STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ° TTY (360) 586-8203

August 2, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr, SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Quick Move Transport, LLC
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-120942

Dear Mr, Danner:

On July 24, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $250
Mitigated Penalty Assessment in docket TV-120942 against Quick Move Transport, LLC for 10
violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires permitted
household goods carriers to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May | each
year.

On July 30, 2012", Quick Move Transport, LLC wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Quick Move Transport, LLC does not
dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “Last April, I checked the UTC website
and thought I saw the annual report due date as May 15" When submitting the report on the 5%
I became aware of the actual may 1™ deadline. It was an incident caused by a simple mistake, and
one that will not happen again.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated household goods carriers. On May 15, 2012, the commission mailed
a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to date,
they had incurred a penalty of $900. The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their
annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day,
with an additional $25 per day for each instance in the previous five years that the company
received a penalty for filing a late report.

Quick Move Transport, LLC filed its annual report on May 15, 2012, which is 10 business days
past the deadline of May 1, 2012, The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day
for a total of $250. Quick Move Transport, LLC became regulated in April 2009 and has never
received a penalty for filing a delinquent annual report.

| See attachment for Quick Move Transfer, LLC Mitigation Request.
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Staff supports mitigating the assessed penalty further, from $250 to $125, which represents a 50
percent reduction because this is Quick Move Transport’s first late filing.

If you have any questions, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360)
664-1105, or at Mperkinson{@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-126%12

PLEASE NOTE: You must eomplete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 13 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

1 have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statemients under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 13, am competent 1o testify to the

matters set forth below and [ have personal knowledge of thosc matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following stalements,

[ 1L P'wment of penalty. I admit that the violations cceurred. lh‘NO \V\UN%

{ ] Enclosed $230 in payment of the penalty N ﬁ o 5
!\E nli

[ ] Submined my payment 0f 3250 online al www.ufe.wa.gov.
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[ ]2 Request for 2 hearing. | believe that one or more of the alleged violations 3! noi= 7

occur, based on the follomng information, and request a hearing, which is a&ows‘@

that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law Jtﬁ_e i
decision by an admintstrative kaw judge:

[33)
[x] 3. Application for miuualiun 1 admit the violations, but I believe that the pmalh@muid

be reduced for (hc reason(s) set out beltow,
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[ ]a) I'lsk for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.

OR [ b) [ waivea heuring and ask for an administrative decision on the information |

present directly above.

1 declare under penalty of perjury under the faws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information [ have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 7/ :3.7/ e [month/day/year), at "‘\ crleaa; L WA [eity, state]
(\gs 3 4/ H BIVE Tf&‘fis ‘Ur‘r LL‘C’ %f‘ q{/ 6/’%

Name of Rupondcnl (t.ompanﬁ please pring Signature off\ppjﬂ:anl
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RCW 9A.72.020: oFE .
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first d‘.uraé sf‘ln any focm!%*;
proceading he makes a materially false statement which he knows (o be fal s ildér an &h *'
required or authorized by law, () Knowledge of the materiality of the statemeﬁg}s not & e
clement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was B piateridids uoga =

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pegury in the first degree is a'class B f‘e{i;nv ”;,‘”_,
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