STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.,, P.O. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 » TTY (360) 586-8203

October 22, 2012

David W, Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Can't Stop Moving, LLC
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-120918

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 23, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,125
Mitigated Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-120918 against Can’t Stop Moving, LLC for 15
violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires permitted
household goods companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1
each year.

On August 13,2012, Can’t Stop Moving, LLC wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Can’t Stop Moving, LLC does not
dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “We realize we made a mistake and sent
in the report as soon as we received the late notice. We would appreciate any leniency that could
be given, and we pledge to have paperwork filed and submitted on time in the future. Thank you
for your consideration.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 20122, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated permitted household goods companies. In addition to other
information, the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report
form, pay any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012 to avoid enforcement
action. On May 15, 2012°, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet
filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $900. The letter
went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012,
would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day for each
instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report.

1 See attachment A for a copy of Can’t Stop Moving, LLC’s Mitigation Request.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 212.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 15, 2012.
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Can’t Stop Moving, LLC, filed its annual report on May 23, 2012, which is 15 business days past
the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day fora
total of $375. Can’t Stop Moving, LLC. has held permanent household goods authority since
October 2009 and received a penalty for failing to file annual reports by the deadline in 2010 and
2011. The prior penalties increase the current penalty by an additional $50 per day for a total of
$750.

Based on the company’s delinquent annual report filing in the past, staff does not support
mitigating the assessed penalty further and recommends the request be denied.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360} 664-1105 or at mperkinson@uic.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Jlwalace

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications



Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-120918

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 13 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if nceded

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making faise

statements under oath is a class B felony, | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth befow and | have personal knowledge of those manters, | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

(1L

Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violations occurred.  have

182

{ 1Enctosed $1,125 in payment of the penaity

o
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pott]
e

\.j{}"}
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[ ]Submitted my puymem of $1,125 online at www.ute. wa.gov, My xonﬂhﬂatw
numnber is

6 Wi S\ﬂml

Request for a hearing, [ believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not -
oceur, based on the fellowing information, and request a hearing, which is a process™

that allows an affected person to present argument o an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

X4 3.

Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but T believe that the penalty should
be n:duced for the reason{s) set out belov

e realize wc ru e e m.s?.. Le Mi seal in fle re rx‘ as ;OM
we reeeved the [ale nofice, Ve euld

aPPrgcu-')!t an (‘m!v\‘( M{J
be qiven, l.qcl we pfecijc fo hove pe arerte Eoled EsobaHed! on -hme My
the (\v{um. Thaalt You Lor Your co”s:der.. fon

1 1 a) Fask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
or M v i

£ waive a hearing and ask for an administranve decision on the infonmation I
present directly above.

I declare under penally of petjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: & /SA.L {month/day/year}, at Sed.l‘l!/t; UA [city, statc)
Ecie Mihelson

Name of Respondent (company) - please print Signature of Appticant

RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or muthorized by taw. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statentent is not an
¢lement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under Gis section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is 4 class B felony.”
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Attachment B

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1200 5. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.0O. Box 47250 + Olympls, Washington 98504-7150
(360 6641760 « TTY (160} 586-52D3
February 29,2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May |

State lnow requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilithes
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
¢  Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 201 | annual
report form
o Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not tile your company's completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after May 1
that the report is not filed and $100 for cach business day afier May 1 the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regutatory fees. The amount of the
penaltics the UTC mitigates, if any, witl depend on the reasons you were Jate and whether
vou have filed late in prior years, 1f you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your autherity to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
if you do not pay your company's regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a | percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day after
May | that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
liled with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annuat report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

© oo - N {3
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
Pebmary 29,2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if you fail fo pay vour
regujatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no lenger operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation fornms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any inforniation in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

{1) Youare cligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companics, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
contidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095. If a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential,

(2} You must follow the steps for {iling confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160, You
may find this rde at the UTC website, www.ute. wa,zov/annual reports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is nol a contidential document
and will not be aceorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credif card information you list on the tee sheet.

May you perform some of these tagks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual repors page at the UTC
website www.nte. wa.gov/annualreports:

Obtain ¢lectronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cancet your regisimtion (telecommunications companies) or permit (lransportation
companies) if your company ceased operations in 201 1.

. & 2 @

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission '
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
» [f you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2,
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February 19, 2012
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o If you are an electric company, please also file both a puper and electronic copy of your
Federal Iinergy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

« I you pre aclass 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington,

11" you have questions about any aspect of your report ar regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Carnes ai (360) 664-1152 or meatrnesiduic. wa.gov.

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an afternate format, please call 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289,

Sincerely,

oo A

David W. Danner
Fxecutive Director and Secretary

Enclosures
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Attachment C

STATE OF WASTHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSFORTATION COMMISSION

F3HE 8, Fveagreess Pack D S, RO, By 47250+ Ulysipia, Washinglon 9U50-1-7250
(3601 664-1168 « TUY (360} 5861207

Muay 15,2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

Your 201 | annwal report te the Utilities and I ransportation Commission {conumission) was due
an May 1, as required by law, Financial penalties of $100 per day began aceruing on May 2.

As of the date of this letter, you have ncerued n penabty of 3208, That penalty wil! increase by
$100 per day for cach subsequent day you fail to comply.

o can do to mitigate your penalty,

This letter tells you what

[f the commission receives your report postimarked no lafer than May 25, conunission staftf
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added tor
each year you have filed late in the past five years, up to o maximum of 160 per day.

Annual report forms are avsilable on the commission's website at wyav, e, wigov, I you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360) 6641105 or mperkinsonzaute. wa,goy.

Sineerely,

7. y
tf:i Z—-"'*/JL./ (:,/é.-q.‘.._“’_"#...

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

]
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