STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 e TTY (360) 586-8203

December 18, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Ulilities and Transportation Commission v. Eric Stewart d/b/a Ironman
Moving Services
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-120944

Dear Mr, Danner:

On July 24, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100
Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-120944 against Eric Stewart d/b/a ITronman Moving Services
(Ironman Moving) for 21 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480,
which requires permitted household goods companies to furnish annual reports to the
commission no later than May 1 each year. '

On August 22, 2012, Ironman Moving wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties
(Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, [ronman Moving does not dispute that the
violation occurred. > The company states, “I was under the impression I had until June 1* to file
and be within compliance.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee
packets were mailed to all regulated permitted household goods companies. 3 The cover letter
informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay any regulatory
fees, and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement action. On May 15, 2012, the
commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying

1 See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on July 24, 2012 to Tronman Moving.

2 See attachment B for a copy of Ironman Moving’s Mitigation Request received by the commission on August 22,
2012. ;

3 See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
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them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $900. * The letter went on to explain that
companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated
penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be assessed for each
instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late repoit, up
to a maximum of $100 per day.

Ironman Moving filed its annual report on May 25, 2012, which is 18 business days past the
deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day, for a
penalty of $450., Ironman Moving received penalties for filing a delinquent annual report in
2006, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011. The prior penalties increase the 2011 penalty by an additional
$100 per day. Ironman Moving received a $2,100 maximum penalty.

Staff does not support mitigating the assessed penalty of $2,100. Ironman Moving failed to file
its response within the 15 day timeframe required for the commission to consider mitigation. In
addition to failing to file its 2011 annual report timely, Ironman Moving has received penalties
for failing to comply with WAC 480-15-480 in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011. Staff
recommends denying the mitigation request.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105, or at mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Ginpe Qe

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

4 See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 15, 2012,
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Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-120944
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,100

Stewart, Fric
1495 Lahti Drive
Bellingham, WA 98226

According to the Commission’s records, you have comimitted a violation of Conumission rule:
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires permitted houschold
goods companies to file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year and pay
regulatory fees annuatly on that date. You are ¢lassitied as & houschold goods company.
Commission records show that you did not file an sanual report or pay annual regulatory fees by
May I, 2012,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 8£.04,405 authorizes the Commission 1o assess penallies of
$100 for vielations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and
distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing viokation, every day’s continuence shatt be and
be deemed to be a sepacate and distinet violation, The Commission interprets noncompliance
wilh WAC 480-15-480 as continning violations, giving risc to pennities of $100 for cach day a
company fails to make each requisite filing after the date on which it was dug.

As # result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount $2,100 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2012, the Commission maited 2011 Annual Repert forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to all permitted houschold goods companies
registered in Washington stale, A [etter from the commission's Executive
Secretary David W, Danner, instructed these compunies to file annual reports and
pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2012, The lelter stated failure (o file the annual
report by May 1 would result in a penalty and possible cancellation of the
company’s permit {o operate in Washington. Those companies wishing to request
an extension {o file the auntal report were asked to do so prior to Aprit 24,
providing a reason for the requested extension. You did not request an extension,

Stewart, Eric filed its annual report on May 25, 2012, which is 18 business days

past the deadline of May 1. The penally was miligated from $100 per day to $25
per day for a total of $430, Stewart, ric also received penalties for failing to file
annual reports by the deadling in 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011, The prior penalties
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increase the 2011 penalty by an additional $100 per day for a total of $1,800.
Stewart, Eric will receive the maximum $2,100 penalty.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing lo contest the penally assessment. [f there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penally, See
RCW 81.04.4085,

You have the right to present your request for review or further mitigation at a hearing, but you
are not required to do so. 1T you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, betore an administrative
Taw judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her
decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Day thc amount due.
o Request a hearing to contest the oceurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Pleasc indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504.7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attomey General for collection, The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty,

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and cffective July 24, 2012,

GREGORY 1. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge




UTC Annual Reporis
December 18, 2012

Page 5

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-120944

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if necded.

I have read and understand RCW 94,72,020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am compelent (o testify to the
matters set forth betow and Thave personal knowledge of those maiters, 1 hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

{11 Payment of peualty. 1 admit that the violations occurred. I have:
[ 1 Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penalty

1 Submited my payment of $2,100 ontine at www.ite.wa.gov, My confirmation
number is . :

{ 12 Request for a hearing. I beliove that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that ailows an affected person to present argument 10 an administrative law judge for a
decision by nn administrative low judge:

I 13. Applleation for mitigatlon, 1 admit the violations, but [ believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

[ ] a) Vaskfor a hearing for a decision by an administrative Iaw judge based on the
information presenied above.
OR [ ] b) Iwaiveahcaring and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
present directly above,

I declare vader penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any allachments, is true and correct,

Pated: {monh/duy/year}, at [eity, state}
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Siguature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilly of perjury in the first degree if in any ofiicial
procecding ho makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an onth
required or authorized by faw. (2) Knowledge of the materinlity of the statement is tot an
clement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was 1ot material is not a
defense to a proseention nader this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class 13 fetony.”

Attachment B
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-120944

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it (o the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed,

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a ¢lass B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and | have persenal knowledge of those matters. 1 hereby make, under
oath, the following statements,

{ } 1.  Paymentof penslty. ] admit that the violations occurred, T have: 3
=
[ }Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penalty cj'ﬁf._ % |
AN - :.’:‘.'\_. a2 A
[ 1Submiucd my payment of $2,100 onling at www.utc.wa gov. My o h i ‘t‘\,’
number is . : 1% . E
[ ) 2. Request for a hearing. | believe tiat onc or more of the alleged viglations didnot v ¥

occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process o0
that aklows ap affected person to present argiument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative Jaw judge:

4
I>Q 3. Application for mitigation, | admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. 7 s PEY; -,{.
L 64y tode cthe wnpe c3heon I° VYT N YR AT !

A‘I’ it é‘ [v///\f” f{'hi/))!fo'TC(._

[><]/ a) !ask for a hearing fora decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.

OR | 1b) 1waivenheacing end ask for an administrative decision on the informativn [
present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correel,

Dated: (/2. j_[‘)m{:;_l_ﬁ_lmomhldaylycarl. ﬂi’:ﬁd[&yﬁaa@ LedA [city, state)

T I an [YIouEss
Name of Respondent {company) - please print Signature of Applicant

RCW $A.72,020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (13 A person is guilty of pedury in the first degeee if in any oflicial
proceeding he mikes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or awthorized by law, (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
clement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense 10 8 prosecution under this section. (3} Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”

Attachment C



UTC Anmual Reporis
December 18, 2012

Page 7

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1200 S, Evergreen Patk Dr, $.W., P.O. Box 47250 o Olympla, Washington 98504-7250
{360) 664-1180 » TTY {360) 586-8203
February 29,2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Reguinlory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatery fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must
+  Complele and (il one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 201 | annual
weport form
o Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not (ite a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not fite your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May I, the UTC will assess a Financial penalty of $100 for each business day after May 1
that the report is not filed and $100 for cach business day alter May | the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penallies the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were Jate and whether
you have fited late in prior years. If you have not filed your compteted annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staf¥ will initiate proccedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington,

What happens if you do not pay the rcgulatory fees by May 17
If you do not pay your company's regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a ! percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance,
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day aller
May | that the fees arc unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a writien request for an extension to file your completed annual repert, but the
UTC wiil not extend the deadtine for paying regutatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by Apnl 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a speeific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

[T 0 ﬂ
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will stitl be liable for penalties and interest payments i you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May 1,

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (sce below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 201 1 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You arc eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an clectric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companics, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential reatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found
ondy in RCW 80.04.095. I a Title 81 company files ils annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

(2) You must {otlow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.utc wa.gov/annu reports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the Tollowing tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website www.ate.wa.goviannualreports:

Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cancel your registration {lelecommunications companics) or permit (Iransporiation
companies} if your company ceased operations in 201 1,

* & & &

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission '
PO Box 47250 ‘
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
+ If you are a gas distribution company, please also file bath a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2,
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+ If youare an electric company, please also file both a paper and clectronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1, ’

¢ [fyouare aclass 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics speeifie (o the state of Washington,

[f you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulutory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Carnes at (360) 0641152 or reames@ule, wagov.

If you need this leiter or an annual report form in an altemate format, please eall 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone numiber is 1-800-416-5289.

Sincerely,

(/Z-—'f/ A

David W. Danner
Executive Dircctor and Sceretary

Enclosures
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Attachment D

STATE OF WASHINGION
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSTON

1200 S, Fvergeeen Park D SW, RO, Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 9850:4-7250
(360) GOA-1160 = T1Y (260} 586-0203

May 15, 2012

NOTICLE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

Your 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) was due

‘on May 1, as required by law. Financial penaltics of $100 per day began accruing on May 2,

As of the date of this letter, you have ncerued a penalty of $900. That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what you can do to mitigate your penalty,

I the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 25, commission staff’
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for
cach year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of S100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission's website at wwaw.ute.wa, gov. It you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinsongaute.wa.gov,

Sincerely,

/\/Z’,\./I‘(L/ PR

David W, Danner .
Executive Divector and Seeretary

)

v



