STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 » TTY (360) 586-8203

September 12, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Ultilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Cristalina L.L.C.
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UW-120861

Dear Mr. Danner;

On July 13, 2012', the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100
Penalty Assessment in docket UW-120861 against Cristalina L.L.C. (Cristalina) for 21 violations
of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-110-505, which requires water companies to
furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year. The penalty assessment
instructed Cristalina to complete and sign the document, and send it to the commission within 15
days after receiving it. Cristalina had until July 28, 2012 to file its response.

On August 16, 20127, Cristalina wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties
(Mitigation Request), which is 29 days past the service date of July 13, 2012. In its Mitigation
Request, Cristalina does not disputes the violations occurred and states, “We submitted the report
on (blank). My assistant made a copy and filed it when we received notice it was late we
resubmitted the report. We do not believe we should incur a fine and we will send it registered
mail next year. We are a small company worth no $.”

Staff determined the annual was dated April 28, 2012, however it was not received by the
commission until May 29, 2012. The company was informed, on the same day, the report was
incomplete. :

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012°, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated water companies. In addition to other information, the cover letter
informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay any regulatory
fees and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement action. The letter also stated a
company may file a written request for an extension, however the request must be filed with the

1 See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on July 13, 2012 to Cristalina L.L.C.
2 See attachment B for a copy of Cristalina’s Mitigation Request received by the commission on August 16, 2012.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012,
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with the date the report will be filed. The company did not file a request for an extension. On
May 14, 2012%, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an
annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $800. The letter went on
to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would
receive mitigated penaltics of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day for each instance in the
previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report. The company had
substantial time and sufficient notice to file its annual report, if not by the May 1 deadline.

As of September 6, 2012, the commission has not received a completed annual report from
Cristalina. Cristalina did not file its annual report by May 31, 2012, which is 21 business days
past the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty is $100 per business day for a total of $2,100.
Cristalina became regulated in February 2003 and received one penalty of $100, for a violation
of WAC 480-110-505, which requires water companies to furnish annual reports to the
commission no later than May 1 each year.

Staff does not support mitigating the assessed penalty of $2,100. Cristalina failed to file its
response within the 15 day timeframe required for the commission to consider mitigation. Staff
recommends denying the mitigation request.

If you have any questions, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360)

664-1105, or at mperkinson(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

/. litliee

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

4 See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company of May 14, 2012,



Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT; UW-120861
PENALTY AMOUNT: 82,100

CRISTALINA L.L.C.
PG BOX 2626
BELLINGHAM, WA 98227

According lo the Commission’s records, you have commitied a violation of Commisston rule;
Washington Administrative Code {WAC) 430-110-505, which requires permitted water
companies to file annual reports with the Commission by May | cach year and pay regulatory
tees annually on that date. You are classified as a water company, Commission records show thal
you did not file an annval report or pay annual regulatory fees by May 1, 2012,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Convmission (o assess penalties off
3100 for violutions of Commission rules, Each and every such violation shall be a separate and
distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violalion, every day’s continuance shall be and
be deemed to be a separate and distinet violation. The Commission interprets noncompliunce
with WAC 480-110-503 as conliting violations, giving rise to penalties of $100 for each day a
company fails to make each requisite filing afler the date on which it was due.

As a result, the Commission herehy notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount $2,100 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed 2011 Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets (o all water companies registered in Washington
state. A letter from the commission’s Executive Secretary David W. Danner,
instrucied these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May
1, 2012, The letter stated failure to file the annual report by May | would result in
a penalty and possible cancellation of the company's permit 1o operate in
Washington. Those companics wishing to request an extension to file the annual
reporl were asked to do so prior to April 24, providing a reason for the requested
extension. You did aot request an extension,

Cristadina L.L.C. did not Hie its annual report by May 31, 2012, which js 21
business days past the deadline of May 1. The penalty is S100 per day for a total
of $2,100.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment, [ there is a reason for the violation that you think




PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-120861 PAGE2

shoutd ¢xcuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW §1.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation al a hearing, but you are not
reguired to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Procceding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative faw judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision,

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notlce 1o do one of the following:

+  Pay the amount due,
» Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
»  Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Plense indicate your selection on the enclosed lorm and sead it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 472350, Olympia, Washington 98504-72350, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notics.

1T you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter (o the Office of the
Attorney Genernd for collection, The Commission will then suc you to colleet the penabry.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effeetive July 13, 2012,

gy

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-120861

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Conunission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assesssnent, Use adititional paper if needed.

I have read and understond RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony, | am over the age of 18, am competent 10 testity to the
matters set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Payment of penalty, I admit that the violations cccuarred. 1 have:
|} Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penalty

{ 1 Submitted my payment of $2,100 onfine at www.ule.wa.gov. My confirmation
number is !

[ } 2. Request for a hearing, | belicve that one or more of the alleged violations did not
aceur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that aflows an afected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations, bul [ believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below,

[ 1 a) [lask forahearing for a decision by an administralive law judge based on the
information presented above,
OR [ ] B) [waivenhearing and ask tor an administeative decision on the information |
present direetly above,

[ declare under penalty of pegury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct,

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity, state]
Name of Respondent (company) - please print Signatwre of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if i any official
proceeding he makes a marerially false statement which he knows to be false under an cath
required or authorized by faw, (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
clement of this crime, and the sctor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




Attachment B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-120861

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days afler you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. Tam over the age of 18, am compeient to testify to the

matters s¢t forth below and § have personal knowledge of those matters, | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements, -

(1L

Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violations occurred, 1 have:

{ ]Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penalty

1 Lpﬂ

nuntber is _

=~
Eor ]
R

— :’; T et

[ ]Submiited my payment of $2,100 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My cox}flﬂ!léﬂon s
=

wd g :
Request for a hearing. 1 believe that one or more of the alleged violatioﬂ;{diﬂ'pol =
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which isprocess—

that allows an affected person 1o present argunient to an administrative Jaw judge fo:cgl‘
deeision by an administrative law judge:

b(] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but | believe that the penalty should
be reduced l‘c.rr lhe; ma5§n(s) set out belt::v. Due 0S5 ,l» %3”
Wit Sbmiied dhe Acpod on e e
yrowde o (opn nd & h ricaeved
b e e D pee Al domted. e reged- ar do et
{19

2t WV
I ask for a bearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the Yokt
information presented above,

L
OR { 1 b) Iwaiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information | ‘&L“Jc\_
present directly above, WAL ov Y’
. . . AL E B
[ dectare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
ineluding information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. Cweg wal
Dated: "} - X5+ | '@ [month/day/year), at \2{ n {city, state] L‘:"\'\' %:;;\ué
> . L\_ Ve :
Name of Respondent (company) —~ please print Signature of App}@\ﬁt__// e :
. CoLe
RCW 9A.72.020: we ot
“Perjury in the fiest degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official e ’0\7\&{‘\
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath

required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an C C}WY“Q/
element of this crimie, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a L\)ll 23N
defensc to & prosccution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.” We ,;6




Attachment C

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S, fvergreen Park Dr. W, PO, Box 47250 ¢ Olympl, Washinglon $4504-7250
(360} 664-1160 + TTY (360) 586-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annunl Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State Jaw requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees t the Washingtlon Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
« Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 201 | annual
report form
s Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if yout do not file & completed annual report and pay reguliatory fees on

thne?
1f you do not fife your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day afler May |
that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day after May 1 the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, afler you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, ifany, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years, If you have not liled your completed annual report oy paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your awthority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If you do ot pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance,
These amowns apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day after
May | that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension (o file your completed annnal report, but the
UTC will pot extend the deadling for paying regulatory fees, Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by Apeil 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will fle your completed annual report. The
LTC will notify you by May | whether yvour request is approved or denied. Even if your request

Vg O




UTC Annual Reponts and Fees
February 19, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be liable for penaities and interest payments if you fail 1o pay your
regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you da if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellmion forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 201 [ calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even i you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

{1} You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an cleetric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companics, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidentiat treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is Tound
only in RCW 80.04.095. 1T a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
condfidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

{2) You must follow the steps for {iling contidentinl documents in WAC 480.07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www, wte.wit.cov/annual repons.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may compleie the folowing tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website www ite.wa.govianaualreports:

Obiain electronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cance! your registration (telecommunications companies) or permit (Irnsportation
companies) if your company ceased operations in 2011,

. ® e

Where do you mail the completed annual veport form and reguiatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Obympia, WA 98304-7250

Is there any additinnal information you should file?
« If you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatery Commission Form 2,




UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page3

¢ I you arc an eleetric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Encrgy Regulatory Commission Form |,

* If you are aclass 1 Raitroad, please also tife a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Fonn R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington.

1 you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory (e, please contact Rae
Lynn Cames at {360) 664-1152 or reames@ule, wa.goy.

1f you need this ketter or an annual report form in an altemate format, please call 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289,

Sincerely,

i A

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Sceretary

Enclosures




Attachment D

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHIMGTOMN UTILITIES AN TRANSPGRIATION COMMISSION

FI00 S, Fvergroen Park D 809, BO. Rox 47250+ Clymply, Wadiinglon 98504-2250
(360) GhA-1 560 + TTY (160} S86-8203

May 14, 2012
NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Atlention:

Your 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) was due
on May 1, as required by law, Financinl penaities of $100 per day begnn acerping on May 2,

As of the date of this letter, you have accrued a penalty of $800. That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you lail to comply,

This letter tells vou what vou enn do to mitignie youy penalty,

If the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 25, commission staff
will mitigate your penalty 10 323 per day. Additional penaltics of $23 per day will be added for
each year you have biled lale in the past five years, up lo & maxinmum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the conunission’s website at www,ute wa.gov, [§ you have
questions or require additional information, please conteet Mathew Perkinson, Complionce
lavestigator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinsoni@ute, wa, gov.

Sincerely,

d\»"i? Eonn C,f L e S

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary




