STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ TTY (360) 586-8203

October 22, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Ultilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Jonathon Sheridan
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-120943

Dear Mr, Danner:

On July 24, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $450
Mitigated Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-120943 against Jonathon Sheridan d/b/a JFS
Transport for 18 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which
requires permitted household goods companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no
later than May 1 each year.

On August 17, 2012", Jonathon Sheridan d/b/a JFS Transport (Jonathon Sheridan) wrote the
commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request,
Jonathon Sheridan does not dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “We
apologize this statement is late as we were on vacation from July 18-July 31 in California. I was
on vacation and did not file on time. I was unaware we had to file until an email was sent by
Lynn, Carnes who then collected the report and we paid the fee of $110.00. She did not advise
me their would be any late fees at that time. We apologize for late report. We were unaware it
had to be submitted. When we received email from Lynn, we immediately filled out report and
turned in the same day, as we were unaware it was past due.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May | deadline. On February 29, 20 122, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated permitted household goods companies. In addition to other
information, the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report
form, pay any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement
action. On May 15, 2012°, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet
filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $900. The letter

1 See attachment A for a copy of Jonathon Sheridan’s Mitigation Request.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 15, 2012.
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went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012,
would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day for each
instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing-a late report.

* Jonanthon Sheridan attended the October 12, 2011, household goods t1'aining4. Training was
provided regarding annual reports and regulatory fee requirements, Jonathon Sheridan signed a
form, indicating he received training on annual reports and regulatory fees.

Jonathon Sheridan filed its annual report on May 25, 2012, which is 18 business days past the
deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day for a total
of $450. Jonathon Sheridan has held permanent household goods authority since October 2010
and never received a penalty for filing a delinquent annual report in the past.

Despite receiving previous training on annual reports and regulatory fees, staff supports
mitigating the assessed penalty from $450 to $225, which represents a 50 percent reduction
because this is Jonathon Sheridan’s first late filing.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or at mperkinson{@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

VY

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

4 See attachment D for a copy of the training verification, signed by Jonathan Sheridan.
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Attachment A

SERVICE DATE

Jul 24
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION iz

EBO'I ICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED ANDDUE
RECE‘V I OR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

Aug 172012
PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-120943
WASH. UT & TP COMM PENALTY : mmso_ e
¢, i o/ y;
 Weupdipre Ao MBS
Sheridan, Jonathon W e N SRt ‘ﬁz

PO Box 135 Z[st Am aﬁW"‘
Suguamish, WA 98392 M (/M_’*
According to the Commission's records, you have committed a violatfon of Commission rule:

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480- 15-480, which requires permitted houschold
goods companies {0 file annual repors with the Commission by May 1 each vear and pay
regulatory fees annually on that date. You are ¢lassified a5 a household goods company.
Commission records show thal you did not (ile an annual report or pay annual regulatory fees by

May 1, 2012

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04,403 aulkorizes the Commission lo assess penaliies of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and
distinel offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continvance shall be and
be deemed to be a separate and distinet viotation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-15-480 as continuing violations, giving rise to penaltics of $100 for each day a
company fails to make each requisite fiting after the date on which it was due,

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penaitics against you in the
amount $450 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed 201! Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to all permitted househiold goods companics
registered in Washington state. A lerter from the commission’s Excoutive
Secretary David W. Danner, instructed these companies to file annual reports and
pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2012, The ketier stated failure to file the annual
report by May 1 would resuit in a penalty and possible canceltation of the
campany’s permit to operate in Washington. Those compames wishing to rgcqtq-g o
an extension to file the annual report were asked 1o do so prior to April 24,
providing a reason for the requested extension. You did net request an extuus;rf)} =

Sheridan, Junathon filed its annual report on May 25, 2012, which is I8 busiliegégr"
days past the deadline of May 1. The penalty was mitigated from S100 per day'to”
$25 per day for a total of $450.

306 WY 19nv g
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-120943 PAGE 2

Your penalty is due and payable now, If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. I there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penally, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 81.04,405,

You have the right to present your request for review or further mitigation at o hearing, but you
are not required 1o do so. If you do, the Comumission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Procceding, before an administrative
Inw judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her
decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

+ Tay the amount due.
s Request a bearing to contest the cocurrence of the violations.
» Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportatien Commission, Post Oflice Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice,

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, The Commission will then sue you 1o collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 24, 2012,

s

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-120943

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Conunission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if needed.

{ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of {8, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and T have personal knowledge of those matters. { hereby make, under
oath, e following staterieats,

| | L Payment of penalty. T admit that the violations oceurred. | have:
{ ] Enclosed 3450 in payment of the penalty

[ }Submitted my pdymml of 3450 online at www.utc.wa.pov. My contirmation
number is

{ ]2 Request for a hearing, | belicve that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person 1o present argument (o an administrative law judge fora
decision by an administrative law judge:

Application for mitigation, | admit the violations, but [ believe that the penalty shoutd
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

ok dime . 1 was rawose
Iw?ﬁd% Avff%&m;% \,ﬁl&% b !!qﬂ n Cox o

Luh ﬁxmc hnue ?wepad%:.‘fm B0 00 Sha.
3 Ff)(%f earing for m edd be on -rL__“

{ 1a) task a decision by an adnums!mtwe law judge d:»u.! ont ‘fu. t%’i-,
information presented above. We apie
OR p{] by I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information | g( Yl vepuitg
present dircctly ahove, \We Were

wowart ik

" 1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, Yyetule

including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct, Lm‘ Hedk T

Dated: Mgﬂ&\:‘“‘,w_{mnmhfday/year], at 'POJ%‘U(—) J NA‘ {city, state] Mg (?. 6\[:}0&
TS TRAPOET D Re— ____..._QQ’”‘“\ i
Name of Respondent (company) —~ please print Sigfiature of Applicant o f\j‘ N

o n}h L
................................. W M5m ‘\a
RCW 9A.72.020: gawe Wa N F
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person s guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official Ve it
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath W.y){? 1 dut :
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the mateniality of the statement is not an in M ﬂgym

elemnent of this crime, and the aclor's mistaken belicf that his statement was not material is not a
defense 10 a prosecution under this section. (3} Perjury in the first degree is a class B fefony.” N od 3(, |
woowiali he
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-126929 PAGE2

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not oceur, you may reguest
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW £1.04.405. -

You have the right to present your request for review or further mitigation at a hearing, but you
are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative
law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notily you of his or her
decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

»  Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Pleasc indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilitics and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice,

If you do not aet within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attomey General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty,

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 24, 2012,

Nk

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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Attachment B

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 $. Evergreen Park Dr. W, PO, Box 47230 + Olympla, Washinglon 93504.7250
(360) 664-1160 » TTY (360} 5386-5203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulailory Fees are due May |

State taw requires you (o file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilitics
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
s Complete and file ong paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
repord form
«  Pay your 2012 regulatory foos

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

thne?
if you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May I, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day afler May |
that 1he report is not filed and $160 for each business day after May | the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penaltics in response to the assessment you receive, after you
have fited a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees, The amount of the
penallies the UTC mitigates, if any. will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years. If you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staf? will initiate proceedings 1o have the UTC reveoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 1?
If you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a | percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amaounts apply in addition o the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day after
May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may fife a written request for an extension 1o file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any exiension request must be
Nted with the UTC by Apnil 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a spevific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notity you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

&2 ' O
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your regisiration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our wehsite (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
ot the months ol operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration or permit.

May you desipnate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are cligible 10 request confidential treatment only i’ your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, i you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companics, regutated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents because the authority {or such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential,

(2) You must follow the steps for liting confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rude at the UTC website, wavw.ate wiLgovfiannual reports.

Please note: The repulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule, The UTC will not, howaever,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheel.

May you perform some of these fusks online?
Yes. You may complete the Tollowing tasks from the annual repodts page at the UTC
website www.bile. wa. gov/annualreports:

s Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms

s Pay regulatory foes

o File your report electronicatly

s Cancel your registration (telecommunications companies) or permit {iransportation
companies) if vour company ceased operations in 2011,

Where do you mail the completed annuai report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Uhilities and Transpontation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additinnal information you should file?
» If you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
vour Federal Energy Regutatory Commission Formn 2.
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February 29, 2012
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» If you are an eleciric company, please also file both a paper and ¢lectronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission For |

« If you are a class T Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surf‘acc Transporiation Board
Form R-1 - including staiisties specifie 1o the state of Washington.

I vou have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Cames at (360) 664-1132 or rcames(@uic. wa.gov,

11 you need this Jetter or an annual report form in an aktéma:c format, please call 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toil-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289. '

Sincerely,

Moo

David W, Danner
Executive Director and Secretury

Enclosures
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Attachment C

STATE OF WASHINGHON
WASHINGTOMN UTILITIES AN IRANSPORTATTON COMMISSION

12841 S, Frergrecn Park D 8.0, RO, Box 47250 « Olympia, Wabington $@50-4-7250
(360} GO 116D » THY (360) 586 #2013

May 15, 2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

Your 2011 annual report to the Utifities and Transportation Commission {commnission} was due
an May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of SH0 per day began accruing on May 2,

As of the date of this letter, you huve ncerned a penalty of $900, That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you faif to comply.

This tetter tells you swhat you can do fo mitigate vour penaity,

I the commission receives your report postinarked no fitey than May 25, conmnission staft
will mitigate your penitlty to $25 per day. Additional penakies of $23 per day will be added for
each year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on lhe conimission's website al wwav ute.wa gov. If you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinsonfdule, wa,eoy.

Sincercly,

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary -~
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VERIFICATION OF TRAINING RECEIVED
This documant is used lo recard completion of tralning in specific toples Important to the operations of
household goods carriers operating in the Slate of Washington. It will become pan of the motor
cartiar file maintained by the Commission,
Name of HHG Company (as registered) and Permit No. Data of Training  Nama of Trainer{(s)
3PS Troapedt  THE-EH30  Jp-t-df
Name of Attendee (please print clearty) Phone Number Email address
 Sorablm S i B3 iy Froagrdeasy
Regulation : subjact
Applicability/Definitions/Acronyms e _] S
Diug and Alcohol Testing Jf .
Pre-Employment Drug Testing _ J {
Post Accidant Testing j <.
Random Testing _J { o
Selection & Notification J.s
Reasonable Suspicion Testing j 4
Subpart B Prohibitions Jg
Drug & Alcohal Policy Js
Consequences for Engaging In Drug & Alcohol Lise J (4
Commarcial Driver's License
Vehicles that require a COL/Endorsements , Jf :
Qualitications for Drivers 3.4
Entry Level Driver Training ' J 5.
Driver Qualification File J.5
Muitiple Employer Driver J 5
Drivar Operations J <
inspaction and Use of Equipment ' 7, ¢
Pre-Trip Inspection ) {
Accident Register J g
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Hours of Service J 5‘
Maximum Driving Times J g
34- Hour Restan ) 5
Non-CDL Drivers Shon-Haul Exception J 5
16-Hour Short Haul Exception 3.8,
100 Alr Mile Radius Driver 5.8
Driver's Duty Status Record ) ,{.
Driver's Log Book Requirements ) 5,
inspection, Repair & Maintenance Records 3.4
Driver Vehicle Inspection Report J§ _

Periodic Inspection

Marking of Motor Vehicles

Equipment Leasing
Safsty Compliance Review (CR)

Permlts

P
[y

N

A |

Annual Reports & Ragulatory Fees

Insuraice

-

Advertising
Estimates (and cube shast)

Consumer Information (brochure)

A

S 1O [ 8 G S Loy

Loss & Damage Protection (Vailuation) ;
Rates (Hourly-Raled Moves) .
Rates (Mileage-Rated Movas) <.
Storage 5‘
Bill of Lading J.
J.

A

Complainis and Claims




