STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o TTY (360) 586-8203

December 18, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Ulilities and Transportation Commission v. A-1 Premium Moving
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-120903

Dear Mr, Danner:

On July 23, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100
Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-120903 against A-1 Premium Moving for 21 violations of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires permitted household
goods carriers to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.

On August 6, 2012, A-1 Premium Moving wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). !'In its Mitigation Request, A-1 Premium Moving does not
dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “I missed place [sic] the annual Report
and thought I had given it to my accountant to file. I later found out that she had not received it,
so [ am filing it now.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012, Annual Re%mrt forms and Regulatory Fee
packets were mailed to all regulated household goods carriers. “ The cover letter informed the
regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay any regulatory fees, and return
the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement action. On May 15, 2012, the commission
mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to
date, they had incurred a penalty of $900. 3 The letter went on to explain that companies who
filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25
per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be assessed for each instance in the previous

| See attachment A for a copy of A-1 Premium Moving’s Mitigation Request.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 15, 2012.
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five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report, up to a maximum of $100
per day.

A-1 Premium Moving did not file its annual report by May 31, 2012, which is 21 business days
past the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty is $100 per day for a total of $2,100, A-1 Premium
Moving became regulated in July 2010 and has never received a penalty for filing a delinquent
annual report. The commission received A-1 Premium Moving’s completed annual report on
August 6, 2012, Therefore, staff supports mitigating the assessed penalty from $2,100 to $1,050,
which represents a 50 percent reduction because this is A-1 Premium Moving’s first late filing.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105, or at mperkinson(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

[(?\%LQ/ 6}&/56\/) i
Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
FENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-120903

PLEASE NOTE: You must conplets and sign this document, snd seed it to the Canmission
within 15 days sfter you receive the penally assessment. Uso additional papor if needed.

have read nnd enderstond RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under outh is a clasa I3 felony. [ am over the age of 18, om compelent to testify to the
matters set forth below and | have personat knowledge of those matters. | hercby make, under
oath, the following statements.

| } & Payment of penalty, § admil that the violstions occurred, 1 have:

[ }Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penally

wge- P BALA

[ TSubnsitted my payment of §2,100 online st wwwiute,wa. gov. My confirmati
numberis :

{ ]2 Request for a heasing, § believes that onoe or more of the alleged vielations did nok.:
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearfng, which is a proce
that allows an affected person 10 present argument to an administrative law judge for s
decision by an administrative law judge:

3. Applicatlon for maligation, [ admitthe \nolauons. but 1 beliove that the pcm\liy shoutd
be reduced for the reason{s) st oul below,

T wessed ploce tbe annual Qeack aud Shougls
Vit adtoubnal Ao §; l.‘,, R
g e (\‘“3 ¥ wok

\A(\(‘ Mewn 1“ 1o
aber ol uf’L ILML she. WAzl wot e

[ 12 laskforahearing for a decision by an sdministmtive law judge based on the
information presented above,
ORr Pq b) 1waive ahearing end ask foran nalmnustralwo decision on the information ]
* presend directly nbov.,

T declere under pacﬁaliy of parjury undcr the Jaws of the State of Washinglon that the foregolng,
including information 1 have presented on any allachments, is true and comeet,

Dated: _ﬁ/j_ Jroia {month/dayfyeatl, Vi LOMVEGr [“L.J £y fehty, state)

;lMﬁM AT—
MNane of Respondent {company) - *ascpnn! ~Stgprmtint of Applicant

RCW 9A. 72 020

“Perjury in the first degree, (1) A person is guilty of perury in the first degree if in any ofiicial
procecding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or aithorized by law. {2) Knowtedge of the materialily of the slatement is net an
clement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken bokief that his statement was not meterial is nota
defense 1o prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degeee is a class B felany,”
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Attachment B

© STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S, Evergreen Park Dr. SAV,, P.O. Box 47250 » Olympis, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664:1160 » TV (360) 586-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
»  Completc and file one paper copy o electronic version of the ¢nclosed 2011 annual
report form
s Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annuat report and pay regulatery fees on

time?
1f youi do not file your company's completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after May |
that the report is not filed and S100 for cach business day afler May 1 the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penaltles in response to the assessmient you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were fate and whether
you have filed lnte in prior years, If you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staft will initiate proceedings to have the UTC reveke
your authority 1o operate in Washington.

What happens if you do nat pay the regulatory fees by May 1?7
If you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 pereent
penalty on the amount due and a | percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penaity of $100 per business day after
May | that the fees are unpald.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable (o file the annuat report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may filc a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will lile your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denjed, Even if your request

L v ﬂ
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
Febyuary 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if you fail to pay your
regubatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if yeur company is no fonger operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registeation or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registrotion or pernit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, butif you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You arc cligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you eperate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companics, regulated under Title 8) RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents beeause the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095. I a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidentiad,

(2) You musi follow the steps for filing confidentini documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, waww.ute,wi.gov/annual reports.

Pleasc nate: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded contidential ireatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet.

May you perforin some of these tasks online?
Yes, You may complete the Tollowing tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website www.uie. wa.goviannualeports:

Obfain efectronic versions ol annuni report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cancel your registration (telecommunications companies) or pemait (transportation
companies) if your company ceased operations in 2011,

LI I

Where do you mail the completed annual veport form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
e [fyon are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Forin 2.
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« If you arc an electric company, please also file both a paper and clectronic copy of your
Federal Encrgy Regutatory Commission Form 1,

o I yousre aclass 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific 1o the state of Washington,

I you have questions abott any aspect of yous report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Cames at (360) 664-1152 or rearmes@uic. wa.gov.

I you need this letter or an annval report form in an alternate format, please call 360-664-1243, The

TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289.

Sincerely,

J.J&/ </=

David W. Danner

" Executive Director and Sceretary

Enclosuses
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Attachment C

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

12100 8. vergeeen Park D SV, RO, Box 47250 ¢ Olympla, Woshington 90504-7250
(360) G64-1160 ¢ TTY (360) 586-8203

May 15,2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

Your 201 1 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) was due
on May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began aceruing on May 2,

As of the date of this letter, you have ncerued a penalty of $900, That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for cach subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what you can do to mitigate your penalty,

I the commission receives your report postmarked no Iater than May 25, commission staft
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for
cach year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission's website at www,ute.wa.gov. If you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinsongdute.\wa,gov,

Sincerely,

(_ﬂ’“}(t/ C,%L._w_.

David W. Danner
Exeeutive Director and Seeretary




