May you reguest an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

yaur regufatory fees on fime?
You may file a writlen request for an extension to Gle your completed annval report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notity you by May | whether your request is approved or denied, Even if your request
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UTC Anpual Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page 2 .

is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if yeur company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washingion at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and {ile a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 ¢ven if you cancet your registration or permit.

May veu designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

{1} You are eligible to request confidential treatment enly i€ your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an eleciric, natural gas, teleccommunications or waler
company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095, 1f a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
conlidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

(2} You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-67-160. You
may {ind this rule at the UTC website, www.nte.wi.goviamnial reports.

Please note: The regulatory tee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May vou perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website www.ute. wa.gov/annualreports:

*  Obtain clectronic versions of annual repert forms
Pay reguiatory fees

¢ Filc your report electronicaily

s Cancel your registration {telecommunications companies) or permit (transportation
companies) i your company ceased operations in 201 1

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilitics and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

ts there any additional information you should file?
» |f you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
vour Federn) Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2,
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+ 1f youare an electric company, please also file both a paper and elestronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

o If you are a class 1 Railroad, pleasc also file a copy of your Surface Transporiztion Board
Ferm R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington.

i you have questions about any aspect of your repart of regulatory fes. please cortact Rae
Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1132 or rearnes@ule. wa ooy,

If you need this Jetter or an annual report form in an aiternate format, please call 360-664-1243. The
TTY Tol-Free phone aumber is }-800-416-5285.

Sincerely,

(/n-‘c:/ </¢_,.._

David W. Danner
Executive Direclar and Secretary

Enclosures
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Attachment C
STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHIMGTON UHLITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSHON
1300 8. Pvergreeen Pask Be. S, B0, Box 47250 = Clympla, Washington 935647250
LIR0) BHA-T A0 = TTY (36033 SRa-3303
May 4, 2012
NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION
B
Aftention:

Yaur 2011 annual report to the Utilites and Transportation Commisston (commission) was due
on May 1, as required by low, Financial penafties of $100 per day began aceruing on May 2.

As of the date of this letter, you have acerued a penalty of $800. That penaity will increase by
S0 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This lotter fells you what you ean do fo mitignte your penabty,

IF the conymission receives your report postmarked no hater than May 23, commission staff
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per Jday, Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for
each year you have liled lale in tre past ve years, up to a maximun of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the conumission's websile at www.utewingav, I you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360) 664-11035 or mperkinsonfdute.wa.gov.
Singerely,

, .

David W, Danner
Execulive Direclor and Secretary




