STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W,, P.O. Box 47250 ° Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 © TTY (360) 586-8203

August 9, 2012

David W, Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Metropolitan Movers, Inc.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-120929

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 24, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $400
Mitigated Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-120929 against Metropolitan Movers, Inc. for 16
violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires permitted
household goods companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1
each year.

On August 6, 2012, Metropolitan Movers, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Metropolitan Movers, Inc. does not
dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “1. Due to down-sizing, the person
responsible for filing this report is no longer with the company, which resulted in a bit of
confusion as to the actual filing deadline date (somehow believed to be May 31), and therefore a
delay in the filing of the required annual report. We have since inputted the due dates with
instructions and procedures onto our company calendar as a reoccurring event to avoid any
recurrence of this incident in the future. 2. We believe this admitted mistake on our part will not
be repeated, and given that we have already paid our regulatory fees of $146.46, we therefore
humbly request that this penalty be waived.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 20122, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated permitted household goods companies. In addition to other
information, the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report
form, pay any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012 to avoid enforcement
action. On May 15, 2012%, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet
filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $900. The letter
went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012,

| See attachment A for a copy of Metropolitan Movers, Inc.’s Mitigation Request.

2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.

3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 15, 2012,
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day, with an additional $25 per day for each instance in the previous five years that the company
received a penalty for filing a late report.

Metropolitan Movers, Inc. filed its annual report on May 23, 2012, which is 16 business days
past the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day
for a total of $400. Metropolitan Movers, Inc. has held permanent household goods authority
since January 1999 and received a penalty for filing a delinquent annual report in 2005.

Based on the company’s delinquent annual report filling in the past, staff does not support
mitigating the assessed penalty further and recommends the request be denied.

If you have any questions, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360)
664-1105, or at Mperkinson(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

A=V~ F

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications



Attachment A SERVICE DATE

JuL 2412012
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-120929
PENALTY AMOUNT: $400

-t
According to the Commission’s records, you have committed a violation of Comiriission niig:
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires permitted household™
goods companies (o file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year and pay +
regulatory fees annually on that date, You are classified as a household goods company.

Commission records show that you did not {ile an annual report or pay annual regulatory fees by
May 1, 2012,

=
Metropolitan Movers, Ing. = sl
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Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and
distinet offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance shall be and
be deemed to be a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-15-480 as continuing violations, giving rise to penalties of $100 for each day a
company fails to make each requisite filing afier the date on which it was due.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penaltics against you in the
armount $400 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed 2011 Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to ail permitted household goods companies
registered in Washington state. A letter from the commission's Executive
Secretary David W. Danner, instructed these companies to file annual reports and
pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2012, The letter stated failure to file the annual
report by May 1 would result in a penalty and possible cancellation of the
company’s permit to operate in Washington. Those companies wishing to request
an extension to file the annual report were asked to do so prior to Aprit 24,
providing a reason for the requested extension. You did nol request an extension.

Metropolitan Movers, Inc. filed its annual report on May 23, 2012, which is 16
business days past the deadline of May 1. The penalty was mitigated from $100
per day 1o $235 per day for a total of $400.



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-120929 PAGE 2

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not oceur, you may request
a hearing (o contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty, See
RCW 81.04.405. -

You have the right to present your request for review or further mitigation at a hearing, but you
are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative
law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and nolify you of his ot her
decision,

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

¢ Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing 1o contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Pleasc indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFFEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Altorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty,

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 24, 2012,

AL

OREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-120929

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days afler you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if needed.

Fhave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and [ have personal knowledge of those matiers. | hereby make, under
oath, the following staternents,

[M] 3. Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but 1 believe that the penahy should
he reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

1. Due to down-sizing, the person responsible for filing this report is no Junger
with the company, which resulted in a bit of confusion as to the actual filing
deadline date (somehow believed to be May 31}, and therefore a delay in the
filing of the required annual report. We have since inputted the due dates
with instructions and procedures onto our company calendar as a
reoceurring event to avoid any recurrence of this incident in the future,
We believe this admitted mistake on our part will not be repeated, and gixen
that we have already paid our regulatory fees of $146.46, we lhcrcﬁg}: =

humbly request that this penalty be waived. L E
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[ 1 a) 1asklora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on®the
information presented above,

OR [ ] b) | waiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information |
present divectly above,

R

BN

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washinglon that the foregoing,
inchuding information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated:g_*«:?“ .;ZOJ,;L {mOllﬂ'lz"da}'fyearL m&_, (72 ff—(‘c’—ww‘i}:’m [city, siate]
“’/72’. fbrnd MoEes Ine _Qm m& o0 )

ne of Riespondent (company - please print ( . £ Applicant /Z?éCU?L - /ﬂ(uz{(zxtc

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in nny ofticial
proceeding he makes a materially alse statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by aw. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
efement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not &
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




Attachment B

SYATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 $. Evergreen Park Dr, S.W. RO, Box 47250 * Olympis, Washington 98504-7250
(160 641160 ¢ TTY (360} 586-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State taw requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilitics
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
s Complete and file gne paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
report form
s Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company's completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penaity of $100 for each business day after May 1
that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day afier May | the fees are unpaid,
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UFC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years. If you have not fifed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate proceedings 1o have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May |, you will incur & 2 percent
penally on the amount due and a | percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance,
These amounts apply in addition 1o the assessment of a penalty of 5100 per business day alter
May | that the fees are unpaid,

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to {ile your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

- o




UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if you fail to pay your
reguiatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1} You are eligible to request confidential treatinent only if your company is regulated under
Titte 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companies, repulated under Tite 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www, ute, wa gov/annual reports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card infornmation you list on the fee sheet,

May yon perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may compleie the foilowing tasks from the anmual reports page at the UTC
website wavw, e, wa.gov/annualreports:

Qbtain clectronic versions of annuai report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cancel your registration {telecommunications companies) or permit (transportation

companies) il your company ceased operations in 201,

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commnission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
» I[fyou are a pas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Comunission Form 2,




UTC Annval Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page3

e I you are an electric company, please also lile both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form |,

* If you are a class 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific o the state of Washington,

If you have guestions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or rearnesi@ute. Wa.gov.

If you need this fetter or an annual report form in an altemate format, please call 360-664-1243, The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is £-300-416-5289.

Sincerely,

Aicd

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Seeretary

Enclosures




Attachment C

STATE OF WASTINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AN TRANSPORTATION COMMISSHON

1308 S, Feorgreen Park D S.W, RO Box 47250 « Olympia, Washinglon 99304-7250
(264) 664-1 160 = TTY (2600 336-8203

May 15,2012
NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention: .

Your 2011 annual report o the Utilities and Transportation Commission (conymission} was due
on May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on May 2.

As of the date of this letter, you have acerned a pennlty of $980, That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what you ean do to mitigate your penalty.

If the commission receives your report postmarked no Inter than May 25, commission staft’
witl mitigate your penalty to $23 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for
cach year you have fifed late in the past five years, up to o maximum of $100 per day.

Aamnual report forms are available on the commission’s website at wwawvatte.wa,zoy. If you have
questions or require additional informalion, plense comtact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360) 664-11035 or mperkinsongdute. wa.gov, .

Sincerely,

Mook

David W. Danner
Execeutive Director and Secretary




