STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 © Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 © TTY (360) 586-8203

August 9,2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Career Path Services
Employment & Training
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TN-120894

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 11, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $300
Mitigated Penalty Assessment in Docket TN-120894 against Career Path Services Employment
& Training for 21 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-31-080, which
requires non-profit transportation providers to furnish annual reports to the commission no later
than May 1 each year.

On July 26, 2012', Career Path Services Employment & Training wrote the commission
requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Career Path
Services Employment & Training does not dispute that the violation occurred. The company
states, “I request that this penalty be reduced due to my administrative oversight. Additionally, I
have created a monthly checklist of duties and this annual procedure has been added to my
monthly checklist so this is not missed in the future.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 20122, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated non-profit transportation providers. In addition to other information,
the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay
any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012 to avoid enforcement action. On May
14, 2012° , the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual
report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $800. The letter went on to
explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive
mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day for each instance in the
previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report.

1 See attachment A for a copy of Career Path Services Employment & Training Mitigation Request.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012,
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012,
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Career Path Services Employment & Training filed its annual report on May 17, 2012, which is
12 business days past the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day
to $25 per day for a total of $300. Career Path Services Employment & Training became
regulated in September 1995 and has never received a penalty for filing a delinquent annual
report.

Staff supports mitigating the assessed penalty from $300 to $150, which represents a 50 percent
reduction because this is Career Path Services Employment & Training’s first late filing.

If you have any questions, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360)
664-1105, or at Mperkinson(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: IN-12894 '
PENALTY AMOBET: 8b0
QT &2

CAREER PATH SERVICES EMPLOYMENT & TRAINING
10 NORTH POST STREET

SUITE 200

SPOKANE, WA 99201
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According to the Commission's records, you have committed a violation of Commission rule:
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-31-080, which requires non-profit bus companies
to file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year and pay regulatory fees annually
on that date. You are classified as a non-profit bus company. Commission records show that you,
did not file an annual report or pay annual regulatory fees by May 1, 2012,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Conmission niles. Fach and every such violation shall be 4 separate and
distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance shall be and

be deemed to be a separate and distinet violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-31-080 as continuing violations, giving rise to penalties of $100 for cach day a
company fails to make each requisite filing afier the date on which it was due.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amoustt 3300 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2012, the Conumission mailed 2011 Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to ali non-profit bus companies registered in
Washington state. A letter from the commission's Executive Secretary David W,
Danner, instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory lees
by May 1, 2012, The letter stated failure to file the annual report by May | would
result in a penalty and possible cancellation of the company®s permit to operate in
Washington. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual
report were asked to do so prior to April 24, providing a reason for the requested
extension. You did not request an exiension.

Career Path Services Employment & Training filed its annual report on May 17,
2012, which is 12 business days past the deadline of May 1. The penalty was
mitigated from 5100 per day to $25 per day for a total of $300.



PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-1208894 PAGE2

Your penalty is due and payable now, If you believe the violation did net occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 81.04.405,

You have the right to present your request for review or further mitigation at a hearing, but you
are ot required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Briel Adjudicative Proceeding, before an adiministrative
faw judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her
decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to de one of the following:

s Pay the amount due,
+ Request a heuring lo contest the occurrence of the violations,
* Reguest mitigation to contest the amount of the penally.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it 1o the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice,

Il you do net act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attomey General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 1, 2012,

P

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTTLITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-1208%4

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper il needed.

| have read and understand RCW 9A,72.020 (printed betow), which states that making false

statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matlers set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters. [ hereby médif:, undgs
oath, the following statements.
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Payment of penalty, | admil that the violations occurred, ! have:
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{ ]Enclosed $300 in payment of the penalty

is
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{ ] Submilted my payment of $300 online at www.utc wa.pov. My confirmation
number is .

gn:8 WY 920U

Request for a hearing, [ believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process

that atlows an affected person 1o present argument to an administrative faw judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge: “n
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Application for mitigation, T admit the violations, but 1 believe that the pen
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,
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[ 1 a) !@ask forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.

OR 174’ b} 1 waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the infonmation |
present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the {oregoing
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: j fz_%/ \L [month/day/year], at

/Wcmrh Ay~

Name of Respondent (confphny) ~ please print

__ [eity, state]

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
¢lement of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material isnota
defense to a prosecution under this section, (3) Perjury in the first degres is a class B felony,”
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To: Washington Ulilities and Transportation Commission '
CAREER PATH
From: Juanita Gray, HR Manager SERVICES

Career Path Services

10 N Post, Suite 200

Spokane, WA 895201

509.323.1259

jgray@careerpathservices org

Date: July 24, 2012

Re: Response Penalty Assessment TN-120894

As a newer employee to our nonprofit organization and the transition of hew job duties this annual
requirement was inadvertently not completed and paid. As soon as | realized it had not been
completed or our annual amounts paid | called to report and pay the owed amounts via online.

i request that this penally be reduced due to my administrative oversight. Additionally, | have created

a monthly checklist of duties and this annual procedure has been added to my monthly checklist so
this is not missed in the future.

Thank you for the consideration for a penaity reduction.

Juanita Gray, HR Manager
Career Path Services
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Attachment B

SYATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park De. S0V, P.O. Box 42250 ¢ Olympia, Washinglon 93504-7250
(260} 664-1160 » TIY (160} 586-3203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to fle an annual report and pay regufatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must: .
« Compleic and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
report form
«  Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do net file 2 completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
if you do naot file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penafty of $100 for each business day afier May |
that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day afler May | the fees are unpald.
You may seek mitigation ot the penalties in response (o the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed ammual report and patd your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you wers late and whelher
you have filed Jate in prior years. If you have not liled your completed annuai report or paid
your regulatery fees by June 1, 2012, Siaf¥ will initiote proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate In Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If vou do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will inear a 2 percent
penally on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance,
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penally of 5100 per business day after
May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unabie to file the annual report or pay
your reguiatory fees o Hine?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, bui the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an

extension and identify a specific date by which you will Rle your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

wadifgpn s A




UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest paymients if you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May |,

What sheuld you do if your company is ao longer operating in Washington?
You may cance! your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), hut if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay repulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
oa Lhe months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only it your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that 33, il you operate an eleetric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companics, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents becanse (he authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095, If a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee shect as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential,

(2) You musi follow the steps for filing confidential docuntents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.utesva,goviannual reports.

Please note: The regutatory fee sheet portion of your repert is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule, The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes, You may complete the following lasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website www nte.wa.govanpualreports:

Oblain electronic versions of annteal report {orms

Pay regulatory fees

File your repont electronically

Cancel your registration (lelecommunieations companies) or permit (transportation
companies) if your company censed operations in 2011,

. & & @

Where do you mail the completed anaual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Comumission
PO Box 47230
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional information you should fite?
¢ If you are a pas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.




UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page 3

s If you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

¢ If you are a class 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-| - including statistics specific to the state of Washington.

If you have questions about any aspect of your report of regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Eynn Cames at (360) 664-1152 or reames/Zule.wi.goy.

1 you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate lormat, please call 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toil-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289,

Sincerely,

Ty

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures




Attachment C

STATE OF WASTHNGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
FIO0 8, Evesproen Park D SV, 10O, Hox 42250 « Ofympls, Washington 235047250
300} G- g « TTY (2600 SR4-3200

May 14, 2012

NOTICHE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

Your 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission {commission) was due
on May 1, as required by low, Financial penahties of $100 per day began aceruing on May 2.

As of the date of this letter, you have acerued a penalty of $800. That penaity will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what yon can do fo mitigate vouwr penally,

If the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 25, commission staff
will mitigate your penally 1o $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day wilt be added for
each year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are avaiiable on the conunission’s website at www.utgwa.gov, I you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance
Investipator, at (360) 6641105 or mperkinsoni@ute, wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Mf.ﬁ Lo € i

David W, Danner
Executive Director and Secretary
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